Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Close and personal
Linking Cree hunting stories with World War I frontline accounts would seem an odd undertaking, to say the least. The wild Canadian North with its harsh yet beautiful landscape and tough living conditions for those surviving off the land is a far cry – physically and spiritually – from the trenches and the killing fields of Ypres and the Somme. Yet, Boyden...
Published on Aug. 6 2006 by Friederike Knabe

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I like fiction to be believable
I tried to like it, but couldn't. With the exception of one great line about the aunts alienation, it was impossible for me to believe any part of it. Specially the initial sex scene straight from Penthouse Forum.
Published 21 days ago by A. Neil Meili


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, May 5 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Three Day Road (Kindle Edition)
A powerful narrative, filled with the complexities of cultural identity and the meaning of home, the psychological consequences of war on the individual, and the boundaries of brotherhood. This is historical fiction at its very best, skillfully drawing on accounts of Great War history in the field to recount the experiences of two Cree friends who join the Canadian army as volunteers. What sets this book above others is the way the writer positions the wartime experiences in France alongside a very different set of experiences, narrated by a First Nations woman living in the bush near Moose Factory, Ontario. In the end, 'Three Day Road' is a beautiful story of human survival in the face of unimaginable change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great read, Feb. 3 2011
Ce commentaire est de: Three Day Road (Paperback)
historical fiction at its finest, told in a first nations traditional sense of storytelling. Well worth the read. I am not usually a fiction reader, but from the time i picked it up I had a hard time putting it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A singularly great novel, June 15 2014
By 
Lorina Stephens (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Ce commentaire est de: Three Day Road (Paperback)
An astonishing novel. An even more astonishing first novel. There can be no disputing Joseph Boyden is not only an accomplished story-teller, but a significant Canadian voice in the 21st century.

Three Day Road, drawn from real people and real history, is an impeccably researched, and skilfully wrought tale of two Cree soldiers who fight in the nightmare of WWI. It is a story about the terror of residential schools, the descent into madness, and the arduous journey back to peace of mind and body.

A singularly great novel and great read. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic!, April 27 2012
By 
C. Kalangis (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Three Day Road (Paperback)
A beautiful gut wrenching journey that just touches you on all levels. The lives of the native people as seen through these lenses is a pure and emotional experience, when the book ends you truly feel as if you not only know and love these people and have watched these lives unfold with them. The style feels as if you are sitting with wise story tellers as they give you these lives from a view never before seen. Just beautiful! This book should be required reading in schools, it demonstrates so many facets of Canada in the First World War in such a beautiful way that one can't help but be moved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully Written, Jan. 7 2011
By 
Novel Girl (Alberta,Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Three Day Road (Hardcover)
This book is everything previous reviewers noted and more. There is no way to add to any review that has not already been said.
Having had this book in my collection since 2006, and only finally reading it now, I feel deprived that I had not read it sooner to experience Joseph's beautiful writing style.
A fascinating, educating and compelling read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, Horrific and Engaging Novel, Feb. 9 2007
By 
momo_adachi (Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Three Day Road (Paperback)
This is Boyden's first book, but hopefully not his last. Boyden has a gift; a gift of placing the reader in a setting so horrific, it follows the "train wreck" pattern; it is disgusting and rich, so rich it is difficult to turn away. Boyden not only describes the sights of war, but the sounds, the smells, the tastes, so that we not only see this war, but experience it in its grotesque, vivid entirety. The war scenes in "Three Day Road" are so engaging, the book is difficult to put down, regardless of the fact that the killing, rotting bodies, fear, disgust and psychology add to the general awfulness of the atmosphere.

In addition to the war, Boyden gives the reader an honest portray of aboriginal life in early 20th century Canada. With dispicable details about the residential schools, and the effect of greed, money and alcohol on the aboriginal people. These issues are controversial and a dark spot on Canada's history, but Boyden exposes it for us, a new generation of reader and learner.

With likeable protagonists, great storytelling, strange and horrific images and brilliant tone, Boyden's "Three Day Road" is an amazing, accurate and ballsy novel that is sure to provoke any reader. This is probably one of the best books I've ever read, and I'm not a war buff, nor do I typically enjoy novels about historical events. Just fantastic on so many levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Three Day Road, April 28 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Three Day Road (Paperback)
Very fine novel. One of the top dealing with Canadian involvement in 1914-18 war. It comes close in quality to Boyden's "The Orenda" which has won multiple awards. Particularly important in showing native Indian role in the war
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars three day road, March 12 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Three Day Road (Paperback)
excellent book. I so enjoyed it, passed it on to my brother who is not known for his tolerance of other ethnic backgrounds and he too really enjoyed it. it could help him in his intolerance of other people. here's hoping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vivid images of Ontario's north - and WW1 in France, Dec 12 2010
By 
Ce commentaire est de: Three Day Road (Paperback)
Having a cottage north of Algonquin Park - the scenes described in the canoe trip over the three day's travel, aptly describe the rivers, rocks, trees, and wildlife. My grandfather was a sniper in World War One and our family has a large Canadian penny with a bend in the centre where the penny in his shirt pocket had saved his life. I know he had lived in trenches, and crawled through fields...but not much was described to any of us. Written in short chapters, it is quite a tale of courage and will. Sandra
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The voice of the unheard becomes heard, Jan. 2 2006
Ce commentaire est de: Three Day Road (Hardcover)
While the echoes of the canons of WWI fade into history, sadly the stories of the veterans disappear also. What Boyden accomplished in this work, is to bring to life the narrative of a much too often neglected aspect of our history, the role of Native veterans in Canada's wars. This is an important topic to address, and Boyden does this with eloquence and grace. Perhaps, Boyden's greatest accomplishment is by highlighting the role of Native women in society. This book should become a mandatory read for all inhabitants of Turtle Island (North America).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Three Day Road
Three Day Road by Joseph Boyden (Paperback - May 6 2008)
CDN$ 20.00 CDN$ 14.44
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews