Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rich, beautiful, engaging
This rich novel--the first in a trilogy--brings us to the plains of the Ganges during the beginnings of the Opium war, where the lives of a series of fascinating and diverse characters intersect: a wealthy, well-educated Raja, a young widow who grows poppies on a small plot of land, a British businessman who trades in opium, an American sailor, a group of culturally...
Published on Feb. 10 2009 by M. Richardson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed feelings
The story is interesting but the indian expressions are not understood by most readers so it makes for annoying reading,
Published 4 months ago by Joan Page


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rich, beautiful, engaging, Feb. 10 2009
By 
M. Richardson (Quebec, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sea of Poppies (Hardcover)
This rich novel--the first in a trilogy--brings us to the plains of the Ganges during the beginnings of the Opium war, where the lives of a series of fascinating and diverse characters intersect: a wealthy, well-educated Raja, a young widow who grows poppies on a small plot of land, a British businessman who trades in opium, an American sailor, a group of culturally diverse and linguistically challenging sailors from around the Indian Ocean, a young French woman who grew up in India with her botanist father, a foul-mouthed and envious first-mate, and many many more. Ghosh invites us on a journey in time, in place, in language, and true to his previous works, it is so rich in detail, so convincing, so engaging that one truly feels they have been transported into another world. The reader, however, has to accept his proposal of entering into another culture (the culture of the trading ships in particular) and, similar to a journey to a foreign land, to not always understand the details of what is being said or done, but instead gather clues from the rest of the action and atmosphere. What is as much a tour de force--though so subtle as to be remarked only by those with a predisposition to thinking about such issues--is the way he evokes through his characters themes such as habitus, embodiment, identity and other concepts dear to anthropologists. As his characters migrate, change caste, fall or rise in social status and are generally confronted with sometimes radical shifts in their circumstances, they must also adapt their habits, diet, language, clothing, social interactions, perception of skin colour, and indeed their names. It must be emphasized, however, that Ghosh never is didactic (unlike some authors). Instead, the sheer beauty of his writing, the fascinating characters, the fast-paced action and more, all carry the reader on a wave that transports us from the poppy fields of Ghazipur, down the Ganges, and into the Indian Ocean through the lives of a group of people up-rooted by circumstance and thrown together on an old slave ship. Having read The Hungry Tide and The Glass Palace, this novel is no less engaging, probably more, and once again witnesses to Ghosh's monumental talent as a constantly-inventive writer and story-teller. There could be much more to say: his talent with different ways of speaking, different accents and dialects; his impeccable historical research, his sense of place, his amazingly rich vocabulary... but see for yourself. I am only glad that Sea of Poppies will have a sequel so I see where this wave will carry the ship and its passengers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed feelings, May 3 2014
By 
Joan Page "1400" (Trois-Rivières, QC, CANADA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The story is interesting but the indian expressions are not understood by most readers so it makes for annoying reading,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars For the most part I enjoyed this book, April 5 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
At times difficult to read because of the patois and Hindi slang, really loved the story until the end which seemed to bog down at times. Well written generally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars sea of poppies, March 9 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sea of Poppies (Paperback)
This book does not fall under a regular classification. The style of writing belongs to a culture other than Western or English. The main character (if there is one) belongs to a genre that is quite foreign to the Westernized reader. Although the grammar is faultless, the style resembles western prose. I bought this book and it was a waste of time and money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rollicking read, April 2 2009
By 
Len (Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sea of Poppies (Hardcover)
I was surprised by the novel's Indian setting however, after reading, it makes perfect sense. Much of the opium exported by the British Empire originated from India. The characters include a mulatto sailor, a wealthy Indian land owner, a British sea merchant specializing, an Indian serf and her cart driving lover, a daughter of a famous British botanist and a Chinese opium addict of mixed race origins. It takes Mr. Ghosh quite a number of pages to introduce all his characters. The novel begins with the frantic fight for survival aboard an old slave ship, the "Ibis", as it makes its way from the Atlantic to the Indian Ocean where it will begin new duties unknown to the occupants. Then comes the introduction of our East Asian cast of characters. I wondered about the number of characters and the detailed description however, they all come together on the ship where our story began. I found the book almost impossible to put down for the last hundred pages and then he ends with a hook that would rival any episode on television meant to bring me back for the next season. I cannot wait for the next installment to be published.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A talented reader reads a talented writer, June 16 2009
By 
I will not cover the book itself, I'll just add that it is as good as the other reviews say it is: fun, fascinating and very engaging. I just wanted to add my review of the audio book as read by Phil Gigante.

Often times a great audio book can be spoiled by a terrible reader, but in this case, I believe Mr. Gigante, adds greatly to what already is a a feast for the imagination. His great voice and clear diction makes it a fun listen, especially considering how much of the text is non-english. He brings the characters to life with care and attention and is able to remain in character through out the book. This is an A+ effort and I highly recommend it as a fun bit of historical escapism. I'm glad I had a chance to hear it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pure reading pleasure, Oct. 3 2010
This review is from: Sea of Poppies (Paperback)
Reading the Sea of Poppies is like watching numerous threads being unspooled, each of a different colour and composition. To picture these varied strands being interwoven into one unified tapestry seems impossible at first. As I read on I realized it is possible but only in hands as skillful and deft as Mr. Ghoshs. He takes the lives of vastly diverse people and binds them together irrevocably and in so singular a manner that you, as a reader, are led to believe that it could happen in no other way. The epic scope would seem daunting to the most gifted of writers but Mr. Ghosh not only does justice to the saga but raises it to heights that few other novels have climbed. Brilliant!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sea of Poppies
Sea of Poppies by Amitav Ghosh (Paperback - Oct. 6 2009)
CDN$ 20.00 CDN$ 14.44
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews