Customer Reviews


1,950 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,366)
4 star:
 (372)
3 star:
 (119)
2 star:
 (40)
1 star:
 (53)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy, enjoyable, and important book to read
In terms of reading books that are classics, this one is pain free. The language is easy and it's short enough to get through in a day, and best of all the story is entertaining. My advice would be to spend a few hours on the net reading about the Russian Revolution and Stalin's bio before reading to make sure you appreciate all the allusion, allegory, metaphors and all...
Published on Nov. 4 2008 by Wolfman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars 1984 the review
I did not really enjoy this book, it was way to far feched. I give it a three because George Orwell has a great emajination<(spell?).
This is a good book if you want to read about a guy and his mission for un protected sex.That is all, I guess it just wasnt my cup o' tea.
Published on May 4 2004 by david


‹ Previous | 1 2195 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy, enjoyable, and important book to read, Nov. 4 2008
This review is from: Animal Farm (Paperback)
In terms of reading books that are classics, this one is pain free. The language is easy and it's short enough to get through in a day, and best of all the story is entertaining. My advice would be to spend a few hours on the net reading about the Russian Revolution and Stalin's bio before reading to make sure you appreciate all the allusion, allegory, metaphors and all that blah blah stuff that makes it an important book. This is the one book I actually liked when I had to read it in highschool, 10 or so years later I still enjoyed breezing through it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Meant as a warning, not as a guide, Nov. 1 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nineteen Eighty Four (Paperback)
I first read 1984 as part of my High School curriculum.
At the time, it was amazing to think that a book written before any but the earliest forms of computers, when most people had never heard of television, and before CNN existed could have so eerily predicted things like Flat-screens in every house, and ministries in charge of controlling the news and pop culture.

I re-read it some years later and it was scarier still, as the world was at war, only now our enemies were the same band of merry outlaws we had allied with against the Russians. To watch Rambo III, and CNN during Operation Desert Storm, and then to re-read 1984 was an interesting experience.

Now, I think it is even more relevant. With everyone up in arms about the NSA scandal, figures like Osama Bin Laden, Edward Snowden, Julian Assange popping up in the State Controlled news casts, and more and more men and women in North America sporting "smart phones" equipped with great tools like GPS, geo-tagging, facial recognition software and fingerprint pass-protection I shake my head.

Every time I hear a song on the radio that I find my feet tapping along to, and realize the words make little to no sense - they just sound good together, as if synthesized to appeal to as many people as possible - and every time I see some news about climate change, genocide, or an environmental disaster overshadowed by the latest celebrity spotting I cringe and wonder if Orwell understood that he wasn't writing a warning for the public, he was writing a playbook for the elite.

Even if you think, "LOL - this guy is crazy!", you should do yourself a favour and really read this fantastic bit of fiction. Some would say it is a spectacular example of a literary endeavour. Others would say it's a really, really good book. I would give this 2 + 2 stars out of 5. So 5 out of 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic, Oct. 26 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Animal Farm (Paperback)
This is Orwell's most powerful work of allegory on Stalin and his mad man rule over Russia. Go through this one day reader and you will find reminders and cautions to today's easily manipulated mass media craving population
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So good. Will probably read it again in a few years., March 26 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is incredible. Especially considering the time it was written. George Orwells thoughts were way ahead of their time. Such a great read. There may have been 1 Chapter in the entire book that felt long to me and that's it. Get it, read it and then read it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, Jan. 13 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 1984 (Kindle Edition)
This book caught my interest because of other good reads I've been doing, and recently, the radio hasn't stopped talking about how Orwell-ish our world has actually become. Orwell is a visionnary and it seems like even the book was written in 1930's, the relevance of this book is pretty astonishing. Alot of predition of the future he thinks will happen actually happens in the world today and points out to a terrifying future ahead. Love seeing how older generations had envisionned the future. Although this one is a fiction, ts not that far from not beeing one. And I think thats the most shocking part of it. Excellent red, a must read for every avid reader and a vision to share as much as possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A must read, Jan. 3 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 1984 (Kindle Edition)
Excellent read, should have read it earlier. A new take on the world, on history and the future. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Disturbingly Interesting, Dec 20 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 1984 (Kindle Edition)
This book will get you thinking. It details a society where the government is evil and unstoppable. It's so interesting you won't want to put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic read, Dec 19 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Animal Farm (Paperback)
This is a great book and an awesome read. It is definitely a must read book for everyone and anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mind blowing!, Nov. 25 2013
By 
Carl Doucet (Blainville, Quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 1984 (Kindle Edition)
What a great book! I bought it just a few weeks ago and even if it was written decades before 1984, the story is still very believable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Read, Oct. 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The book was an interesting premise. Slow in some parts, but overall a good read. One thing, it is amazing how he wrote this in 1940's about 1984.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2195 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xbf97b744)

This product

Nineteen Eighty Four
Nineteen Eighty Four by George Orwell (Paperback - July 29 2008)
CDN$ 10.99 CDN$ 9.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews