Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Had me laughing out loud
I enjoyed this book verymuch. Being a regular listener of the radio program "Wire Tap" on CBC with Jonathan Goldstein has made me very familiar with his brand of humour. I enjoy and look forward to the funny, very human, silly and sometimes thought provoking comedic style.
The book stays true to this style. It is not to be taken seriously, but I think might be in...
Published on July 12 2009 by Silvia Spiewak

versus
2 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pathetic
The book is tasteless, shallow, and immature. A commercial rip-off.
For a really funny satire of the Bible, see Pierre Leon's THE FOOT OF GOD.
P.S.
Published on Oct. 31 2009 by Peter Seyffert


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Had me laughing out loud, July 12 2009
By 
Silvia Spiewak "S. Spiewak" (Innisfil, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ladies And Gentlemen, The Bible! (Paperback)
I enjoyed this book verymuch. Being a regular listener of the radio program "Wire Tap" on CBC with Jonathan Goldstein has made me very familiar with his brand of humour. I enjoy and look forward to the funny, very human, silly and sometimes thought provoking comedic style.
The book stays true to this style. It is not to be taken seriously, but I think might be in part meant to inspire a little humour and add an imaginative human touch (peppered with plenty of character flaws) to the almost super-human heroes of the Bible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very refreshing, July 9 2010
By 
M. Forest - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ladies And Gentlemen, The Bible! (Paperback)
J. Goldstein's humor style is emotional, cerebral, sophisticated, and often plain hilarious. I truly admire anything he comes up with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars clever and so so funny!, April 16 2010
By 
Zendegy (chelmsford, ma, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ladies And Gentlemen, The Bible! (Paperback)
Jonathan Goldstein's retelling of the bible is a hoot. His Adam and Eve are as real as your Aunt Eva and Uncle Al, only a thousand times funnier. The only thing that could make this book funnier is if he would do an audio version, because his sort of whiny delivery is just so perfectly suited to his material.
I can't recommend the book highly enough. As long as you aren't sensitive about irreverence, you will find this book
well worth the price of admission.
You may then want to check out his excellent show on CBC radio, Wiretap (also available online).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining read., July 21 2009
By 
This review is from: Ladies And Gentlemen, The Bible! (Paperback)
This book was exactly as advertised: a punched-up and funny rendition of tales from the Old Testament. I've heard some of these stories on CBC Radio 1's "Wiretap" in the past, and was delighted to hear that they would be included, uncensored, in this collection. It's a great read for both the religious and non.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Nice Light Read, Aug. 7 2011
This review is from: Ladies And Gentlemen, The Bible! (Paperback)
This made for some nice, light summer reading. Great book for at the beach, or camping. There is very large print throughout, and it's easy to put down and pick up again. Very funny. If you enjoy Wiretap, you will love this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pathetic, Oct. 31 2009
By 
This review is from: Ladies And Gentlemen, The Bible! (Paperback)
The book is tasteless, shallow, and immature. A commercial rip-off.
For a really funny satire of the Bible, see Pierre Leon's THE FOOT OF GOD.
P.S.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ladies and gentlemen the bible, May 27 2009
By 
Leslie Lorinczi (Kamloops Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ladies And Gentlemen, The Bible! (Paperback)
I expected a satirical book full with humor about the Bible and having
a joyful time to read it.
Unfortunately the book is rather very naive missing any humor. It has some profanity without humor. As a matter of fact it is strange, because the Bible has many stories they have room to be humorous and amusing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xacac266c)

This product

Ladies And Gentlemen, The Bible!
Ladies And Gentlemen, The Bible! by Jonathan Goldstein (Paperback - March 31 2009)
CDN$ 24.00 CDN$ 17.33
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews