Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fuzzy wuzzy was a bear
Children have been fascinated with the idea of dolls and toys that can talk and move, from the Newbery winning, "Hitty: Her First 100 Years" to the more contemporary (and better known) "Corduroy". This particular tale focuses on a bear, his small unassuming quest, and the girl that eventually becomes his friend. The book feels more like, "The Velveteen Rabbit" than "Toy...
Published on May 20 2004 by E. R. Bird

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Sweet little tale about a bear
The Corduroy books are sweet, easy tales about a stuffed bear and his BIG adventures. Easy reading, nice pictures.
Published on Nov. 17 2003 by Alicia Walker


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fuzzy wuzzy was a bear, May 20 2004
By 
E. R. Bird "Ramseelbird" (Manhattan, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Corduroy (Hardcover)
Children have been fascinated with the idea of dolls and toys that can talk and move, from the Newbery winning, "Hitty: Her First 100 Years" to the more contemporary (and better known) "Corduroy". This particular tale focuses on a bear, his small unassuming quest, and the girl that eventually becomes his friend. The book feels more like, "The Velveteen Rabbit" than "Toy Story", but kids will quickly come to enjoy (or at the very least, understand) Corduroy's wish for a child to love him.

Living in a department store with other toys and dolls, Corduroy is a stuffed teddy bear in overalls. One day a doe-eyed girl and her patient mama spot the bear and the child is instantly entranced. Unfortunately, her mother points out that the bear is a little worn down and is even missing one of the buttons on its overalls. Upon hearing this, the bear is distressed and resolves to, that night, locate the missing item. After taking an unexpected ride up the escalator, Corduroy finds himself in the store's bedding area. He tries (unsuccessfully) to prise a button off of a nearby mattress, but succeeds only in alerting the local night watchman to his presence. The next day, however, the girl returns with her own allowance money and quick as a wink purchases the bear, missing button and all. She even sews a new button back onto his overalls, and the two are fast friends.

The book, when you look at it closely, almost seems to resemble a series of woodcuts, painted with watercolors later. I don't know if this was the case, but if so the author/artist, Don Freedman, is certainly adept. I've never seen woodcut faces as well presented as the ones here. People are smooth and rounded, and Freedman apparently doesn't have any problems with round curves. Moreover, I was impressed that the little girl and her mother that view Corduroy are black. Originally published in 1968, this was a bit of a big deal back in the day.
Today, the story of the little bear who wanted a friend is as poignant and simplistic in its telling as it was when first it came out. Anyone who read (or had read to them) this book as a child will instantly remember the scene of Corduroy tugging and tugging the button on the mattress in an attempt to remove it for himself. It's a sweet story all in all. I think people feel a great deal of affection for "Corduroy" because they can identify with the little unwanted fuzzy guy. He's a cutie, there's no question.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cute!, April 11 2014
By 
Lisa Anderson (Brandon, Manitoba, CA) - See all my reviews
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Corduroy Book and Bear (Hardcover)
Lovely book and little bear! I read this when I was young and couldn't wait to share the story with my daughter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Its the best book about !, Jan. 21 2014
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Corduroy (Hardcover)
It teaches children to value something even if not perfect. A lovely book to read with a child . It is a classic that should be on all children's bookshelves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars an old story, Dec 23 2013
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Corduroy (Paperback)
our two grandchildren love this book and the 4 year old has memorized the story. suitable from 1-5 to enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Childhood just isn't complete..., Jan. 17 2013
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Corduroy (Paperback)
No child's library is complete without this classic. It has stood the test of time and I love seeing the reactions of kids when they read this or are read it the first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Corduroy Bear, Jan. 11 2013
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Corduroy Book and Bear (Hardcover)
I'm happy to have found a Corduroy bear for my 6yr old son. This was the first book he read at school. He was very excited to get it for Christmas. I would have liked it if the bear was a little bigger, like in the story, but my son hasn't noticed, so I guess we are both happy with Corduroy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My kids LOVE this book!, March 4 2012
This review is from: Corduroy (Paperback)
This is one of their all time favourites I'd say, and mine too! I remember it from my childhood. Such a sweet sweet story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A winner, Aug. 23 2006
This review is from: Corduroy (Paperback)
This book is about sweet, honest, slightly battered teddy bear who longs for a home. Although he lives in a grand shopping center filled with fabulous wealth, this is no substitute for the warmth and affection of a mother. I like this story because it stresses the importance of not only receiving love, but also about giving it. Corduroy is lucky enough to find Lisa, a little girl who is thrilled to offerhim a home. Corduroy is exactly the bear every child wants... The book is a certain winner for your child. Another great reading that I recommend is a series of books for children titled "Why Some Cats are Rascals".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful story, March 12 2009
By 
J. Welling "Kids' Writer" (Cambridge, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I loved this story as a child and couldn't wait to share it with my daughter. How could you not fall in love with a wonderful little bear looking for love and a lost button?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun bear story, March 2 2004
By 
Erika Mitchell (E. Calais, VT USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Corduroy (Hardcover)
A brown teddy bear sits in a toy shop waiting to find a real home. He catches the eye of a little girl, but her mother says she can't take him home because he's missing a button on his overalls. Determined to find a home, the bear goes on a nighttime hunt through the store for his button. The hunt almost ends in disaster. But the next morning the little girl returns to the store and takes him home at last. The book is not scary. The human characters are shown to be African Americans. The book has about 250 words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xf36e630)

This product

Corduroy
Corduroy by Don Freeman (Paperback - Jan. 1 1976)
CDN$ 8.50 CDN$ 8.08
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews