Customer Reviews


81 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars The Twits Review
The Twits, by Roald Dahl, published by Puffin Novels.
This book is a great fiction book for kids .This book is about an old nasty woman and her greasy husband.They are the meanest people you will ever meet.Also kids are forbidden to go there because if they do I don't think they'll survive. So a boy goes to investigate the Twits house.
The main charters in...
Published on Nov. 5 2003

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars JUNGLE JUSTICE
The Twits (a British pop culture term from the 50's) are really a disgustingly nasty couple who deserve each other. When not playing gross and cruel practical jokes on each other--which escalate into unadulterated viciousness--they plot to catch our feathered friends for their weekly Bird Pie. Complete with tiny birdie feet sticking out from the crust like so many...
Published on March 8 2002 by Plume45


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars The Twits Review, Nov. 5 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Twits (Paperback)
The Twits, by Roald Dahl, published by Puffin Novels.
This book is a great fiction book for kids .This book is about an old nasty woman and her greasy husband.They are the meanest people you will ever meet.Also kids are forbidden to go there because if they do I don't think they'll survive. So a boy goes to investigate the Twits house.
The main charters in this book are Mrs. Twit and Mr. Twit. They are the old people in this book. Mrs. Twit is a really old, mean,and nasty , witch, with a glass eye, that quivers all the time. Mr. Twit, is a greasy old man who has a temper problem and when he eats, all the food, and his drink dribbles down his beard and gets stuck there, and it gets all hard and crusty. Oh ya! Get this! He never shaves it or combs it. Do you actually think any couple could survive like that?P> I think this book The Twits is a really good book for people who like twisted tales and stories. I think that if you read it you would love it and want to read it again and again. I would especially recommend this book for children from 7-8 years old because, I don't think that anyone under seven would really understand what the book is telling you. Again I really encourage people to read it because it is a really fun book to read, and tell other people to read it. I think they'll like it too. Go to your local library, or book store, and get this book The Twits, by Roald Dahl and get lost in this wonderful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Aaron Halls book review, June 8 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Twits (Paperback)
What a lot of hairy-faced men there are nowdays. Mr.Twit is one of them. This book is pretty much about two people that play tricks on each other. It is so funny you`ll fall out of your seat. There is one problem, see the Twit's eat bird pie every Wednesday. Mr.Twit goes outdoors and puts the stickiest glue in the world on the big dead tree. When the birds land on the tree they stick there until Mr. Twit gets them to eat. The rolly-Polly bird and Mugglewump(a monkey)are smart. They see what Mr. Twit does so they tell the birds. The birds play a trick on Mr. Twit. What they do is they move to different places. The twits get so mad, they go out and buy a gun, but when the Twits are gone the birds get revenge. Here is a part that I know you will love. They get Mr. Twits glue and take everything from the floor and stick them on the ceiling. When the Twits get home, they are so confused. Mr. Twits tells Mrs Twit to stand on her head. It doesn't work, their heads shrink into their neck, their neck shrinks into their shoulders and so on. It is perfect for all ages. I gave it 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars *A Hillarious Book*, Nov. 13 2002
By A Customer
If you have not read the book called The Twits, by Roald Dahl, you might want to read it some time. It's a book about two people that are very grumpy and very ugly. Most books don't actually make you laugh out loud, but this one will. There are several reasons why I like this book the best. One reason is how the Twits are always pulling pranks on each other. One of the pranks is when Mr. Twit tells Mrs. Twit she has got the shrinks. The shrinks are when you get shorter and shorter until you disappear. Mr. Twit makes Mrs. Twit believe she has really got the shrinks by cutting the wood off the bottom of her chair legs. After Mr. Twit cuts the wood of of her chair he adds it onto her cane she walks with to make it look taller than her. Mrs. Twit doesn't know that pretty soon she will disappear, until Mr. Twit tells her. Then Mrs. Twit starts to worry. Mrs. Twit finally figures out that Mr. Twit is trying to get her back for the prank Mrs. Twit pulled on him by putting worms in his spaghetti. Another thing I think is funny about this book is when Mr. Twit puts super sticky glue on the big dead tree in his back yard that all the birds sit on. Mr. Twit puts glue on the tree so that he can catch birds for bird pie. Mr. Twit doesn't care what kind of bird it is as long as he gets his bird pie for dessert. One day, Mr. Twits monkeys try to tell the birds that there is glue on the tree and they need to land somewhere else but the birds can't understand monkey language. That night Mr. Twit got his bird pie for dessert. The next day a pretty bird called the Roly-Poly Bird came and was about to land on the tree until the monkeys yelled "Don't land on the tree there is super sticky glue on it." So the bird went over to the cage. The Roly-Poly Bird could understand monkey language. The next day when the birds came back to land on the tree the Roly-Poly Bird told them not to land on the tree because there is super sticky glue on the tree. So all the birds came and landed on the monkey cage. That day Mr. Twit did not get any bird pie. The next day Mr. Twit put some glue on the monkey cage and the Roly-Poly Bird had to tell the other birds to land somewhere else because the cage had super sticky glue on it. So the bird landed on the house and Mr. Twit went to get guns. While Mr. and Mrs. Twit were gone buying guns they made the monkeys stand on their heads until they got back. This is my other reason why I like this book. The monkeys finally get tired of standing on their heads and decide to do something about it. They ask the Roly-Poly Bird to get all the birds to come to the cage. When all the birds get there they asked them to go and get the key Ms. Twit put under the rug in front of the door. When the bird goes the key it opened the house and went inside. A couple other birds went to get a whole bunch of super sticky glue. The monkeys had a key of their cage and the Roly-Poly Bird let them out. All of the birds went inside the Twit's house. The monkeys had all the birds' fly up and smear glue all over the ceiling. When that was done they had them stick all the furniture all through the house on the ceiling including anything else that was on the floor. When they were done all the birds and monkeys went outside and they bird that got the key locked the door and put the key back under the rug. When the Twits walked in their house they were confused. The Twits really thought they were upside down, so the monkey's plan worked. Mr. Twit said that if they stand on their heads that the won't be upside down anymore. So they stood on their heads. They decided it didn't work so they tried to stand back up, but the monkeys had dropped some glue on the floor and they were stuck there forever, until one day when they disappeared. Although there are many good books to choose from, The Twits is my favorite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "The Twits"-* A humorous book for the whole family*, Nov. 13 2002
By A Customer
Amanda Dooly
The Twits
If you want a crazy and exciting book to read that will make you howl with laughter, The Twits by Roald Dahl, will be the perfect choice. Mr. and Mrs. Twit live in an old barn house without windows. Mr. Twit's pets are a family of monkeys. In the beginning, I like how the Twits think up foolish ways to be cruel to each other. For example, Mrs. Twit decides to put worms in Mr. Twit's spaghetti one night. Mr. Twit eats all of his spaghetti not knowing that it has worms in it. After he finishes his dinner, Mrs. Twit tells him that he has eaten a plate full of worms. To get revenge, Mr. Twit makes his wife's walking cane longer than she is, so it looks like she is getting the "shrinks". The "shrinks" happen when someone gets shorter, and soon disappears altogether. Another example of cruelty is when Mr. Twit ties balloons around his wife's head and neck, and ties a rope around her ankles. The rope is connected to a stake in the ground. He snips the rope from the stake, and lets her go flying up into the sky. He finally thinks that he has gotten rid of her.
A second reason I like this book is because of what Mr. Twit's monkeys do to make the Twits' lives miserable. One example is when the monkeys try to shoo away the birds from the Twits' house. Mr. and Mrs. Twit love Bird Pie! They put sticky glue on the tree in their yard. When the birds perch on the tree, they stick, and can't go anywhere. The Twits soon collect the trapped birds and cook them for supper. When the monkeys scare the birds, the Twits have no Bird Pie. Another example of how the monkeys make the Twits' lives miserable is when they and their friend, the Roly-Poly Bird, work together. The Roly-Poly Bird and the monkeys shoo away the other birds from the sticky, glued trees. Mr. Twit finds that there are no birds, so he decides to put glue on the monkeys' cage instead. When that doesn't work, he paints the glue on the roof of his barn house. The Roly-Poly Bird and monkeys frighten the birds away from the roof. The Twits finally decide to buy guns and shoot the birds in the sky.
The last reason why I like this book is because Roald Dahl is a very humorous, children's author. He likes to make his readers laugh. Dahl is a very good writer because I couldn't stop laughing throughout the book. He uses simple words to create a funny story. Something very comical happens at the end of the book. If you would like to find out, you will have to read this book yourself. In conclusion, I would say this is the best book that I have read in a very long time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Devilishly Funny, May 19 2002
By 
Oddsfish (United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Twits (Paperback)
The Twits is so hilarious. I've always been a fan Roald Dahl's, but I had never experienced this comic gem. The giggling begins on the first page, and it reaches a huge climax a quick 76 pages later. You will probably be doubled over laughing by then. Everything about the book is funny as you watch Mr. and Mrs. Twit pull prank after totally original prank on each other (the pranks include frogs, glass eyes, and balloons among other things). Then, you find out that the mean, awful Twits have been trying to raise an upside down monkey circus, and the monkeys want to get their freedom and to get back at the Twits. Their ingenious plot to get back at the Twits provides the biggest laughs of the book. Even the small descriptions are funny. My favorite line in the book comes when Dahl is describing the yard. He writes of the tree: "To one side (of the house) there is The Big Dead Tree. It never has any leaves on it because it's dead." I'm not totally sure why, but that line almost had me crying. This is one of the most fun reads I've ever had, and the illustrations are great, too. Anytime you're feeling bad, I would certainly suggest this delightful (even if a little mean) read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Twits by Roald Dahl a review by Casey, Nov. 15 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Twits (Paperback)
Have you ever seen a married couple who hate each other? Or have you ever seen trained upside-down monkeys that revolt? In this book The Twits by Roald Dahl it happens! Mr. and Mrs. Twits are the nastiest, ugliest, smelliest people in the world. They hate everything except playing jokes on each other! Mr. Twit loves bird pie (with real birds in it!) and training monkeys to do everything upside-down. Mrs. Twit plays the first joke in this book, The Twits and it gets Mr. Twit really mad! The tricks go back and forth between them until Mr. Twit plays the ultimate trick he says that she has the shrinks! (The shrinks is where is your head grows into your neck, your neck grows into your middle, your middle grows into your legs, and your legs grow into your feet!)
Next its time to tell you about the monkeys! Mr. Twit is training his monkeys to do everything upside-down. But alas the monkeys want to go home to Africa. (They hate doing things upside down.) One day a bird native to Africa, the Roly-Poly Bird comes to visit. Then the monkeys play a trick on the Twits! The Roly-Poly Bird, from Africa, lets them out of their cage. The monkeys seize the moment to play the trick. They take the very, very sticky glue out of Mr. Twit's shed. (He uses it to catch birds for bird pie on Tuesdays.) Then the monkeys stick everything to the ceiling in the Twit's house exactly how it was on the floor. When the Twits come home and go inside they think they're on the ceiling so they stand on their heads and then they get the shrinks, for real!
This book is great for laughs it makes you laugh like a laughing hyena! My favorite part in this book is when the monkeys get back at the Twits. I like this part of the story because I felt sorry for the monkeys having to stand on their heads all day. If I were in the monkeys' position I would have done the same thing! In this book there were some parts I didn't like. One part I didn't like was when Mrs. Twit put her glass eye in Mr. Twit's coffee cup and he almost drank it. The other part I didn't like was when Mr. Twit just lets his wife float away wanting to get rid of her anyway.
Next I'll tell you what the Twits look like. Mr. Twit has a very long beard (he thinks it makes him look wise and handsome but really it makes him look ugly). In his beard are little bits of food from all different meals. Mr. Twit never takes a bath so he smells as bad as Swiss cheese! He wears a plum purple suit everyday. Mr. Twit is horrible at being nice and making friends, (which is probably why he doesn't have any friends). But Mr. Twit may be horrible and nasty but he's good at catching birds and making Mrs. Twit really mad!
Now for Mrs. Twit, she used to be beautiful but then she had ugly thoughts and ugly thoughts make you look as ugly as your thoughts so that makes Mrs. Twit the ugliest person in the world! She's mean and nasty and she hits the monkeys with her cane if they don't do what Mr. Twit says. Mrs. Twit is as bad at everything Mr. Twit is bad at (which is probably why they're husband and wife!), but Mrs. Twit is a great at cooking (especially worms and birds!).
I felt different about each character. I didn't like Mr. Twit at all because he was really mean. It shows that he was mean when he was going to put kids in his pie instead of birds. I thought that was really cruel. As for Mrs. Twit she was as bad as Mr. Twit was because she hit the monkeys. The only characters I liked were the monkeys, the Muggle-Wumps because they always had hope that they would get free someday. I liked the book because it was always making me laugh and it kept me reading so that I could find out what would happen next. That's why I liked the story, The Twits, but you don't have to take my word for it, read the book and find out if you like it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, mischievous fun for kids young and old, Oct. 28 2001
By 
Robert Moore (Chicago, IL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Twits (Paperback)
I actually read this one out loud to my daughter not once but twice, first in 1993 when she was living with me in Chicago, and then again in 1994 over the phone when she was living in Massachusetts with her mother. If I had not heard from other sources that Roald Dahl was not an especially pleasant person, I believe that I could have guessed this from his books. There is a bit of inspired nastiness in all of them, but this one might be the nastiest of the bunch. THE TWITS is the story of a married couple who brood on new ways to make the life of their spouse as miserable as possible. Dahl's genius is to create utterly unique ways for two people to play bizarrely original and extravagant dirty tricks on one another. My daughter loved this both times I read it to her (after she learned to read on her own, she reread it on her own), and I have to admit that I enjoyed reading it to her.
This might not be good for all parents, though it is certainly great for nearly all kids. If you are the kind of parent who believes Bart Simpson inspires kids to be bad, skip this one. But if you want to have a really great time with your kid, read them this one. Even now, as I remember my daughter's reaction to hearing Mr. Twit convince his wife that she had the shrinks, I get a little twitter (no pun intended) inside.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Disgusting! Dirty! Delightful!, Feb. 10 2001
This review is from: The Twits (Paperback)
Meet the Twits, THE most disgusting couple in all of England... Perhaps even the whole world. Mr. Twit hasn't combed or washed his huge, shaggy beard in YEARS, and it's full of nasty bits of rotting food (the illustrator even has a close-up shot for those who really want to experience it!!). Mrs. Twit has a glass eye and years of thinking ugly thoughts has turned her into the most ugly woman one could imagine (this actually makes a good deal of sense, doesn't it??)
The Twits hate everything, including each other. A plotting look from Mr. T provokes Mrs. T to put her glass eye into his beer. This causes him to pull a dirty trick on HER. Then back and forth, back and forth. Indeed, the author tells us we could go on like this forever with these two nasties.
The book goes on to tell of the Twits's trained monkeys who are forced to stand on their heads for hours at a stretch, and of Mr. Twits's favorite dinner, bird pie (made by smearing glue on a dead tree and then cooking up every type of bird that gets stuck there). The monkeys go on to save flocks of birds and then play a most excellent trick on the Twits themselves!!
The late Mr. Dahl is, of course, a genius of the wicked, strange and disgusting. This book is no exception! The Twits is a book that will make most grownups say, "ewww! Disgusting!" and most children say, "Hehehehe!! Cool!!" It's a fast-paced read and short, so it won't be intimidating to new readers. The illustrations are, like the story, frenetic and gross and therefore are a perfect compliment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Twits Crack Me Up!, Nov. 28 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Twits (School & Library Binding)
The Twits is a book by Roald Dahl. The Twits are husband and wife and although they are very funny, they are not too bright! Mr. Twit has a long, shaggy beard that has bits of rotten fish, apple, stale bread, etc. stuck in it. Mrs. Twit used to be very pretty when she was young, but she kept having frightening throughts and ended up as an ugly old hag! The Twits love to play mean tricks on each other. For example, one day Mr. Twit is enjoying a big, bubbly beer when Mrs. Twit pops out her glass eyeball and plops it into his mug. After spying the eyeball floating in his beer, Mr. Twit flees the scene leaving the mug and eye behind. She enjoys a good laugh. To get back at her, Mr. Twit puts a frog in her bed. Throughout the book they quarrel constantly, not with words, but by playing mean tricks on one another. My favorite trick was when Mr. Twit attached thin pieces of wood to the bottom of her cane and chair. Over time she thought she was shrinking. He (and I) had a good laugh. I enjoy reading books by Roald Dahl, and this one is among my favorites. In conclusion, I'll just tell you that the Twits end up with a "small" problem. If you read this book, you'll know what I mean by "small."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Twits Crack Me Up!, Nov. 28 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Twits (School & Library Binding)
The Twits is a book by Roald Dahl. The Twits are husband and wife and although they are very funny, they are not too bright! Mr. Twit has a long, shaggy beard that has bits of rotten fish, apple, stale bread, etc. stuck in it. Mrs. Twit used to be very pretty when she was young, but she kept having frightening throughts and ended up as an ugly old hag! The Twits love to play mean tricks on each other. For example, one day Mr. Twit is enjoying a big, bubbly beer when Mrs. Twit pops out her glass eyeball and plops it into his mug. After spying the eyeball floating in his beer, Mr. Twit flees the scene leaving the mug and eye behind. She enjoys a good laugh. To get back at her, Mr. Twit puts a frog in her bed. Throughout the book they quarrel constantly, not with words, but by playing mean tricks on one another. My favorite trick was when Mr. Twit attached thin pieces of wood to the bottom of her cane and chair. Over time she thought she was shrinking. He (and I) had a good laugh. I enjoy reading books by Roald Dahl, and this one is among my favorites. In conclusion, I'll just tell you that the Twits end up with a "small" problem. If you read this book, you'll know what I mean by "small."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Twits
The Twits by Roald Dahl (Paperback - Aug. 21 2007)
CDN$ 8.99 CDN$ 8.54
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews