Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought for Intro
I've already read the Sherlock Holmes stories, but after watching Sherlock on BBC with Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman.
The intro by one of the writers, adds a new spark to these wonderful mystery stories.
Published 7 months ago by Scarlett

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars interesting
This collection is very long to read. After several stories, you find that there is not much variety. The stories are different but it comes out the same. I enjoyed the collection because I learned about Sherlock Holmes. I have heard many rumours about this character, including an episode in Start Trek next Generation, which seemed to define who he was. In this series you...
Published 12 months ago by Maurice


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Great free book, May 21 2014
This book is public domain. You can download it free on your ipad or pc from a number of sites ( goodreads is one of them) or just read it on your browser. So I advise against paying even a dollar for the kindle version. And if you wish to own a physical copy than in suggest buying one of the many hardcovers that include the complete Sherlock Holmes, not just the adventures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dated but still great, Feb. 24 2014
By 
Daniel Colquhoun (Toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
You can solve most of these before the end, but that only because we have been raised on detective strategies. And, it started here (or just about).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought for Intro, Dec 11 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've already read the Sherlock Holmes stories, but after watching Sherlock on BBC with Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman.
The intro by one of the writers, adds a new spark to these wonderful mystery stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars interesting, July 17 2013
By 
This collection is very long to read. After several stories, you find that there is not much variety. The stories are different but it comes out the same. I enjoyed the collection because I learned about Sherlock Holmes. I have heard many rumours about this character, including an episode in Start Trek next Generation, which seemed to define who he was. In this series you learn that he is very arrogant and demeaning. It's amazing that Watson stays on with him. There is no action scenes as such. The style is more like a report of murder crime. In the Star Trek episode, Data immediately solves a Holodeck crime almost before it occurs. Data explains by pointing out various details to come to the conclusion. That in essence is how these stories are put together. You get all the details, analyze it then cough up the answer. There is no real intrigue or any action scenes. I expected that his nemesis Moriarty to appear several times with action similar to the movies. However this is not the case. He appears only in one story. Unless this is not the complete collection?

The stories are written in the old style writing which makes it boring. You can stop on any page and pick it up the next day without missing anything. I found that after reading a good portion of this collection I reverted to reading one or two stories between other books so that I could eventually finish the collection. It was worth reading to finally to get to know the real Sherlock Holmes and to be able to better compare with the movie versions, or even the Stark Trek Version!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless, Dec 29 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love these stories and the new BBC series Sherlock. Fun to see the new characters on the cover of the classic stories. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My dear Holmes, May 16 2010
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
Everybody knows him -- the pipe-smoking detective on Baker Street (with or without the movie-added deerstalker), who is able to deduce all sorts of things just by glancing at a person. "The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes" shows off Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's first collection of short stories involving Holmes, mingling human psychology with sometimes bizarre mysteries.

Holmes is visited by the masked King of Bohemia, who has a slight problem: he's engaged to a princess, but his former lover Irene Adler has a compromising letter that could jeopardize his future marriage. But Adler has a formidable brain of her own. Then Holmes is hired by a man who was hired by the mysterious Red-Headed League, and given a strange job... which is somehow connected to a criminal undertaking.

Among the other strange cases that Holmes and Watson undertake -- a missing fiance, a strange murder in Boscombe Valley, a dead man who was sent five orange seeds, a woman whose husband has utterly vanished, a blue jewel hidden in a Christmas turkey, a dead woman whose last words were "it was the band, the speckled band!", a young engineer given a dream job, an American heiress who vanishes directly after her wedding, a broken beryl coronet, and a young woman given a surreally weird job.

Sherlock Holmes mysteries come in two types:
1. The case is completely baffling, and Holmes is needed to unravel the knot of obscure clues.
2. The case seems straightforward, but Holmes is needed to connect seemingly unrelated clues to the crime in order to find the REAL perpetrator.

There are plenty of both kinds in "The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes," with a dozen cases that require Holmes' unique detecting skills -- it can be something as simple as locating a letter, or something as complex as foiling a robbery or counterfeiting ring. Doyle's stately, dignified prose is heightened by moments of excitement or horror (" It swelled up louder and louder, a hoarse yell of pain and fear and anger all mingled in the one dreadful shriek"), and he wove in a lot of human psychology into Holmes' cases.

Holmes himself... is Holmes. Doyle didn't like his detective much, but Sherlock's knife-edged intellect and fascination with puzzles are strangely hypnotic -- even if you wouldn't like to be roomies with the guy, it would be amazing just to sit and watch him work. Watson is the perfect counterpoint for Holmes: he's not a genius but is definitely intelligent, warm-hearted and capable.

"The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes" is a magnificent collection of Holmes' first twelve short cases, filled with murder, intrigue and all sorts of weird crimes. An absolute must-read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I LOVE A MYSTERY, ESPECIALLY THIS ONE!, Jan. 19 2010
By 
Gail Cooke (TX, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Who doesn't love a good mystery, especially one by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle? His creation Sherlock Holmes is the prototype for countless modern detective writers and continues to entertain us with unparalleled stories sparked by Holmes's brilliance and powers of reasoning. Abetted by his unforgettable sidekick, Dr. Watson, he is called upon to solve not only the most puzzling but the most dastardly cases.

We might say these adventures ably narrated by Ralph Cosham are a synthesis of Doyle's work. There are 12 stories in all from A Scandal in Bohemia to The Adventure of the Copper Beeches. It would be impossible for this listener/reader to pick a favorite but one that stands out in my mind is The Beryl Coronet.

First published in 1892 this story features a banker, Arthur Holder, who makes a sizeable loan to an established citizen. The Beryl Coronet, which is extremely valuable is left as security. Holder determines the Coronet would not be secure in the bank, so he takes it home and puts it in his personal safe. That night he's awakened by strange noises and finds Arthur, his son, with the Coronet in his hand. This scene is witnessed by Holder's niece, Mary, who keels over when she sees the broken Coronet.

Arthur seems most certainly to be guilty of damaging the priceless object yet Holmes remains to be convinced (as he so often is). Several issues muddy the waters - Arthur refuses to say anything; he will not admit guilt or claim innocence. How could he have broken the Coronet when Holmes who is quite strong cannot begin to do so? Fortunately, footprints in the snow outside Holder's house lead Holmes to the real thief.

Narrator Cosham who has been nominated several times for an Audie Award and whose readings have been named "Audio Best of the Year" by Publishers Weekly is the perfect voice for these stories - resonant, clear with timing that adds to the suspense.

Enjoy!

- Gail Cooke
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes, May 25 2003
By A Customer
A mysterious photograph. A disappearing company. A man with two identities. All this and more in the book, The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes, by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. This book includes puzzling mysteries such as The Case of Identity, in which a husband suddenly disappears, and A Scandal in Bohemia, in which a king tries to steal a photo, but needs Sherlock Holmes' help. This book is suitable for all people ages 10 to adult. It's puzzling and complex, yet adventuresome and amusing, able to catch all readers' eyes. Unfortunately, the book does have some boring parts, but its captivating stories and perplexing mysteries more than make up for this. Dr. Watson and Sherlock Holmes team up together once again and form what may be one of the best detective book yet, The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Collection, Feb. 2 2003
By A Customer
Sherlock Holmes isn't just for kids. I just finished reading this collection and it was an absolute delight. I wouldn't call it an absolute page-turner or a book you can't put down, but on certain evenings it can be very addictive to just keep reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Book, Jan. 30 2003
By 
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes (Library Binding)
If you like cuddling up and reading a comfortabele book. This is the one. U will never not be amazed by the famous Sherlock Holmes. The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes is the series of short stories that made the fortunes of the Strand Magazine, in which they were first publixhed, and won immense popularity for Holmes and Watson.Includes, "The Red-Headed League", "The Blue Carbncle" and my favorite,"The Speckled Band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Red Classics Adventures Of Sherlock Holmes
Red Classics Adventures Of Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle (Paperback - March 4 2008)
CDN$ 10.99 CDN$ 9.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews