Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Simplicity
The book was able to provide such great amount of practical usage of simplicity. He was able to strongly relate this in conducting daily affairs from human management to engineering problem solving. The language and style was also very readable accompanied in enjoyable tones. I would recommend this book to anyone who is confused on the ever increasing complexity in...
Published on Dec 13 2000

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars This book is way too long for its contents
Ironic that a book on simplicity violates its own principles several times. Even though this book is printed on every other page (with "insights" on the even-numbered pages), it takes too long to make its points. There were several interesting concepts in the book, but not enough to justify more than 20 pages or so. Additionally, de Bono oversimplifies...
Published on Feb. 5 2001 by bored99


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars This book is way too long for its contents, Feb. 5 2001
This review is from: Simplicity (Paperback)
Ironic that a book on simplicity violates its own principles several times. Even though this book is printed on every other page (with "insights" on the even-numbered pages), it takes too long to make its points. There were several interesting concepts in the book, but not enough to justify more than 20 pages or so. Additionally, de Bono oversimplifies (something he cautions us against) by making blanket statements that reveal his lack of understanding regarding industry practices he is critiquing. de Bono himself has developed brilliant theories that have been widely applied around the world, but this book isn't the best source for discovering those ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It falls short to expected, July 16 2001
This review is from: Simplicity (Paperback)
There are a couple of useful ideas within the book. Advantages and pitfalls of simplicity are outlined and some paths featured. Nevertheless, as it's common, when you end up the chapters little remains. The book is too much dense and padded out. It's a contradiction with the issue of the book. There are 10 rules at the end that summarise the ideas. If some pages with the useful points were added on to this summary, the book could be reduced to 50 useful pages. It's a pity not to practice what one preaches. As stated by himself: "One reason for complexity is trying to show deep knowledge on an issue".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simplicity, Dec 13 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Simplicity (Paperback)
The book was able to provide such great amount of practical usage of simplicity. He was able to strongly relate this in conducting daily affairs from human management to engineering problem solving. The language and style was also very readable accompanied in enjoyable tones. I would recommend this book to anyone who is confused on the ever increasing complexity in today's world and see it in different light. Above all, it's not as abstract to practice at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars many interesting points about simplicity, April 25 2001
By 
This review is from: Simplicity (Paperback)
good comparison between richness vs complexity. good spot of real life cycle of the needs of simple-->complex-->simple_again. good analysis of simplicity in terms of what. good advice to deliver value(s) when applying simplicity. In overall, it is a book of many interesting points of simplicity. Before applying simplicity in real life, read this book first because it reminds you that abuse of simplicity will lead to simplistic or oversimplification.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A review from a guy w/o experience from Thailand, Dec 29 2000
By 
Vichai (Bangkok, Thailand) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Simplicity (Paperback)
Simplification give me an eagle view to see myself. He give me a idea to think and solve things in the easy way. I agree with him that simplify the things will make me do a lot more interesting jobs. The book is very easy to read. I'm Thai and I'm not good at english any more but I can understand this book very well (I hope that). P.S. The bookstore in Thailand sell your book very high price, so can you solve this problem with you simplification
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice book about simplicity from a Lateral Thinker view, April 18 2002
By 
Khristiam Alvarez (Caracas, Venezuela) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Simplicity (Hardcover)
Excellent book that mix lateral thinking concepts with simplicity. 10 rules of simplicity are outlined. The book covers informatoin about simplicity from the perspective of a person that is very creative and has fully contribute in this regards. I recommend it if you want to apply simplicity and creative thinking to your life. It is a must in this complex days world! Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Simplicity
Simplicity by Edward de Bono (Paperback - March 2 2010)
CDN$ 18.00 CDN$ 13.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews