Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book!
As a child I remember watching the movie Black Beauty over and over again. I just recently acquired the book on my Kindle and was not disappointed! For me, it was a very nostalgic book that took me back to being a child. It is a very easy read, but it is beautifully written with very vivid imagery. I found it very easy to get into and sympathize with the character of...
Published on July 25 2012 by Kat

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Black Beauty
This book is brill it made me cry laugh and somtimes even jump up and down! It's about a horse that has a number of adventures and it discribes all his friends on the way. If you are looking for a book that makes you laugh and cry, this has to be it!
Published on July 15 2001


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars a classic for animal lovers, Aug. 10 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Black Beauty (Paperback)
If you haven't read this in awhile, might be worth a read again. Or a great way to introduce this great story to a young child or even teen. I love movies, but sometimes love to get lost in a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book!, July 25 2012
This review is from: Black Beauty (Paperback)
As a child I remember watching the movie Black Beauty over and over again. I just recently acquired the book on my Kindle and was not disappointed! For me, it was a very nostalgic book that took me back to being a child. It is a very easy read, but it is beautifully written with very vivid imagery. I found it very easy to get into and sympathize with the character of Black Beauty and I experienced many emotional ups and downs throughout the plot. Overall, it was an excellent read that I would highly recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A True Horse Classic, Feb. 23 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Black Beauty (Paperback)
I grew up on the movie Black Stallion and didnt get the book until I was a bit older.. As much as I loved the movie I didnt think it was possible to trump it, sure enough this book was everything and more then the movie was! In the past I have both ridden and owned black horses, and they were always called my Black Beauties. A must by for any horse lover of any age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A BEAUTIFUL BOOK...., May 17 2000
Since pictures & illustrations are as much a part of a child's imagination as the written word, then this book beautifully combines both, with the abundant B&W line illustrations by illustrator Lucy Kemp-Welch, in addition to the 12 colour plates included - all in keeping with the time period this novel is set in. A wonderful edition to any child's library. I've been reading horse-topic related books for as long as I can remember; but the very 1st horse story that left an indelible impression on me was ANNA SEWELL's " BLACK BEAUTY ".
It really openend my eyes as to the abuse and cruelty - and majestic fraility - that these wonderful creatures suffer at the hands of their human counterparts.
Ms Sewell opted to write this book from " the horse's point of view " and she was one of the very few authors that was able to pull this off with such great success.
This book also, laid the cornerstone for the ASPCA aims and goals, and brought to light the conditions and treatment of working horses in 20th century London, England ( and elsewhere ).
The story is such a wonderful tale of a horse's life from start to finish; told with a quiet dignity and warmth - and serves as a successful analogy also, as to how humans should interact with one another.
This book also laid the cornerstone for my interest and love of horses, and further spurred my interest in reading about all things Equine.
From there, and I went on to read all of Walter Farley's "The Black Stallion" series ( I used to collect the hardcover editions), and Marguerite Henry's books, and National Velvet(which really wasn't about a horse per se, but more about a little girl who's dreams come true), and anything else I could get my horsey-hungry hands on!
I now keep a copy of Anna Sewell's "Black Beauty" in my library at home, and have given a copy to my daughter to read.
This is a tale that sensitizes the reader to the plight of horses at the hands of their human caregivers, trainers, etc - all told from the horse's mouth ( so to speak )..!
And lest we think that the inhumane treatment of horses has abided since this book was written - one only has to follow the controversy surrounding the use of "Premarin", or abusive training methods of gaited horses, or the Thoroughbred racing industry, or rodeo...etc.
There is still much to be gleaned about the exploitation and abuse of animals from this book - which will always remain a timeless classic.
Kim C. Montreal, 05/2000
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black Beauty, July 24 2010
This review is from: Black Beauty (Hardcover)
One of the best known books, almost everyone has heard of Black Beauty. The story is told from Black Beauty's point of view giving a totally different view of the world. He has to endure some cruel owners but remains hopeful that someday things will turn out better. One of the sad parts is the death of his over-worked friend 'Ginger'.

The hero horse is eventually saved by a kind boy and his grandfather who care for him and restore him to health. It is quite sad in part but does have a happy ending and in its day would have had an effect on the treatment suffered by working horses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent unabridged, illustrated version, May 1 2010
By 
P.D. (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
I have chosen the Whole Story version of the classics, as it is loaded with colour illustrations on each page which help keep the story captivating for the whole family (including younger children who are so visual). The illustrations are not cartoon or elementary, they are excellent quality. The version is also unabridged so you don't loose the beauty and true essence the author originally intended. A wonderful way to introduce the whole family to the classics, while also attracting the young ones. So far I have the following Whole Story classics: The Jungle Book, Black Beauty and Heidi. All are excellent for my younger children: 8, 5 and 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black Beauty, Dec 15 2003
By 
'' I have never forgotten my mother's advice; I knew she was a wise old horse, and our master thought a great deal of her. Her name was Duchess, but he often called her pet.''
So begins the story of Black Beauty. A young, handsome horse Black Beauty gets his name from his dark color and the one white star on his forehead. His journey starts on a plantation with his loving mother, Duchess and kind owner. At first Black Beauty is a colt spending his lazy days in the pasture sleeping by the shade of trees and munching on grass, but as Black Beauty gets older and he gets sold for the first time leaving his mother and old friends behind he begins on a journey filed with adventure, friendships, and hardships.
Black Beauty is a wonderful classic fit for any age. this book is filled with great writing and loveable characters. You won't ever want to put it down. I know I didn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The First Animal Rights Book..., May 3 2002
Because it is a well-known classic and a children's perennial favorite, many people do not realize that "Black Beauty" is an impassioned plea for animal rights, written at a time when such a notion was dismissed as ridiculous. And because it is what it is, sensitive children may need a parent to explain that, thankfully, most of the abuses described in the book are long gone, thanks in part to crusaders like Anna Sewell.
In a story that takes place in 19th century England, a gorgeous glossy black colt, who comes to be known as Black Beauty, is born into a life of comfort and kindness. His life is a kind of horsey paradise, until the fortunes of his owners turn...and Black Beauty is sold.
Sold to a cruel owner as a cab horse, Beauty is now treated as so many hapless animals were in his day...he is virtually tortured. He is in constant pain. His knees are sore. He is made to wear a "check rein," a device that no longer exists, but which scares me to this day because of the impression its description made upon me as a child. It was a type of rein that forced the horse to keep his head up extremely high at an unnatural angle, the more to look "elegant." The pain that this rein inflicts upon Beauty is heartbreaking, and it did indeed break my heart to read it.
Along the way, Beauty meets other horses, and keeps a lifelong friend, Ginger, who also suffers. Everything comes out alright in the end, in a story that is so tender and yet meaningful at the same time, that it is a shame it is relegated by reputation to the backwaters of so-called "children's literature." It was pure muckracking, in the style of the great American muckrakers who came shortly thereafter. Will a child realize this? It's hard to know, but I know that as a child I was simply haunted by the described cruelty to this horse. And of course heartened by the ending. But I have to say that, many decades later, some of the cruelty in this book still upsets me.
Therefore, I recommend the book with a caveat: If you have a particularly sensitive or thoughtful child, please warn him or her that Black Beauty is mistreated in the story, but that because of the book, and others like it, such mistreatment of animals no longer exists. And then let your child enjoy the sheer wealth of detail in what really is, in the end, a beautiful story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's the best book of all time!, April 23 2002
By A Customer
Black Beauty is a book of many feelings and sometimes saddnes. Black Beauty is sold from his home and travels from home to home throughout his life in London. In this book many feelings of courage and hope are shown. It's a great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black Beauty has became a Timeless Classic, Jan. 16 2002
By A Customer
"Black Beauty," written by author Anna Sewell, is one of the most famous horse books during the nineteenth century. Part of its achievement consists that the novel is a classic for people with many different characteristics. First published in 1877, "Black Beauty" continues to enjoy people for new generations of American citizens around the world. Anna Sewell's brilliant account of animal treatment became a historic breakthrough because it was the first book that described a horse's experience in England. "An autobiography of a young stallion," this book follows the life of Black Beauty. Throughout the novel, it is told in a creative first person form, as if Beauty was describing and narrating his life. Ms. Sewell chose to write this book from the "horses point of view," and she remarkably was able to succeed with her novel. Since Sewell intended on writing this novel in Beauty's point of view, the reader begins to understand the impact of good and treatment towards the horse and his loyal friends. Starter of the Humane Society, the author truly captivates readers with this autobiography of a beautiful, friendly, loving black stallion. In a letter to her friend, Sewell expresses that she hopes "Black Beauty will induce kindness, sympathy, and understanding treatment towards horses." From Beauty's happy, enjoyable youth to his pleasant retirement, Anna Sewell ingeniously wrote the book to remind the cruel treatment in the 1800's. Most importantly, Sewell wrote the book in a time where horses were not given the same respect today, and "Black Beauty" helped to open the eyes of many to the cruelty horses had to suffer. Although Anna Sewell's classic paints a clear picture of the society in London, England, its message is universal and timeless: animals will serve humans well if they are treated with consideration and kindness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Puffin Classics Black Beauty
Puffin Classics Black Beauty by Anna Sewell (Hardcover - Jan. 25 2011)
CDN$ 21.00 CDN$ 15.16
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews