Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fuzzy wuzzy was a bear
Children have been fascinated with the idea of dolls and toys that can talk and move, from the Newbery winning, "Hitty: Her First 100 Years" to the more contemporary (and better known) "Corduroy". This particular tale focuses on a bear, his small unassuming quest, and the girl that eventually becomes his friend. The book feels more like, "The Velveteen Rabbit" than "Toy...
Published on May 20 2004 by E. R. Bird

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Tiny bear
The bear and book are quite tiny and the quality of the bear is not that good. The story is a classic.
Published 4 months ago by Martina C


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fuzzy wuzzy was a bear, May 20 2004
By 
E. R. Bird "Ramseelbird" (Manhattan, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Corduroy (Hardcover)
Children have been fascinated with the idea of dolls and toys that can talk and move, from the Newbery winning, "Hitty: Her First 100 Years" to the more contemporary (and better known) "Corduroy". This particular tale focuses on a bear, his small unassuming quest, and the girl that eventually becomes his friend. The book feels more like, "The Velveteen Rabbit" than "Toy Story", but kids will quickly come to enjoy (or at the very least, understand) Corduroy's wish for a child to love him.

Living in a department store with other toys and dolls, Corduroy is a stuffed teddy bear in overalls. One day a doe-eyed girl and her patient mama spot the bear and the child is instantly entranced. Unfortunately, her mother points out that the bear is a little worn down and is even missing one of the buttons on its overalls. Upon hearing this, the bear is distressed and resolves to, that night, locate the missing item. After taking an unexpected ride up the escalator, Corduroy finds himself in the store's bedding area. He tries (unsuccessfully) to prise a button off of a nearby mattress, but succeeds only in alerting the local night watchman to his presence. The next day, however, the girl returns with her own allowance money and quick as a wink purchases the bear, missing button and all. She even sews a new button back onto his overalls, and the two are fast friends.

The book, when you look at it closely, almost seems to resemble a series of woodcuts, painted with watercolors later. I don't know if this was the case, but if so the author/artist, Don Freedman, is certainly adept. I've never seen woodcut faces as well presented as the ones here. People are smooth and rounded, and Freedman apparently doesn't have any problems with round curves. Moreover, I was impressed that the little girl and her mother that view Corduroy are black. Originally published in 1968, this was a bit of a big deal back in the day.
Today, the story of the little bear who wanted a friend is as poignant and simplistic in its telling as it was when first it came out. Anyone who read (or had read to them) this book as a child will instantly remember the scene of Corduroy tugging and tugging the button on the mattress in an attempt to remove it for himself. It's a sweet story all in all. I think people feel a great deal of affection for "Corduroy" because they can identify with the little unwanted fuzzy guy. He's a cutie, there's no question.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sare's Review, Oct. 27 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Corduroy (Hardcover)
Corduroy is the story of a cute brown bear who lived in the toy department of a big store. Each day he would wait for a child to come along and buy him and take him home. Each day the store was filled with people buying all sorts of things, but no one ever seemed to want the small bear in green overalls, because him overalls were missing a button. One morning a little girl came up to Corduroy and told her mom that he was the bear she had always wanted. The mother told the girl not today, and that he doesn't look new because he's missing a button. That night, Corduroy decides to take an adventure and search the store for his missing button. A night guard find's him though, and returns him to the toy department. The next day the little girl returns for Corduroy. She brings all the money from her piggy bank and buys Corduroy. When she return's home, she sews Corduroy on a new button. I recommend reading Corduroy, it is a classic children's story that everyone should hear at least once in their life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review, March 17 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Corduroy (Hardcover)
This is the story of a stuffed bear that lives in a department store and is not the most attractive toy in the store. He had a missing button and was a little bit scruffy. One little girl that goes into the store and loves the bear and wants him and Corduroy wants to live with her too. He is sad when the mother says that she can't have him. He goes around during the night to try and find the button that he lost so maybe someone would want him but he can't and is returned to the shelve he came from. The next day the girl came back and bought him and brought him home. They both loved each other so much and she even gave him a new button.
This is a really cute book. It shows that love is something more them just how something looks. The little girl didn't care that Corduroy wasn't perfect she loved him anyway. This is really story for children because this is something that they need to know. Love is not just the way something appears its more then that. It is what is inside a person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Corduroy, Jan. 6 2002
By 
Jimmy Crouch (Lexington, KY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Corduroy (Hardcover)
Corduroy, written in 1968 by Don Freeman, is a great book for children who are just learning to read up to those children in 4th or 5th grade. I myself enjoy this book to this day and I am in 8th grade. How could someone not like this book about a furry and lonely little bear looking for a home. This story is a classic, it has been told to many children and I would strongly recommend it to a parent looking for beginning books for their child.
Corduroy is about a stuffed bear that lives in a warehouse who is missing a button. One night he searches for the button, but he does not find it so he goes to sleep. The next day he wakes to find that a girl has come to get him and he is finally given a home. Throughout the story you get a since of warmth and love and it makes you feel better. This book is also a challenging read for the younger children out there and is a great way to help beginning readers learn how to read quicker. Corduroy is in my opinion the best children's book that I have ever read, if you are a parnet looking for a great book for your child, or if you are a child looking for a great book, Corduroy is definitely one that you won't want to pass up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I�ve Always Wanted A Good Toddler Story, May 25 2001
By 
M. Allen Greenbaum (California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Corduroy (Paperback)
Did the screenwriters of the recently released "Bridget Jones' Diary" lift Colin Firth's line "I like you just the way you are" from this wonderful 1968 kids' book (see the penultimate page's "I like you the way you are")? Well, probably not...but in both instances it's a very effective and heartfelt line, capturing the essence of unconditional, lasting love.
Corduroy is a cute little stuffed bear who nobody wants to buy: There are bigger and newer toys, and besides, the button is missing from one strap of his overalls. Only Lisa shows interest that day, but her mother hesitates and they leave without him. While looking for the button after the store closes, Corduroy experiences the wonders of a big department store: The elevator and the new beds lined in rows: "This must be a palace...I guess I've always wanted to live in a palace."
Lisa returns the next day and buys him with her own money, and the sugarcoated ending strikes up just the right amount of sentiment without becoming overbearing (no pun intended). "This must be home," he [Corduroy] said. "I know I've always wanted a home!" And then: "You must be a friend," said Corduroy. "I've always wanted a friend." "Me too!" said Lisa, and gave him a big hug. Powerful, misty-eye making stuff! Beautiful simple color pictures, and 28 pages of adventure and sweet love. Awwww-inspiring (pun intended). Highly recommended for the toddler set!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five paws. . .uh, stars, for this one. . ., Jan. 24 2001
This review is from: Corduroy (Paperback)
Those elegant downtown department stores that close at 6pm are getting fewer and far between, but this book takes you back to a time when a visit to one could fulfill a child's most fervent wish or dream. Corduroy is sitting on the shelf in the toy department when Lisa spots him and, of course, wants her mom to buy him. Her mother says no, because he's missing a button from his suspenders. Well, Corduroy goes looking for the missing button that night, thinking that's why he hasn't been picked to go home with someone yet.
This story is almost a primitive variation on "Toy Story," where the toys come to a life of their own when humans aren't around. . .and of course, like Woody, Buzz, and even the Misfit Toys from "Rudolph," Corduroy knows that his purpose in life is to love and be loved by a child. If your child watches the "Corduroy" shorts on PBS, get this book and let him or her see how he first found a home. I hate to say it, but I nearly always cry when I get to the last two pages. I just love happy endings:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "I LIKE YOU JUST THE WAY YOU ARE!", Dec 14 2000
This review is from: Corduroy (Paperback)
This is my favorite story from childhood and I honestly believe it had a big part in making me who I am today. [The story of Corduroy displays several morals and our basic human needs; its main lesson to me is to look deeper, beyond first impressions to see what is on the INSIDE of a person--that is what really counts.] The story is so charming, adorable and incredibly special.
It begins with Corduroy in a toy department of a big store. Shoppers hurry by and never seem to notice him.[MORAL: TAKE TIME TO SMELL THE ROSES PEOPLE! WHY ALL THE RUSH?] Every day Corduroy waits hoping "for somebody to come along and take him home." [ BASIC NEED: SECURITY AND BELONGING.]
One day a little girl stops to look at Corduroy and tells her Mother that he is the bear she has always wanted. The Mother explains to her daughter that they have spent too much money already and points out a flaw in Corduroy, he is missing a button. [MORAL: IF YOU CAN'T SAY SOMETHING NICE, THEN DON'T SAY ANYTHING AT ALL!] The girl is very obedient and doesn't make a scene (like some children would today) and walks away with her Mother. [MORAL: RESPECT AND OBEY YOUR PARENTS.]
Corduroy decides to go look for his button that night. The INTRIGUING part here is Freeman doesn't state WHY Corduroy is looking for his button--is it to look better in order to get a home? (I really don't think so, nothing in this book is about vanity.) Why then? Answering that question is left up to each individual reader. [MORAL: LOOK FOR THE GOOD INSTEAD OF THE BAD IN PEOPLE AND THAT GOES FOR BEARS TOO!]
The next day, still buttonless, Corduroy wakes up to the warm smile of the girl who came to see him the day before. She introduces herself as Lisa and tells Corduroy that he "is going to be [her] very own bear." She continues to explain that she counted her money in her piggy bank and her Mother said she could bring him home. [MORAL: PATIENCE AND SAVING MONEY.] She lovingly carried him home in her arms.
Corduroy looked around the room. "This must be home," he said. "I know I've always wanted a home!" As Lisa sat down to sew a button on his shirt to make him more comfortable she said the sweetest thing, something every child (OK ALL OF US) need to hear: "I LIKE YOU JUST THE WAY YOU ARE." And they give each other a hug.[BASIC NEED: LOVE AND ACCEPTANCE!]
I highly and wholeheartedly recommend this to children of ALL AGES! I give this my highest rating! Every child should own this endearing classic!
Thank you Don!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "I LIKE YOU JUST THE WAY YOU ARE!", Dec 14 2000
This review is from: Corduroy (Paperback)
This is my favorite story from childhood and I honestly believe it had a big part in making me who I am today. [The story of Corduroy displays several morals and our basic human needs; its main lesson to me is to look deeper, beyond first impressions to see what is on the INSIDE of a person--that is what really counts.] The story is so charming, adorable and incredibly special.
It begins with Corduroy in a toy department of a big store. Shoppers hurry by and never seem to notice him.[MORAL: TAKE TIME TO SMELL THE ROSES PEOPLE! WHY ALL THE RUSH?] Every day Corduroy waits hoping "for somebody to come along and take him home." [ BASIC NEED: SECURITY AND BELONGING.]
One day a little girl stops to look at Corduroy and tells her Mother that he is the bear she has always wanted. The Mother explains to her daughter that they have spent too much money already and points out a flaw in Corduroy, he is missing a button. [MORAL: IF YOU CAN'T SAY SOMETHING NICE, THEN DON'T SAY ANYTHING AT ALL!] The girl is very obedient and doesn't make a scene (like some children would today) and walks away with her Mother. [MORAL: RESPECT AND OBEY YOUR PARENTS.]
Corduroy decides to go look for his button that night. The INTRIGUING part here is Freeman doesn't state WHY Corduroy is looking for his button--is it to look better in order to get a home? (I really don't think so, nothing in this book is about vanity.) Why then? Answering that question is left up to each individual reader. [MORAL: LOOK FOR THE GOOD INSTEAD OF THE BAD IN PEOPLE AND THAT GOES FOR BEARS TOO!]
The next day, still buttonless, Corduroy wakes up to the warm smile of the girl who came to see him the day before. She introduces herself as Lisa and tells Corduroy that he "is going to be [her] very own bear." She continues to explain that she counted her money in her piggy bank and her Mother said she could bring him home. [MORAL: PATIENCE AND SAVING MONEY.] She lovingly carried him home in her arms.
Corduroy looked around the room. "This must be home," he said. "I know I've always wanted a home!" As Lisa sat down to sew a button on his shirt to make him more comfortable she said the sweetest thing, something every child (OK ALL OF US) need to hear: "I LIKE YOU JUST THE WAY YOU ARE." And they give each other a hug.[BASIC NEED: LOVE AND ACCEPTANCE!]
I highly and wholeheartedly recommend this to children of ALL AGES! I give this my highest rating! Every child should own this endearing classic!
Thank you Don!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet, sweet story., Oct. 31 2000
This review is from: Corduroy (Hardcover)
This sweet bear has been around for several generations. Living in a department store, Corduroy wanders off for the night. Up the escalator onto the floor with the beds and the lamps. Aha, he needs a new button to replace the lost button on his corduroy overalls. He pulls and pulls a button from a mattress, creating quite a racket in the process. The night watchman comes to investigate and finds the bear hiding under a blanket. The nightwatchman carries Corduroy down the escalator and places him back on the shelf. You see, the little girl's mother told Lisa that she did not want Corduroy because he had was missing a button. The following day Lisa returns with her saved piggy bank money, buys the bear and takes him home to his very own bedroom. This book is incredibly sweet and is appropriate for 2 years old and older. What's more, FAO Schwartz actually sells a Corduroy bear. What a treat. A wonderful gift for a birthday or holiday. Highly, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Both you and your kids will love Corduroy, Feb. 12 2002
By 
David J. Gannon (San Antonio, TX USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Corduroy (Paperback)
There's something about kids books that, at a certain level, is inexplicable. Corduroy is a nice little story about a toy bear roaming around a department store at night searching for his lost button and then being acquired by a little girl. The story is sweet, and the books illustrations are vivid, colorful and warm.
The same can be said about a lot of books, many of which we owned over the years. Yet the kids still go back over and over (and over and over...) to a few cherished favorites, and, in our family, Corduroy was one of those favorites.
For a while I thought it was just our family that felt this way about the book, bus when friends of the kids came by they knew Corduroy immediately--and he was on their night time reading lists as well.
Enchantment is a dynamic all its own--and this book, for whatever reason, enchants. Buy it--neither you or your kids will ever forget Corduroy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Corduroy
Corduroy by Don Freeman (Paperback - Jan. 1 1976)
CDN$ 8.50 CDN$ 8.08
Usually ships in 2 to 3 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews