biss boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage vpcflyout Furniture All-New Kindle Paperwhite Own the 2016 GRAMMY Nominee Album featuring the Biggest Hits from Music's Biggest Night s Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars212
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: HardcoverChange
Price:$19.64+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 3, 2016
Nice fabric cover with pink flamingos. True to the original and has original illustrations
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2016
Six months have passed since Alice took her trip to Wonderland. She is now seven and a half and bored, so decides to go through the looking glass and see how different it is on the other side. Everything is turned around, interesting, everything goes backward instead of forward. Alice meets the chess board characters, kings, queens, castles, pawns. She decides to leave the room and go into the garden where there are so many beautiful flowers, and all of them talk. There is so much good, silly conversation. The flowers all wonder at Alice. What kind of creature is she? The queens come back and forth and out of Alice's journey. She must travel through this new country. And so many animals and folks disapprove of Alice and her ways and don't mind criticizing her.

She meets some interesting characters on her travels. Tweedledum and Tweedledee are a pair who talk a lot of nonsense. But all the inhabitants of Looking Glass Land do. Alice doesn't know what to say or think. She is trying to be a nice amiable child. But it is hard around these.

Characters start as one, a person who turns into an animal, then back to a character. Then comes in inevitable Humpty Dumpty, well known to so many children. The Lion and the Unicorn are another pair. The Red King and Queen, The White King and Queen, the White Knight all act so silly and childish that Alice seems the more adult and sensible of the crowd.

There is so much silly talk, many nice rhyming poems. Kids will love this book, reading it themselves and for younger ones, being read the poems will delight them. These books have been read and loved by young and old since 1865.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2015
nice but small print
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2015
The front page's painting is somewhat...... not pretty
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2015
Even more charming than I'd anticipated
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 27, 2015
I like how compact and little this book is. It makes a really nice pocket book. I haven't finished it yet due to university readings and exam season but I will as soon as I possibly can.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 8, 2015
Worth a revisit as reminder of probably the first time you read it. Great imagination.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2015
Great
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2015
Gift for daughter. She loves it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2015
#BookReview #Alicesadventuresinwonderland and #throughthelookingglass. By #lewiscarrol aka #CharlesDodgson. The Adventures of Alice have been on my reading list for as long as I can remember, which admittedly is not that long. Always gnawing away at the back of my mind, I simply never remembered them at the right time to actually obtain a copy and read them. However, I made it a point this year to read as many #classics as possible, starting with #Aesops tales and continuing with Lewis Carroll’s work. Having now read the book,I absolutely adore it and it deserves to be called a classic in the fullest sense. I have always held that the best work for #children should never condescend to them, but to try and encourage them to explore and grow. Lewis Carroll does this so well that this book is truly an archetype that all other storytellers should emulate. A trained mathematician, Charles Dodgson (Carroll’s real name) uses the idea of dreams to explore logical concepts through absurdity. Concepts such as identity are explored as Alice grows, stretches, shrinks, remembers and forgets (the concept of identity is also interesting to me in the fact that Dodgson will perhaps always be remember by his #nomdeplume). Although I have nothing but cultural context as evidence, I feel there is something #cartesian about the texts methodology. Alice exists, but what does it mean to exist as Alice. She eats eggs, but so do serpents. She remembers her schooling, but then forgets her lessons. Although these topics are presented in amusing absurdities, they are complex topics that still baffle logicians. Of some special interest to me is the fact that Carroll is publishing these works close to the development of the linguistic turn. #GottlobFrege would represent the beginning of the shift in analytic philosophy towards linguistics around 20 years after the publishing of the Alice books. Although this is probably a circumstantial connection, language games play an important role in the work, such as the mouse’s long sad tale, that Alice claims is a long, but certainly not sad “tail”. I would just like to think that as a professional logician, Dodgson was actually ahead of his times intellectually, while ostensibly writing a children’s book. Carroll’s true skill which he should best be remembered for, however, is his ability to present these topics in away that a casual reading will treat them merely as humorous, but more careful readings produce a more complex and fruitful experience. Of the two Alice books, I personally found Adventures in wonderland to be the better book, as I felt looking glass was less cohesive and inspired. Even though I read these books as an adult, I found them just as exciting and fun as I would have as a child. I simply cannot wait to read them again and maybe someday share them with my kids.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse