Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A shocking story of the slavery of our time. A must read.
This is a book that will make you shocked, it will make you angry, and it will make you cry. But above all, it will make visible to you one of the greatest evils of our time, and hopefully give you the will to make a difference.
The Natashas is a very painful book to read. At the same time it is a book all of us MUST read. Mr. Malarek, one of our best investigative...
Published on Oct. 26 2003 by Henry

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Informative but limited
Great info about a topic I knew little about. Unfortunately got repetitive without delving deeper into causes or possible solutions to issues. Rehashing horrible tales (which was necessary and eye opening) but was hoping author would explore more in regards to how these actions have become societal norms.
Published 15 months ago by Jaime Kessel


Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A shocking story of the slavery of our time. A must read., Oct. 26 2003
By 
This review is from: Natashas (Hardcover)
This is a book that will make you shocked, it will make you angry, and it will make you cry. But above all, it will make visible to you one of the greatest evils of our time, and hopefully give you the will to make a difference.
The Natashas is a very painful book to read. At the same time it is a book all of us MUST read. Mr. Malarek, one of our best investigative journalists gives a complete picture of the horror of sex trafficking, in particular, the recently booming sex trade of Eastern European women & children. To be precise in all respects, it is a book about the slavery of our time, brutal, murderous, heartbreaking enslavement of women and children within the very border of the western world.
With first hand information through personal interviews and field investigations, Mr. Malarek illustrates and analyses the nature of this human misery. But above all, he gives us a picture of the horrors these girls suffer: ”Recruited” by deception, coercion, or abduction, 200,000 girls each year from Eastern Europe are sold like cattle abroad to serve as sex slaves. They are tortured and threatened into submission. They are forced to take 10-30 clients a day. Many of them commit suicide, or become mentally sick, still more contract sexually transmitted diseases, have forced abortions, or babies who become orphans. Rarely do they escape their fate because they are invisible to us. Their owners make sure they blend into the local sex business environment, because they don’t speak the local languages, because policemen and politicians don’t care enough, because men who buy sex don’t care (or know) the crime they are paying to propagate, and most of all, because the public is not aware of it and many of us despise them.
This book is not about prostitution. It is about slavery. I thought I knew the subject until I read it, and I am glad I did.
This crime must be stopped. We must all learn about the nature of this problem and pursue to engage ourselves, our government, our law enforcement agencies, and our social sector to deal with it. And if you read this book, I promise that you will feel the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invisible Terror?, Nov. 27 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Natashas (Hardcover)
When we struggle to come to terms with the unimaginable horror of the Holocaust, we often hear the question, "How could the Germans just sit by and let this happen?" It seems that history is repeating itself as the abduction, confinement, rape, torture, and murder of the millions of women and children forced to work in the sex trade continues unchecked. This is not a foreign problem. It is fueled by our own lust, corruption, apathy, and fear and then tragically blamed on its innocent victims.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Informative but limited, June 20 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Natashas (Hardcover)
Great info about a topic I knew little about. Unfortunately got repetitive without delving deeper into causes or possible solutions to issues. Rehashing horrible tales (which was necessary and eye opening) but was hoping author would explore more in regards to how these actions have become societal norms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, May 24 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Natashas: The New Global Sex Trade (Paperback)
This is an eye opener. A must read. Victor Malarek is a great journalist and amazing author. Shed a few tears reading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely Worth Reading, Jan. 10 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Natashas: The New Global Sex Trade (Paperback)
Victor Malarek is a Canadian journalist dedicated to raising awareness about human trafficking. He mainly focuses on girls from Eastern Europe (Ukraine, Russia, etc.) and describes how they are cruelly and viciously taken from their families and homes by manipulation, force, or are sold by their families like property and transported to destination countries such as Israel.

Malarek does an excellent job portraying victims of the sex industry in a way that allows the reader to feel empathy for the women and children. Some parts of the book are extremely heartbreaking and graphic, however, they are necessary to include to give the reader a proper understanding of the horrors that human trafficking and prostitution involve.

Buy this book, read it, and spread the word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great discovery unnder canadian nose, Dec 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Natashas (Hardcover)
i enjoyed the product a lot... pretty much like it was advised and even more... i can say im satisfied
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sex trafficking, March 4 2011
This review is from: The Natashas: The New Global Sex Trade (Paperback)
A very honest, well researched and comprehensive work by a true journalist. Victor Malarek shows the truth behind the sex industry and its need to replenish its supply by forcing innocent young women into sexual bondage and forced prostitution. He reaches inside the heart of the issue and opens your heart to the plight of so many victims. He also shows how this trade in human beings is growing, and how the demand is being fuelled by our armed forces, and their need for cheap, available sex, at the expense of these women and girls (many as young a 12). How many of those left in charge of upholding international law, turned a blind eye, and in some cases participated in violating the very laws they were send to uphold. An amazingly well written, and truly honest account of a billion dollar industry, and the unfortunate victims trapped in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Natashas: The New Global Sex Trade
The Natashas: The New Global Sex Trade by Victor Malarek (Paperback - Oct. 1 2004)
CDN$ 19.00 CDN$ 13.72
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews