summer boutiques-francophones Learn more snsflyout Pets All-New Kindle sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars12
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$14.83+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 18, 2016
Ghosh's trilogy is the most compelling, engrossing thing I have read in ages. It is demanding -- structurally, dramatically, linguistically -- and it is all true. Ghosh may have displaced Pynchon as my favourite contemporary author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2015
very difficult to read. don't think I could read 3 books with the language style or would want to. going elsewhere for adventure series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2015
The use of the pijun english was contrived and added little to the story - which was contrived and unbelievable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 19, 2015
An absolute pleasure to read and this is now my favourite book of all time. The prose flows beautifully and the story is imaginative and touching. Looking forward to reading the other books in the Ibis trilogy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2015
One of the best books I've read in a very long time. Great depth of research behind it too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2014
The story is interesting but the indian expressions are not understood by most readers so it makes for annoying reading,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2014
At times difficult to read because of the patois and Hindi slang, really loved the story until the end which seemed to bog down at times. Well written generally.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2014
This book does not fall under a regular classification. The style of writing belongs to a culture other than Western or English. The main character (if there is one) belongs to a genre that is quite foreign to the Westernized reader. Although the grammar is faultless, the style resembles western prose. I bought this book and it was a waste of time and money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2010
Reading the Sea of Poppies is like watching numerous threads being unspooled, each of a different colour and composition. To picture these varied strands being interwoven into one unified tapestry seems impossible at first. As I read on I realized it is possible but only in hands as skillful and deft as Mr. Ghoshs. He takes the lives of vastly diverse people and binds them together irrevocably and in so singular a manner that you, as a reader, are led to believe that it could happen in no other way. The epic scope would seem daunting to the most gifted of writers but Mr. Ghosh not only does justice to the saga but raises it to heights that few other novels have climbed. Brilliant!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2009
I will not cover the book itself, I'll just add that it is as good as the other reviews say it is: fun, fascinating and very engaging. I just wanted to add my review of the audio book as read by Phil Gigante.

Often times a great audio book can be spoiled by a terrible reader, but in this case, I believe Mr. Gigante, adds greatly to what already is a a feast for the imagination. His great voice and clear diction makes it a fun listen, especially considering how much of the text is non-english. He brings the characters to life with care and attention and is able to remain in character through out the book. This is an A+ effort and I highly recommend it as a fun bit of historical escapism. I'm glad I had a chance to hear it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items