Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Teenage James Bond
Teenage James Bond
Bang! Bang! Bullets are flying everywhere. Tactical soldiers in white SWAT suits. There's action everywhere in this book! Do you like James Bond? Of course you do! So get this exiting teenage version of James Bond.
Alex Rider's uncle just died. He needs to take his place in MI6. Alex has been doing well so far, but before he knows...
Published on March 8 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Point Blank I read the book called, Point Blank by Anthony H
I read the book called, Point Blank by Anthony Horowitz. The book was very interesting because Alex rider goes on a lot of action packed adventures. This is because he is a talented young spy. Personally, my favorite part is when Alex was chasing a man in a boat up a ladder. The man closes the latch at the top of the ladder behind him and locks it. Alex used one of his...
Published on Feb. 26 2003


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Teenage James Bond, March 8 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Point Blank (Paperback)
Teenage James Bond
Bang! Bang! Bullets are flying everywhere. Tactical soldiers in white SWAT suits. There's action everywhere in this book! Do you like James Bond? Of course you do! So get this exiting teenage version of James Bond.
Alex Rider's uncle just died. He needs to take his place in MI6. Alex has been doing well so far, but before he knows it, he's in an isolated, elite prep school. There's something very suspicious. There's something odd in this building... very odd.
If I were to rank this book, it would be a 5 because of how much suspense this book gives. Point Blank also shows many exiting action scenes. There is no other action book like this one.
The protagonist in Point Blank is Alex Rider. Alex is an imaginative, creative kid. He's just like any other kid except he works for the MI6 agency. His creativeness in pressure makes him unique. You'll see how he uses his gadgets and cool agent equipment throughout the book.
One scene in Point Blank is when Alex was snowboarding down this steep, huge hill. Bad guys in snowmobiles were chasing him. The bad guys also had machine guns attached to their snowmobiles. Alex eventually escaped.
Another scene from the action-packed book was when Alex Rider had no other choice but to sneak out of the school. The only way was through the window so he took his CD player that had a secret diamond coated blade and cut the bars on the window off.
I conclude that this is a must-not-miss book! It's awesome. There's another book by Anthony Horowitz called Stormbreaker. I highly recommend this book to kids like you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An awesome Spy Adventure, July 5 2004
By 
"spy_girl" (Portland, OR USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Point Blank (Paperback)
The 2nd book in the alex rider series is awesome. the descriptions of characters and gadgets seem to make this book play like a movie in your mind. In this book alex rider must pose as the son of a wealthy food store chain owner in order to get into the Point Blanc boarding school where only trouble wealthy kids go. after he arrives he soon finds out that things are not as they seem. Anthony Horowitz is an excellent writer and i would suggest the alex rider series to anyone who loves Spy adventures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Point Blanc: A book I though I was never going to read, March 6 2006
By 
This review is from: Point Blanc (Paperback)
I was going through my stack of books, when a shiny cover caught my eye. Point Blanc? By Anthony Horowitz? Never heard of it, but I remember reading the first book, Stormbreaker. I wouldn't have read Point Blanc if I had a choice, by just judging the front cover since it was just a dull, plain blue with a mountain on it. I started reading after I was sure I couldn't find another book, and to my surprise...I was caught.
Fourteen year old Alex Rider, "reluctant spy", is sent on his second task by MI6, the organization that he spies for. Again, he agreed unwillingly. This time he disguised himself as the son of a billionaire and is sent to a high quality school, Point Blanc, but he senses something fishy about it. There, he meets enemies, like a person that clones humans, a person that is a cloned human, and a very selfish assistant headmistress, that had won Ms. South Africa, weightlifting champion for five years. He finds friends sometimes, but sooner or later, they always turn against him. Alex Rider will find himself in a situation where he almost gets himself killed again
Anthony Horowitz makes everyone want to read on by adding just enough suspense. He usually ends his chapters with a cliff hanger... what's going to happen next? He also uses the missing piece technique, where he tells you all the details, but you still don't know what is going to happen next. This always lures the reader and makes them read on since you always want to know whether it's good news or bad news.
Although there probably isn't going to be another person on the face of earth that is as daring as Alex Rider, but Anthony Horowitz describes every part of his story that it sounds like he had witnessed it in real life. When he could have just said "Michael J. Roscoe fell to his death", instead he expanded on that and said "The last thing Michael J. Roscoe saw in his life was a lift with white marble walls, a blue carpet, and a silver handrail. His right foot, wearing one of the black leather shoes that were handmade for him in a small shop in Rome, travelled down to the carpet and kept going ... right through it." On P.17 This is so effective because this makes a complete image in the reader's mind in the reader's mind instead of have a partly completed picture.
My favourite part was when Alex rides down the slope on an ironing board because he first starts pretty smoothly. Most people will think that it is good news, but just when you start to think he will succeed, Alex starts falling and sustains an injury. Maybe you should change your mind about it being good news. This juggles your mind back and forth, where you start to pay close attention because you want to catch all the details so you don't get tricked. This is my favourite part because this is the most exciting and keeps you on the edge of your seat.
Alex Rider and his adventure was a great example of determination. Although he is a "reluctant spy", he never gives up. Even when Alex is hurt all over and doesn't feel like moving, he keeps on going until his mission is over. Alex fell off his ironing board, ended up in a hospital, didn't want to stay, and got back in the spy game before he fully recovered.
Point Blanc is the kind of book that grabs you until the end. I would recommend this book to kids who are always looking for trouble and adventure. My rating for it is five stars. Point Blanc will surprise you with its twists and turns since Alex Rider is always wanted dead by his enemies. Is it life or death for Alex Rider?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Point Blank, March 25 2004
By 
D. Booy (Cerritos, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Point Blank (Paperback)
Heading:Point Blank
By:Anthony Horowitz
Reviewed by:D.Booy
Period:P.1
Point Blank is a book meant for young adults. The main charachter in the story is a fourteen year-old by named Alex Rider. In the prequel to Point Blank, Alex's uncle dies so he has to live with a friend, Jack Starbright. Alex is then recruited by M16 to be a spy. In Point Blank, M16 has suspisions about a finishing school for children with rich parents. Alex is then given a fake identity adn enrolled in the school. By the time Alex discovers the horrible truth behing the school, the teachers have already found out his secret. Alex must escape from the school and alert M16 about the school's secret plans. Alew then treis to escape after using a makeshift snowboard and a trsin to finally evade persistent guards that have been set up around the school he finally makes it down the mountain that the school is located on. To his dismay he must go back up the mountain with and elite force of soldiers on a rescue mission to save the children still enrolled in Point Blanc.
I liked this book because I can relate to the main charachter who is about my age. Alex also runs into diffrent peoblems he must get out of during the book. The action is intense. I found it very fun to read about how Alex will solve a problem or get into one. " He now new that he had to get up to the third floor." The intense spying action that makes this book so interesting keeps readers on the edge of their seats. I couldn't put the book down until I was through reading it, and even after I was finished, I wanted to read the book over an over again.
I like books with lots of action. I enjoy reading a good book with lots of action. If I sit down and read a really good book such as Point Blank I will get up after I am done reading pumped up. Some of the books that are sold today are all action and have no depth of story. The action is jut a vehicle to keep the story going. Unlike some of these books that are read by our ypung people today, Point Blank has a cohesive plot, and when the action kicks in, it is perfectly placed and well written. "Alex yelled as he swooped down the mountainside, barely able to control the sheet of metal under his feet." Such action scenes a this are place throughout the book Point Blank.
My favorite part of the book was when Alex was tries to escape from the guards that the school's director, Dr. Hugo Grief, had placed around the school, supposudly for the safety of the students attending the school. When Alex find out about Dr. Grief's despicable plan, Alex unwitingly reveals himself. Dr. Grief captures him and promises Alex that he will die a painful death, and the plan will still be successful. Alex uses one of his hi-tech spy gadget to escape from the prison cell he is locked in and makes a snwboard out an ironing board. He then starts to snowboard down the mountain but is then followed by guards with machine guns and snowmobiles. akex fears to be killed. He barely manages to evade his pursuers, but he has one more milestone to pass before he is safe from Grief.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Point Blanc, March 22 2004
By 
This review is from: Point Blanc (Paperback)
Point Blanc is a great book. Alex is a 15 year old teenage boy who has no parents or relatives but lives with his housekeeper. He overcomes reasons to turn back or fail. He is smart and curious. His bravery helps him solve the problems that normal people would ignore.
Alex is forced to become a spy when his uncle dies and MI6 (British intelligence) blackmails him into getting information about mysterious dilemmas.
This book is action packed with dangerous missions where Alex Rider is in constant danger. Once when Alex is walking, he sees a car where a man is selling drugs. He gets on his bike and follows the man to a cruise boat. After the man gets in the boat Alex locks the door from the outside. He gets into a crane and lifts up the boat over the police station. When one of the workers sees Alex in the crane, they decide to climb up to get him. When Alex was at the bottom of the ladder the crane collapses over the police station.
The author, Anthony Horowitz, writes in a way that you never want to stop reading. He keeps a curtain over what is really happening so there are a lot of surprises. He tricks you into thinking that there is nothing happening when really there is a big mystery. Point Blanc is the second of four Alex Rider books that includes Stormbreaker, Point Blanc, Skeleton key, and Eagle Strike.
Point Blanc is a great book to read in your free time. This is a great book for those who are hungry for action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Point Blank, March 3 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Point Blank (Paperback)
Alex races down the steep rocky mountain on a snowboard that he had made but snowmobiles trail right behind him. He hears gunfire. The drivers had machine guns and are firing at him. Bullets zip past his face. He tries to focus on what he needs to do but just then he flies into the cold snowy air and his mind goes blank...
POINT BLANK is the spine tingling sequel to Storm Breaker but this time its much more serious. In the beginning of this life risking adventure Alex gets a call from MI6 to come over to their office and have a talk about some classified information. Once he got there he sat down and they told him that he was going on another mission. At first Alex thought that Gref was joking but Alex could see in his eyes that he wasn't at all.

As you read this fantastic book you will be on the edge of your seat wondering and waiting for what happens next. Throughout this book you will also absolutely want to turn the page because it is one of the greatest of Horoetzes books.
To sum up what I have said to you "go to your local library today and get one of the greatest books published PONT BLANK.
By,
Greg Novak
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Point Blank, March 1 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Point Blank (Paperback)
Alex races down the steep rocky mountain on a snowboard that he had made but snowmobiles trail right behind him. He hears gunfire. The drivers had machine guns and are firing at him. Bullets zip past his face. He tries to hocus on what he needs to do but just then he flies into the cold snowy air and his mind goes blankï¿
POINT BLANK is the spine tingling sequel to Storm Breaker but this time its much more serious. In the beginning of this life risking adventure Alex gets a call MI6 to come over to their office and have a talk about some classified information. Once he got there he sat down and they told him that he was going on another mission. At first Alex thought that Gref was joking but Alex could see in his eyes that he wasnï¿t at all.

As you read this fantastic book you will be on the edge of your seat wondering and waiting for what happens next. Throughout this book you will also absolutely want to turn the page because it is one of the greatest of Horoetzes books.
To sum up what I have said to you ï¿go to your local library today and get the one of the greatest books published PONT BLANK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best one yet, April 9 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Point Blank (Hardcover)
Point Blank is one of the best books I have ever read. Some of the other books I have enjoyed are Stormbreaker also by Anthony Horowitz and the animorphs series by K.A. Applegate.
Point Blank starts like any other book with a child as the main character. The catch is that Alex Rider is no ordinary kid, he works for MI6. Yeah that's right, the same organization James Bond works for. Anyway, you know how Bond films always have a little "mission" at the beginning and Point Blank in no exception. I'm not going to tell you what it is but it is really cool. After he receives a call from MI6, he has a new mission.
Something is going on at a private correctional school in France called Point Blanc, they want Alex to find out what. However, Point Blanc only takes the sons of the super-rich or ultra-powerful. Because of that, Alex must disguise himself as a billionaire's delinquent son. While he is doing that he receives all of his gadgets for the upcoming mission. A CD player that turns into a saw and a book that shoots poison darts, to name a few. Once at Point Blanc Alex discovers that there is a mysterious "project Gemini" happening. He also makes a friend named James. Then one night he hears screaming in the hallways, but when he goes to see what happened there is nobody there.
This is not the end of the book but I am not going to tell you any more. If you want to find out read the book. This is a hair-raising spine- tingling adventure with a great ending. I really liked this book because it kept me guessing right up until the end where everything is neatly sorted out. Watch out James Bond. Alex Rider is the new star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Adventure, Interesting Mystery, Dec 16 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Point Blank (Hardcover)
Tucked away in the French mountains lies a school named Point Blank. In it contains two mysterious and crazy people named Dr. Grief and Mrs. Stellenbosch. People suspect they are behind two murders. That is where Alex Rider comes in. Alex Rider is a 14-year-old M16 spy in a search to save the world. He is sent to the school, along with other juvenile delinquents who don't take school seriously, rebel, and who care only about themselves. Then, all of a sudden, the kids become ideal students and Alex Rider gets very suspicious. He must use his smarts, sneakiness, and gadgets to get past the criminal masterminds, Dr. Hugo Grief and Mrs. Stellenbosch.
Alex Rider's powerful non-stop action that he brings to the book is beyond me. He and the stunts that he pulls off keep the intrigue going throughout the whole book. Like snowboarding down the hill on an ironing board, while avoiding traps, obstacles, men on snowmobiles, and men with machine guns. By the way, getting past Dr. Grief himself. The action put into this book is more than Jackie Chan can handle and when you are done reading this book, you will not only say you liked it, but you will clap out loud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Action packed and Lotsa Suspense!!, Sept. 4 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Point Blank (Hardcover)
Comments: This book was not as chair gripping as the first, at least not until later. It's plot was much like the plot of its prequel. Still it remained suspenseful and action-packed. A few surprising twists are on the road, but much of it is rather predictable, especially the main plot. Although there does seem to be some sort of prejudice in the book from the author. The first book and this one had their villians to be African or black. Is that a coincedence? Or is it racism? All in all, it was a rather satisfying book.
Story: Alex Rider has become somewhat of a spy. After his first suspenseful and dangerous mission, he returns to his normal life, now craving the life of a spy. Longing to go on another adventure. His desire turns to reality. A school for rich kids who have problems, as in shoplifting, being expelled, etc., turns into something very suspicious. Alex goes in under cover as a student. He notices nearly all the students are different, yet the same. He has to find out what is going on and what the plot of an insane evil man is before it's too late. What Alex discovers may be more than he expected and more sick than thought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Point Blank
Point Blank by Anthony Horowitz (Paperback - Feb. 21 2006)
CDN$ 9.99 CDN$ 9.49
Usually ships in 1 to 2 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews