Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating look into a by gone era
This memoir reads like fiction but it is a wonderful real life journey back into the past to see a very hard time in history. The conditions that the people lived in and the midwives worked in was horrendous, but the sense of community was a live and well and they all rallied together. The stories of the births of precious little babies whether it be the mothers first...
Published 15 months ago by Jones

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not Great
Not the read I thought it was going to be. A bit flat really. Somehow, in spite of the subject matter, there was little of interest.
Published 3 days ago by Wolfshead


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating look into a by gone era, Jan. 12 2013
This review is from: Call the Midwife: A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard Times (Paperback)
This memoir reads like fiction but it is a wonderful real life journey back into the past to see a very hard time in history. The conditions that the people lived in and the midwives worked in was horrendous, but the sense of community was a live and well and they all rallied together. The stories of the births of precious little babies whether it be the mothers first or her twenty fourth were all wonderfully captured in this book. The joy, heartbreak and everything in between is captured here and will live with you long after you finish this volume. I highly recommend you set aside at least a weekend to read this as once you start you will not want to put it down!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars culture, April 5 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was a very interesting book. I did not realize that the conditions such as these existed in Britain existed so recently. The Cockneys were an interesting Demi culture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Call the midwife, March 28 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Call the Midwife: A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard Times (Paperback)
I am in love with this book. Fun to read, humorous, fascinating, full of history of London, medicine and nursing.I have worked in maternity in hospitals in the past and now I work as a home care nurse, the equivalent of district nurses, we dont do home births but visit homes for wound care and palliative care some of which are in very similar conditions nurse Lee describes. I watched the TV series and really enjoyed it but the book brought to life the situations and the characters and filled in the story much better than the show did. I think the casting of the show was perfect though. You dont have to be a nurse to enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly inspiring book, June 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Call the Midwife: A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard Times (Paperback)
This is a remarkable book (and series). It puts us "inside" a young woman's journey through suffering and poverty to hope and faith. The books and the television series are refreshingly different form the usual narratives. They are shockingly inspirational. Mary Jo Leddy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great read., May 1 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Call the Midwife: A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard Times (Paperback)
This is the third book in the trilogy. I had read the first and second book and also watched the show on TV. I enjoyed this book as much as the first two and am going to send them on to a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loving this book., April 26 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Call the Midwife: A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard Times (Paperback)
I usually try to read the book or books before I see it at the movies or on television but in this case I saw the television series first. In a way in this case it probably was best I saw the tv version first as I can put a face and a voice to the characters in the book. I just started reading the book a couple of days ago and it's so interesting and at times funny that I just cannot put it down. The author really has done an amazing job on this book. You feel like you are living in the east end of London in the 1950's. What I really thought was a great addition in the book is how in the appendix it explains some of the medical terms used throughout the book. It also explains some of the cockney terms which was great as many terms were unfamiliar to me. I'm so glad that I purchased all 3 books as I know they are going to be a great read. There are so many things I could say about how awesome this book is but I think you should just go ahead and read it. You will love it. As per usually it was super fast shipping and great value from Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not Great, April 14 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Not the read I thought it was going to be. A bit flat really. Somehow, in spite of the subject matter, there was little of interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars really worth reading, March 14 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Call the Midwife: A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard Times (Paperback)
i first saw this on public tv and enjoyed it . Really wanted to read the books and was NOT disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, Jan. 3 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It was a wonderful book with a great story line, could not put it down. Can't wait to read the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, Dec 18 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I loved reading the stories about the midwives in England in the 50s. Anyone who watches then series will like this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb150f3e4)

This product

Call the Midwife: A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard Times
Call the Midwife: A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard Times by Jennifer Worth (Paperback - Sept. 4 2012)
CDN$ 17.00 CDN$ 12.27
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews