Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Holmes stuns mystery lovers and sci fi fans alike!
Are you ready to accompany the greatest detective in history on some of his most memorable adventures? Then this book is for you! Each of these stories are wonderfully put together, each with a more exciting and unexpected outcome. I have read them time and again, and am always newly surprised at Holmes's genius and reasoning abilities.
Are you still hesitant on...
Published on Nov. 19 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The Mysterious World of Sherlock Holmes
The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes is a wonderful book for the open minded. It takes you on a journey through London's city streets, throught the houses of pesents and the safes of bank owners. You travel with Holmes on his many cases and travles. Holmes is yet again assisted by his trusty companion Dr. Watson, who has yet to figure out Holmes' mysterious ways of going...
Published on Dec 13 2000 by Benjamin Boyd


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars The Mysterious World of Sherlock Holmes, Dec 13 2000
By 
Benjamin Boyd (Thomasville, GA USA) - See all my reviews
The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes is a wonderful book for the open minded. It takes you on a journey through London's city streets, throught the houses of pesents and the safes of bank owners. You travel with Holmes on his many cases and travles. Holmes is yet again assisted by his trusty companion Dr. Watson, who has yet to figure out Holmes' mysterious ways of going about his duty. In the novel you can witness Sherlock going about his buisness and try to solve the cases before he does (which rarely happens). But if you have trouble following the genious mind of Mr. Holmes he always explains how he could have possibly figured the case out. He will also express how important it is to pay attention to details. Holmes has the best set of eyes in London and uses them to their full potential in stopping thieves and robbers. As you read you see holmes narrowly escape death while he magnificantly singlehandedly outsmarts all of his opponets. His genious art of mystery is called upon by many people that range all the way from Scotland Yard in need of a priceless jewel to pesents in need of a returned goose. He treats every case with exceptional care.
I personly didn't love this book like i love the Harry Potter series but it was still a respectable piece of famous literature. I'll probably continue to read some of Sir Auther Connan Doyal's work, but not anytime soon.
Benjamin Boyd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Holmes stuns mystery lovers and sci fi fans alike!, Nov. 19 2000
By A Customer
Are you ready to accompany the greatest detective in history on some of his most memorable adventures? Then this book is for you! Each of these stories are wonderfully put together, each with a more exciting and unexpected outcome. I have read them time and again, and am always newly surprised at Holmes's genius and reasoning abilities.
Are you still hesitant on whether or not to read "The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes?" Well, I personally am not much of a mystery fan. In fact, some of my favorite books are "Watership Down," "The Hobbit," "A Wrinkle in Time" series, and "The Lost Years of Merlin" books. I also know that mystery books are either awful, by. But Sherlock Holmes and his cases have set the highest of standards for mysteries, which very few others have even come close to surpassing.
Through this great collection, I have come to greatly admire both Holmes's and Doyle's brilliance over and over again. No matter what genre you enjoy reading, this is a book for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If your looking for action and adventure read this book, Feb. 4 1999
By A Customer
Dear peers, My opinion is that the Adventures of Sherlock Holmes is one of the best book I have ever read.Sherlock Holmes is a good book because it challenges your knowledge. The plot are full of mystery and action.As I read the book, I could not put it down because I felt that I was Sherlock solving the case. Sherlock was one of the best in his time peroid. This information can be found at Conan Doyle's website. The author was known for his intelligence and ways of solving mysteries. For an example in the Adventures Of Sherlock Holmes Mr. Waston said "you are the best". He was admired all over Scotland. He always wanted a mystery to challenge his intelligence. before the person even knew what they would say he knew. He never told them, he would just wait and try to catch them in the act. Some people say Sherlock is nosey and rude. For an example he didn't listen to the man when he asked him what his daughter was doing in his office. Another example he went into someone basement because he was sure the criminals were making a tunnel to rob the city bank. Sometimes when he lies, the lies are to help other people from imbarassment.for example in the case of the star spangled banner. He said that the man got bit by his pet snake when he was playing with it. Sherlock figured the girl had been through enough and If he was to tell her it would make her depreesed and imbarass if someone should ask her about the incident. If you are in to mystery and adventure then The Adventures Of Sherlock Holmes is the book for you. Your'e not be able to put the book down after you start to read it. You should not judge a book by it's cover: It may look oldfashion but the stories are great even in modern times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes, May 25 2003
By A Customer
A mysterious photograph. A disappearing company. A man with two identities. All this and more in the book, The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes, by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. This book includes puzzling mysteries such as The Case of Identity, in which a husband suddenly disappears, and A Scandal in Bohemia, in which a king tries to steal a photo, but needs Sherlock Holmes' help. This book is suitable for all people ages 10 to adult. It's puzzling and complex, yet adventuresome and amusing, able to catch all readers' eyes. Unfortunately, the book does have some boring parts, but its captivating stories and perplexing mysteries more than make up for this. Dr. Watson and Sherlock Holmes team up together once again and form what may be one of the best detective book yet, The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Classic Literature, March 28 2000
This is a faithful reprinting of the greatest mystery book(s) ever written. It is well written, powerful, captivating, and puts the Hardy Boys to shame. Holmes solves mysteries in a believable (if difficult) fashion that never fails to grip someone from start to finish. The stories are so well written, in fact, that when Sherlock Holmes "died" fans responded by rioting in the streets of London. The Queen insisted that Conan Doyle bring back his famous character, and so here he is. While we might not be willing to riot in the streets if Holmes died today, we can still feel loyalty towards the famous character, and the legacy that Conan Doyle left behind in these books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The reader is a befuddled Watson, who Holmes enlightens, July 24 1997
By A Customer
I remember reading "Adventures of Sherlock
Holmes as a teenager.

Each chapter is an adventure.

The clues are there ready to reveal the mystery.

Will you be Holmes and solve the mystery?

Will you be Watson, waiting for Holmes to decipher the clues for you?

Everyone strives to be Holmes.
Sometimes you are.
I was in the "Hounds of the Baskervilles".
Being Watson is just as entertaining, when the clues unravel to solve the mystery.<BR
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A nice, unabridged Sherlock, Nov. 16 1997
By A Customer
This book is a nice, complete and unabridged edition of Doyle's most most famous novel, "The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes." Although this edition is cheap, the value of the book is great. This is an excellent book and recommend it to anyone who enjoys reading classics.
So I'd say lay off the big, expensive Sherlock Holmeses and get this one for the same, unabridged text, however, to weigh down the scale, this book has even greater value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars He observes instead of sees, so he always knows more., May 13 1997
By A Customer
Each chapter is one case, so it is easy to read. The cases are so easy to solve, after sherlock Holmes tells us the clues to the evidences of course! When I was done with this book, I knew so much about Shelock Holmes' personal life and habits through his best friend, Watson's thorough, vivid details. I enjoyed this book a lot because it brings me to a natural state of sleepiness every time I finish reading a case. Read it! :-
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Original Short Stories, July 24 2000
By 
Bill R. Moore (New York, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the first set of short stories written by Doyle that furthered the adventures of Sherlock Holmes beyond the first two novels. This volume has many of the greatest Holmes shorts: "The Red Headed League", "The Five Orange Pips", "A Case of Identity" and others. Also, there are stories in this volume where Sherlock gets beaten! Yes, he doesn't solve the crime! A must-read indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Book, Jan. 30 2003
By 
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes (Library Binding)
If you like cuddling up and reading a comfortabele book. This is the one. U will never not be amazed by the famous Sherlock Holmes. The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes is the series of short stories that made the fortunes of the Strand Magazine, in which they were first publixhed, and won immense popularity for Holmes and Watson.Includes, "The Red-Headed League", "The Blue Carbncle" and my favorite,"The Speckled Band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Red Classics Adventures Of Sherlock Holmes
Red Classics Adventures Of Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle (Paperback - March 4 2008)
CDN$ 10.99 CDN$ 9.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews