Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The First Animal Rights Book...
Because it is a well-known classic and a children's perennial favorite, many people do not realize that "Black Beauty" is an impassioned plea for animal rights, written at a time when such a notion was dismissed as ridiculous. And because it is what it is, sensitive children may need a parent to explain that, thankfully, most of the abuses described in the book are long...
Published on May 3 2002 by Wendy Kaplan

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Black Beauty
This book is brill it made me cry laugh and somtimes even jump up and down! It's about a horse that has a number of adventures and it discribes all his friends on the way. If you are looking for a book that makes you laugh and cry, this has to be it!
Published on July 15 2001


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The First Animal Rights Book..., May 3 2002
Because it is a well-known classic and a children's perennial favorite, many people do not realize that "Black Beauty" is an impassioned plea for animal rights, written at a time when such a notion was dismissed as ridiculous. And because it is what it is, sensitive children may need a parent to explain that, thankfully, most of the abuses described in the book are long gone, thanks in part to crusaders like Anna Sewell.
In a story that takes place in 19th century England, a gorgeous glossy black colt, who comes to be known as Black Beauty, is born into a life of comfort and kindness. His life is a kind of horsey paradise, until the fortunes of his owners turn...and Black Beauty is sold.
Sold to a cruel owner as a cab horse, Beauty is now treated as so many hapless animals were in his day...he is virtually tortured. He is in constant pain. His knees are sore. He is made to wear a "check rein," a device that no longer exists, but which scares me to this day because of the impression its description made upon me as a child. It was a type of rein that forced the horse to keep his head up extremely high at an unnatural angle, the more to look "elegant." The pain that this rein inflicts upon Beauty is heartbreaking, and it did indeed break my heart to read it.
Along the way, Beauty meets other horses, and keeps a lifelong friend, Ginger, who also suffers. Everything comes out alright in the end, in a story that is so tender and yet meaningful at the same time, that it is a shame it is relegated by reputation to the backwaters of so-called "children's literature." It was pure muckracking, in the style of the great American muckrakers who came shortly thereafter. Will a child realize this? It's hard to know, but I know that as a child I was simply haunted by the described cruelty to this horse. And of course heartened by the ending. But I have to say that, many decades later, some of the cruelty in this book still upsets me.
Therefore, I recommend the book with a caveat: If you have a particularly sensitive or thoughtful child, please warn him or her that Black Beauty is mistreated in the story, but that because of the book, and others like it, such mistreatment of animals no longer exists. And then let your child enjoy the sheer wealth of detail in what really is, in the end, a beautiful story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black Beauty has became a Timeless Classic, Jan. 16 2002
By A Customer
"Black Beauty," written by author Anna Sewell, is one of the most famous horse books during the nineteenth century. Part of its achievement consists that the novel is a classic for people with many different characteristics. First published in 1877, "Black Beauty" continues to enjoy people for new generations of American citizens around the world. Anna Sewell's brilliant account of animal treatment became a historic breakthrough because it was the first book that described a horse's experience in England. "An autobiography of a young stallion," this book follows the life of Black Beauty. Throughout the novel, it is told in a creative first person form, as if Beauty was describing and narrating his life. Ms. Sewell chose to write this book from the "horses point of view," and she remarkably was able to succeed with her novel. Since Sewell intended on writing this novel in Beauty's point of view, the reader begins to understand the impact of good and treatment towards the horse and his loyal friends. Starter of the Humane Society, the author truly captivates readers with this autobiography of a beautiful, friendly, loving black stallion. In a letter to her friend, Sewell expresses that she hopes "Black Beauty will induce kindness, sympathy, and understanding treatment towards horses." From Beauty's happy, enjoyable youth to his pleasant retirement, Anna Sewell ingeniously wrote the book to remind the cruel treatment in the 1800's. Most importantly, Sewell wrote the book in a time where horses were not given the same respect today, and "Black Beauty" helped to open the eyes of many to the cruelty horses had to suffer. Although Anna Sewell's classic paints a clear picture of the society in London, England, its message is universal and timeless: animals will serve humans well if they are treated with consideration and kindness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black Beauty i s a Timeless Classic, Jan. 16 2002
By A Customer
"Black Beauty," written by author Anna Sewell, is one of the most famous horse books during the nineteenth century. Part of its achievement consists that the novel is a classic for people with many different characteristics. First published in 1877, "Black Beauty" continues to enjoy people for new generations of American citizens around the world. Anna Sewell's brilliant account of animal treatment became a historic breakthrough because it was the first book that described a horse's experience in England. "An autobiography of a young stallion," this book follows the life of Black Beauty. Throughout the novel, it is told in a creative first person form, as if Beauty was describing and narrating his life. Ms. Sewell chose to write this book from the "horses point of view," and she remarkably was able to succeed with her novel. Since Sewell intended on writing this novel in Beauty's point of view, the reader begins to understand the impact of good and treatment towards the horse and his loyal friends. Starter of the Humane Society, the author truly captivates readers with this autobiography of a beautiful, friendly, loving black stallion. In a letter to her friend, Sewell expresses that she hopes "Black Beauty will induce kindness, sympathy, and understanding treatment towards horses." From Beauty's happy, enjoyable youth to his pleasant retirement, Anna Sewell ingeniously wrote the book to remind the cruel treatment in the 1800's. Most importantly, Sewell wrote the book in a time where horses were not given the same respect today, and "Black Beauty" helped to open the eyes of many to the cruelty horses had to suffer. Although Anna Sewell's classic paints a clear picture of the society in London, England, its message is universal and timeless: animals were serve humans well if they are treated with consideration and kindness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black Beauty, Dec 15 2003
By 
'' I have never forgotten my mother's advice; I knew she was a wise old horse, and our master thought a great deal of her. Her name was Duchess, but he often called her pet.''
So begins the story of Black Beauty. A young, handsome horse Black Beauty gets his name from his dark color and the one white star on his forehead. His journey starts on a plantation with his loving mother, Duchess and kind owner. At first Black Beauty is a colt spending his lazy days in the pasture sleeping by the shade of trees and munching on grass, but as Black Beauty gets older and he gets sold for the first time leaving his mother and old friends behind he begins on a journey filed with adventure, friendships, and hardships.
Black Beauty is a wonderful classic fit for any age. this book is filled with great writing and loveable characters. You won't ever want to put it down. I know I didn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You've Got To Read This!, Jan. 5 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Black Beauty (Hardcover)
Black Beauty by Anna Sewell is a nonfiction and adventurous story told by a horse named Black Beauty. Black Beauty is a black stallion that gets sold to many people and has adventures at any place he goes. At his first home he is living peacefully with his mother,brothers,and sisters until he is forced to be sold to John Manly. Right after changing to his second home his life changes as he gets sold to many other people. As he moves from home to home he makes friends with other horses. Ginger, a ginger colered mare that snaps her teeth alot is Black Beauty's old friend. Black Beauty lives with many people. Cruel or kind, he atleast wants someone to love him. This book will show you how a life is being a horse. This story is fun with many horses. I would recommend this book because it is exciting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You've Got To Read This!, Jan. 5 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Black Beauty (Hardcover)
Black Beauty by Anna Sewell is a nonfiction and adventurous story told by a horse named Black Beauty. Black Beauty is a black stallion that gets sold to many people and has adventures at any place he goes. At his first home he is living peacefully with his mother,brothers,and sisters until he is forced to be sold to John Manly. Right after changing to his second home his life changes as he gets sold to many other people. As he moves from home to home he makes friends with other horses. Ginger, a ginger colered mare that snaps her teeth alot is Black Beauty's old friend. Black Beauty lives with many people. Cruel or kind, he atleast wants someone to love him. This book will show you how a life is being a horse. This story is fun with many horses. I would recommend this book because it is exciting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent unabridged, illustrated version, May 1 2010
By 
P.D. (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
I have chosen the Whole Story version of the classics, as it is loaded with colour illustrations on each page which help keep the story captivating for the whole family (including younger children who are so visual). The illustrations are not cartoon or elementary, they are excellent quality. The version is also unabridged so you don't loose the beauty and true essence the author originally intended. A wonderful way to introduce the whole family to the classics, while also attracting the young ones. So far I have the following Whole Story classics: The Jungle Book, Black Beauty and Heidi. All are excellent for my younger children: 8, 5 and 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black Beauty, July 24 2010
This review is from: Black Beauty (Hardcover)
One of the best known books, almost everyone has heard of Black Beauty. The story is told from Black Beauty's point of view giving a totally different view of the world. He has to endure some cruel owners but remains hopeful that someday things will turn out better. One of the sad parts is the death of his over-worked friend 'Ginger'.

The hero horse is eventually saved by a kind boy and his grandfather who care for him and restore him to health. It is quite sad in part but does have a happy ending and in its day would have had an effect on the treatment suffered by working horses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most beloved horse story of all time., June 17 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: Black Beauty (Hardcover)
This particular edition of Black Beauty is beautifully illustrated with old English style color plates. The illustration of the "fire" chapter is interesting in that it depicts the fire engine horses instead of the usual stabled horses trying to escape. I read Black Beauty as a child some 35 years ago. I still have that volume and have collected 16 more.Many low cost editions are without illustrations.... so a book with illustations as these is a must. by Claire
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Black Beauty P.1, Feb. 25 2002
Black Beauty is a black horse that is sold to many horse owners. He lives a horrible and also an exciting life. He was born in a wealthy enviroment. However, his mistress becomes seriously ill, and Black Beauty is sold. He goes along well until he is resold again. Unfortunately, this owner is cruel. Eventhough Black Beauty was born from a kind master, he soon realizes that not all people are like that. He finds out that some are careless and cruel masters. He finally lands into cart-pulling in the streets of London. FOr the final time, he is sold to a young man named Joe Green. This was his recent master that Black Beauty met when Joe was just 13 years old. Black Beauty stays there for the rest of his life.
I actually really liked and enjoyed this book. I liked it because I think that it teaches us about life somtimes. Like Black Beauty, sometimes when we have a roof over our heads with plenty of food, we do not realize how hard and difficult it is when we are poor. Black Beauty learned this when he was sold to a cruel master other then a kind master. Some of the masters are so cruel, but no matter what, Black Beauty always tries his hardest to accomplish it. This is somewhat related to our life. Eventhough it writes about a life of a horse, I really think that this book teaches many morals that can really relate to our everyday life.
My favorite part is when he is at the auction. It gave me a cliff hanger that wanted me to read on. At the auction, he is at the broken down and trodden part of the fair. Black Beauty looks around and sees all these old horses, he pities him and he thinks that he does not belong here. This part made me realize that sometimes people do that at school. At the auction Black Beauty is bought by a farmer that sees that Black Beauty was born from a good breeding ground. I think that Black Beauty well deserved this special and kind family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Black Beauty
Black Beauty by Anna Sewell (Hardcover - Sept. 8 2011)
CDN$ 18.99 CDN$ 13.71
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews