summer boutiques-francophones snsflyout Pets All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars9
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
2
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$17.81+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 22, 2001
Peter Robinson is that most rare of mystery writers. He is not satisfied with a corpse, a detective and some clues. Robinson creates a complete world with three-dimensional characters who come alive for the reader. In "A Dedicated Man," the shrewd and dogged Detective Chief Inspector Alan Banks investigates the death of Harry Steadman. Harry was a former university professor, a man with no enemies who studied local history for fun. Yet someone hated Harry enough to brutally murder him and dump his body in the Yorkshire dales. For quite a while, Banks is completely stymied. He questions Harry's widow and his small circle of friends, but Banks makes little progress. Only after relentless digging and after the death of a second victim does Banks come up with the solution to the crime. It turns out that Harry's life and those of his friends are not as straightforward and uncomplicated as they had at first seemed. What is wonderful about Robinson is that he makes police work look as tedious and difficult as it really is. It is clear that without relentless and time-consuming detective work on the part of Banks and his colleagues, they would solve few crimes. Robinson, along with Rendell and James, is a superb writer of novels that also happen to be first-rate mysteries.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2000
Fans of Peter Robinson's "Inspector Banks" mysteries will not be disappointed in "A Dedicated Man." The author presents us with another host of interesting characters, any of which could be the evil-doer. The most complex of all is Banks, and we are given more insights into his psyche and his home life. Robinson's wonderful descriptions of Yorkshire and its people make me feel as though I were there, having a pint in the local. This is a very good story that keeps you guessing to the very end why anyone would want to kill "The Dedicated Man." I highly recommend this to new readers of the Banks mysteries as well as to the already addicted reader.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon August 11, 2015
"A Dedicated Man," by Peter Robinson, is the second Inspector Banks novel. A former professor who has come into an inheritance, quit his job and moved to the Dales in order to pursue his interest in the industrial history of the area, has been found dead, and there is no shortage of suspects for Inspector Banks to consider. There's the man's mousy wife, who may not have wanted to make the move; there's the former folk singer who was unusually close to the much older man; there are local friends who might have reason to be jealous of the man. But it's the clues garnered by a second death that lead Banks to the true answer.... I'm enjoying discovering this series; I had heard about it for years but have only just starting reading it. I like the way Banks' professional and personal lives intersect, and I like all the recurring characters. Robinson plays fair with his readers, offering intrigue and honest clues, and so far I haven't been able to solve the mystery before his detective does, a good thing in a mystery series! Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon May 11, 2016
I'd rate this book a 3 -3 1/2 star read. The second in Robinson's Inspector Banks series, this was a slow moving almost old fashioned mystery. Set in the small Dales area of Swainsdale, Banks is called in to investigate the murder of a retired scholar, who appears to be liked by everyone and had no enemies. Trying to find out who wished the dead man ill, Banks slowly unfolds the real stories in the village and eventually discovers the real story and motive and killer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 16, 2015
Excellent story, really enjoyed it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2016
Brilliant work (as always)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2001
Second books are often a bit like second musical albums after big debuts. Good, but somehow lacking the magic of the first effort. That's how I feel about "A Dedicated Man". I really debated between giving it three or four stars.
It easily earns three stars as an least average British police procedural. The writing is competent. The clues (or lack thereof) all make sense in in the end. It gets another half star for its many thoughtful observations of the Yorkshire environment - both the landscape and the mentality of the people. I'm pretty much rounding up the score after that. I like Banks and plan to keep reading the series which has received considerable praise in recent years. Still, I haven't found anything so fascinating that I'm going to recommending the book or series to friends---yet.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2007
This was my first Inspector Banks book and I was really let down. I got
tired of the trips to the pub, the landscape and also Banks trying to
continually light his pipe!!!! The characters were O.K. but not really
too interesting and by the end I was skipping pages. I will try another
one and hope for better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2016
great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse