countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout Furniture All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
31
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:$9.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 9, 2015
elementary
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2015
Just fun to read, and because of the period.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2015
ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2014
Again another great book and add on for my Kindle readier.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 24, 2014
You can solve most of these before the end, but that only because we have been raised on detective strategies. And, it started here (or just about).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2013
Love this new collection. The soft cover and quotes on the front are beautiful.
I was a little put off by the colour online, but in person it is so much better and deeper.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2013
I've already read the Sherlock Holmes stories, but after watching Sherlock on BBC with Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman.
The intro by one of the writers, adds a new spark to these wonderful mystery stories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2013
This collection is very long to read. After several stories, you find that there is not much variety. The stories are different but it comes out the same. I enjoyed the collection because I learned about Sherlock Holmes. I have heard many rumours about this character, including an episode in Start Trek next Generation, which seemed to define who he was. In this series you learn that he is very arrogant and demeaning. It's amazing that Watson stays on with him. There is no action scenes as such. The style is more like a report of murder crime. In the Star Trek episode, Data immediately solves a Holodeck crime almost before it occurs. Data explains by pointing out various details to come to the conclusion. That in essence is how these stories are put together. You get all the details, analyze it then cough up the answer. There is no real intrigue or any action scenes. I expected that his nemesis Moriarty to appear several times with action similar to the movies. However this is not the case. He appears only in one story. Unless this is not the complete collection?

The stories are written in the old style writing which makes it boring. You can stop on any page and pick it up the next day without missing anything. I found that after reading a good portion of this collection I reverted to reading one or two stories between other books so that I could eventually finish the collection. It was worth reading to finally to get to know the real Sherlock Holmes and to be able to better compare with the movie versions, or even the Stark Trek Version!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Being neither a reader of Canon Doyle's nor a particular fan of mystery novels, I felt it was time to delve into both. This collection of short stories exhibited to me that the author truly has a commendable ability to tell an easily understood and very fluid tale. His exposition is linear and does not rely on flashbacks or forward projections and his utilization of Watson through 1st person singular is unique. While I still remain less than enamored by mystery tales, I can understand why he is a long-standing favorite of the reading public.

The tales that are included are:
1. A Scandal in Bohemia
2. The Red-Headed League
3. A Case of Identity
4. The Boscombe Valley Mystery
5. The Five Orange Pips
6. The Man with the Twisted Lip
7. The Adventure of the Blue Carbuncle
8. The Adventure of the Speckled Band
9. The Adventure of the Engineer's Thumb
10. The Adventure of the Noble Bachelor
11. The Adventure of the Beryl Coronet
12. The Adventure of the Copper Beeches

In spite of not having a totally unpleasant reading experience, I much prefer the video versions put out by BBC or the movie series starring Morton Downey Jr.. Their plots are far more intricate and portray Holmes as being less of a stodgy character and little more eccentric and unpredictable in his actions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2011
I love these stories and the new BBC series Sherlock. Fun to see the new characters on the cover of the classic stories. Highly recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse