Customer Reviews


196 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (56)
3 star:
 (36)
2 star:
 (26)
1 star:
 (21)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Touching story
Full of truth and harsh reality, Icy Sparks tells a sweet and heart breaking tale of trying to fit into the round hole when you are the square peg. I loved this book. The characters are lovable, and you can picture yourself right there in the room. Wonderfully built story by the author. Enjoy this very good book.
Published on March 29 2004 by Patty Philbrook

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I loved Icy
I really liked this book, and I am fairly easily "bored" with some books, and am definately turned off by saccharine stories. I listened to the audio version, and never felt as though it was moving too slowly. I enjoyed all of the narrative. My 9 and 13 year old girls liked it very much also (although I fast-forwarded through the section where Icy and PeeVee have their...
Published on July 13 2004 by Kentucky reader


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars I loved Icy, July 13 2004
By 
This review is from: Icy Sparks (Paperback)
I really liked this book, and I am fairly easily "bored" with some books, and am definately turned off by saccharine stories. I listened to the audio version, and never felt as though it was moving too slowly. I enjoyed all of the narrative. My 9 and 13 year old girls liked it very much also (although I fast-forwarded through the section where Icy and PeeVee have their conflict). When I listen to the tape on the way to work, Icy stays with me all day. I would recommend it to anyone interested in coming-of-age stories with a twist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Icy Sparks, July 10 2004
By 
smartnurse123 (Slidell, LA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Icy Sparks (Audio CD)
This is a poor southern story focusing on a young girl named Icy Sparks, who has various physical and social problems while growing up... She is raised by her grandparents because her mother died when she was very young. As a youngster, Icy has unusual outbursts that cause her to be ostracized by the people in the small southern town where she is raised. To make matters worse, she has very few friends, except for Miss Emily. Miss Emily is an obese old maid who gives her advice on life and encourages her to go to college.
The story centers on Icy's thoughts and perspectives and in the end teaches a lesson to all of us on overcoming and not giving up. The plot, though interesting and full of great description, is slow and somewhat boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not impressed, May 23 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Icy Sparks (Paperback)
The writer definitely knows her craft. She is capable of some amazing descriptions and gives the subject of a young girl with Tourette's syndrome a poetic touch. But the characters are almost all stereotypes, and the understanding shown toward the girl seems too good to be true for the time and place the book is set in. Of course, she does meet her share of mockery, but those who love her achieve an unnatural state of acceptance and peace - yes, they should in an ideal world, but this is a time where no info on Tourette's was available.
While it is possible to tell a story by painting everything in primary colors, the reader eventually begins to long for some shades of gray. So it was here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Icy Sparks, April 22 2004
By 
Ali (Goodrich, MI) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Icy Sparks (Paperback)
Icy Sparks is a girl who was raised by her grandparents because both her parents died when she was young. Along with growing up with no parents, Icy also has a disease called Tourette Syndrom, and doesn't find out she has this disease untill early adulthood. Her violent tics and verbal abuse, caused by Tourettes, isolates her from her peers and social life. This novel is about Icy's struggles and achievements in surviving the emotional and physical effects of tourrettes. And along the way Icy finds the meaning of love that looks beyond her disease, a love that last forever. The love her grandparents, and best friend (Emily), gave from the very beginning to the very end.
This book was hard to get into at first but soon I couldn't stop reading it. The author puts the reader in the mind set of Icy, which give the book a personality of its own. It's a real eye opener to what it's like to be mentally different but appear to be as normal as any other person. It can be confusing at times, so i reccomend it for ages 13 and older. (side note: to understand the story better read the section at the back of the book on Tourette Syndrom.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Touching story, March 29 2004
By 
Patty Philbrook (Stratham, NH United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Icy Sparks (Paperback)
Full of truth and harsh reality, Icy Sparks tells a sweet and heart breaking tale of trying to fit into the round hole when you are the square peg. I loved this book. The characters are lovable, and you can picture yourself right there in the room. Wonderfully built story by the author. Enjoy this very good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Icy Sparks, March 26 2004
This review is from: Icy Sparks (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this story. It's about a young orphan, Icy Sparks who is struggling with Tourette's syndrome and who is trying her damndest to keep it from the only family she has left because she is afraid they will not love her anymore. How heartbreaking! Luckily, she does have one wonderful friend she can count on, Miss Emily, who is obese and knows exactly what it is like to be different and to have people dislike you because you are different. I also liked the ending. It did take a little bit of a religious turn in the last couple of chapters, so that could be a turn off for some people. However, I think that the real story behind those chapters was not so much about God but about Icy and her amazing talent. Through this talent Icy realized that she could feel wanted and accepted and could finally make peace with herself and her disorder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ, Jan. 22 2004
This review is from: Icy Sparks (Paperback)
On the surface, this novel brings you into the twitching and croaking body of a girl suffering Tourette Syndrome, but the book's real magic is its power to actually induce narcolepsy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Icy Found a Miracle Through Her Handicap!, Jan. 18 2004
By 
J. Kirkman "book jen" (St. Petersburg, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Icy Sparks (Paperback)
Icy Sparks was an orphaned child who was being broguth up by her grandparents. Life was difficult for her though, as she had the sudden onset of twitches and jerks,which is a disorder we now know as Tourette's Syndrome. Icy struggled with the people around her, and no one could understand her at all. The only person who did was Miss Emily, a very obese woman who knew what it was like to be shunned either because of looking or acting
different than others. Miss Emily plays a big role in helping Emily, and through her, she discovers her talent of singing.
A very good book and worthwhile reading material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good First Novel, Dec 11 2003
By 
John Sollami (Stamford, CT United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Icy Sparks (Paperback)
This novel is simply written and direct and tells the story of a girl growing up with a mysterious condition that makes her a social outcast. She suffers from bouts of tics, jerks, uncontrollable verbal outbursts, and all the social and psychological fallout such bizarre behavior brings. Icy Sparks makes her way through school in rural Kentucky in the 1950s, and meets up with an ignorant teacher and teasing classmates, which only make matters worse. Both of Icy's parents are dead, and she's being raised by caring and loving grandparents, but there is reference to a genetic link to her father for her condition.
Icy's life plays out realistically, which makes it clear that this story must be autobiographical.
What makes this story unique is the rarity of its telling in literature. I did find the ending a bit much, although the scenes at the end were rendered well. It's only in the last two pages that we discover Icy's condition to be that of Tourette's Syndrome, which makes the book all the more effective.
For anyone with this condition or who has children with this condition, this novel is must reading. For all others, it's also good to understand and empathize with those burdened with this genetic problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pleased, May 17 2003
This review is from: Icy Sparks (Paperback)
This book was quite good. It is about a girl whom goes by the name of Icy Sparks growing up in a southern state in the 1950's. She is different because she suffers or is "blessed" (as you will find out) by Torretes Syndrome. The story tells a tale of her growing up with the disease and how it carries her throughout life.
I don't find it inspirational in any way, but it was a pleasant read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb0c12810)

This product

Icy Sparks
Icy Sparks by Gwyn Hyman Rubio (Paperback - March 7 2001)
CDN$ 17.00 CDN$ 12.27
Usually ships in 3 to 5 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews