countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more scflyout Home All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
101
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$12.67+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 23, 2016
Wonderful read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2016
Almost as good as The Orenda!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 4, 2016
Niska is a traditional medicine woman, a mix of Cree and Ojibway. She's been taught divining and traditional medicine by her mother and father, has seizures and sees visions. She's also the destroyer of windigo, an evil presence that sometimes takes possession of humans, a role she has inherited through the generations.

Niska is a "bush Indian", living alone in the wilderness of northern Ontario. She is coming by canoe to a small town to meet Xavier, her nephew and last remaining relative. She raised him in the traditional ways until WW I broke out and he and his friend Elijah enlisted in the Canadian Army and were sent to France.

Xavier and Elijah have used their hunting skills to become an outstanding snipers. In France they hunted men instead of game. It changed them.

Xavier arrives home a deeply troubled young man, his leg has been amputated at the knee, he's addicted to the painkiller morphine.

Niska meets him and so begins their journey back into the wilderness, back to sanity, back to healing.

Author Joseph Boyden uses these two main characters to tell the story. Xavier floats on a morphine high and remembers the trenches, the bombardments, the death of comrades, the calculated killing of the enemy one by one as a sniper.

In an effort to draw him out of his personal hell Niska talks to him of her early life, of her parents, of how she came to raise him, of the windigo.

Three Day Road is a moving story of love and sacrifice, of friendship and loyalty, of the horror of war and the pointlessness of it.

Immaculately researched, powerfully written, this is a story that will haunt, inspire, entertain and stay with you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2016
Favourite current author. Captivating.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2016
A gritty, haunting tale of two First Nations young men who go to the battlefields of WWI. Aside from the pretty needless sex scenes in the book that seem either forced or unnecessary, the book is fantastic. The downward spiral of the brother who scalps the German soldiers is unforgettably dark. A pleasant surprise, and a beautiful tale of the healing of one's body and soul after years of darkness. Really enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2016
Wife says good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2016
Xavier Bird, and his friend Elijah Whiskeyjack, from the James Bay area of northern Ontario, are soldiers and snipers fighting in the trenches of WWI. At the opening of the book, Elijah has been killed, and Xavier is wounded and addicted to morphine, and has been sent home. He is met at the train station by his aunt Niska, one of the last Cree still living the traditional life, who has come to take Xavier home via a three-day canoe trip.

I chose to read this book because my writing teachers presented examples of especially gripping opening chapters. I was so sucked in by just the first two pages that I had to find out where the story went. I was not disappointed. This is not a story you read - it is a story you experience.

The author deftly weaves three distinct storylines - the current story of the trip home, Xavier's experiences in Europe, and Niska's early life. I found myself equally drawn to Niska's evolving spiritual power, and to Xavier's parallel coming of age.

The title, "Three Day Road," refers to both the canoe trip home, and also to the Cree journey after death. As I watched Xavier battle his inner demons, it kept me in suspense until the very end, wondering which three day road he was travelling.

Storytelling at it's finest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2016
Great story. I've passed the book around to other readers. Everyone really loved the story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2016
I enjoyed the pacing and storytelling aspects of this book. The horrors of war were blended with a perspective on the natural and spiritual realms.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2016
good condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse