march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage snsflyout Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store sports Tools Family

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars97
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$13.96+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 24, 2016
A gritty, haunting tale of two First Nations young men who go to the battlefields of WWI. Aside from the pretty needless sex scenes in the book that seem either forced or unnecessary, the book is fantastic. The downward spiral of the brother who scalps the German soldiers is unforgettably dark. A pleasant surprise, and a beautiful tale of the healing of one's body and soul after years of darkness. Really enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2016
Wife says good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2016
Xavier Bird, and his friend Elijah Whiskeyjack, from the James Bay area of northern Ontario, are soldiers and snipers fighting in the trenches of WWI. At the opening of the book, Elijah has been killed, and Xavier is wounded and addicted to morphine, and has been sent home. He is met at the train station by his aunt Niska, one of the last Cree still living the traditional life, who has come to take Xavier home via a three-day canoe trip.

I chose to read this book because my writing teachers presented examples of especially gripping opening chapters. I was so sucked in by just the first two pages that I had to find out where the story went. I was not disappointed. This is not a story you read - it is a story you experience.

The author deftly weaves three distinct storylines - the current story of the trip home, Xavier's experiences in Europe, and Niska's early life. I found myself equally drawn to Niska's evolving spiritual power, and to Xavier's parallel coming of age.

The title, "Three Day Road," refers to both the canoe trip home, and also to the Cree journey after death. As I watched Xavier battle his inner demons, it kept me in suspense until the very end, wondering which three day road he was travelling.

Storytelling at it's finest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2016
Great story. I've passed the book around to other readers. Everyone really loved the story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2016
I enjoyed the pacing and storytelling aspects of this book. The horrors of war were blended with a perspective on the natural and spiritual realms.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2016
good condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2016
A great read for those who are interested in Trench Warfare as experienced by forefathers in First World War . And for those interested in Native " Indian " remarkable contribution . There were other groups who had reputations such as my Father recounted of Gurkas who were known as "The Ladies from Hell " , a fearless bunch .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2016
YOU CAN'T BEAT JOSEPH BOYDEN. A WONDERFUL STORY.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2016
Great story, highly recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2015
Great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$15.09