Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Close and personal
Linking Cree hunting stories with World War I frontline accounts would seem an odd undertaking, to say the least. The wild Canadian North with its harsh yet beautiful landscape and tough living conditions for those surviving off the land is a far cry – physically and spiritually – from the trenches and the killing fields of Ypres and the Somme. Yet, Boyden...
Published on Aug. 6 2006 by Friederike Knabe

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars I like fiction to be believable
I tried to like it, but couldn't. With the exception of one great line about the aunts alienation, it was impossible for me to believe any part of it. Specially the initial sex scene straight from Penthouse Forum.
Published 19 hours ago by A. Neil Meili


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vivid images of Ontario's north - and WW1 in France, Dec 12 2010
By 
This review is from: Three Day Road (Paperback)
Having a cottage north of Algonquin Park - the scenes described in the canoe trip over the three day's travel, aptly describe the rivers, rocks, trees, and wildlife. My grandfather was a sniper in World War One and our family has a large Canadian penny with a bend in the centre where the penny in his shirt pocket had saved his life. I know he had lived in trenches, and crawled through fields...but not much was described to any of us. Written in short chapters, it is quite a tale of courage and will. Sandra
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow...., April 18 2006
By 
Marie Gagnon (Quebec, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Three Day Road (Paperback)
Amazon.ca and other reviewers have accurately summarized the book. What they have not done is describe the pleasure I had reading it, which you may only find out by reading it yourself. This novel has a gripping story, solidly developed characters, spirituality, moral dilemmas... what else could I add? Maybe that I rarely give five stars in a review: a book I simply enjoy usually gets four. In MY book, five stars means exceptional. This one is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars I like fiction to be believable, July 29 2014
By 
A. Neil Meili "ZenCowboyPoet" (AUSTIN, TX) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Three Day Road (Paperback)
I tried to like it, but couldn't. With the exception of one great line about the aunts alienation, it was impossible for me to believe any part of it. Specially the initial sex scene straight from Penthouse Forum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Native perpectives on WW1, June 26 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Three Day Road (Kindle Edition)
A well written extremely informative page turner regarding evil, human spirit and war with with food for thought regarding the surprise ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A singularly great novel, June 15 2014
By 
Lorina Stephens (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Three Day Road (Paperback)
An astonishing novel. An even more astonishing first novel. There can be no disputing Joseph Boyden is not only an accomplished story-teller, but a significant Canadian voice in the 21st century.

Three Day Road, drawn from real people and real history, is an impeccably researched, and skilfully wrought tale of two Cree soldiers who fight in the nightmare of WWI. It is a story about the terror of residential schools, the descent into madness, and the arduous journey back to peace of mind and body.

A singularly great novel and great read. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Loved this book, May 8 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Three Day Road (Paperback)
I will likely read again. Based on the experience of a native Canadian soldier during the Great War as told from his point of view and his aunt who raised him according to the traditional ways. Highly recommend this Canadian author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Three Day Road, April 28 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Three Day Road (Paperback)
Very fine novel. One of the top dealing with Canadian involvement in 1914-18 war. It comes close in quality to Boyden's "The Orenda" which has won multiple awards. Particularly important in showing native Indian role in the war
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best book, March 21 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Three Day Road (Paperback)
This is one of the best books I have ever read. It's absolutely beautiful. Read it and share it around
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Three Day Road, March 18 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Three Day Road (Paperback)
Excellent book - a good portrayal of the horrors of the trenches with a different slant. I found some parts a bit long and drawn out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars three day road, March 12 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Three Day Road (Paperback)
excellent book. I so enjoyed it, passed it on to my brother who is not known for his tolerance of other ethnic backgrounds and he too really enjoyed it. it could help him in his intolerance of other people. here's hoping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Three Day Road
Three Day Road by Joseph Boyden (Paperback - May 6 2008)
CDN$ 20.00 CDN$ 14.44
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews