Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best one yet! Lots of Jean-Claude!!
It is official that I'm addicted to this series. I've even neglected the Merry Gentry series, Laurell K. Hamilton's faerie novels, which I started reading before the Anita Blake one. This is my favorite one to date. This series just keeps getting better and better! And the best part is that there is a lot of Jean-Claude in this one. The most I'd read him was in Circus of...
Published on June 30 2004 by CoffeeGurl

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Bummer...This one isn't as good as the others...
Well, let me get right to the point. I've thoroughly enjoyed all of the previous books in this series up until now. While this book was good, it lacked "something" that the others had. As a result, I didn't enjoy it as much.
Don't get me wrong, it's still good, but the story seemed to drag on a tad longer than it had to. In fact, at the very end, I...
Published on May 3 2000 by LadyT


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best one yet! Lots of Jean-Claude!!, June 30 2004
It is official that I'm addicted to this series. I've even neglected the Merry Gentry series, Laurell K. Hamilton's faerie novels, which I started reading before the Anita Blake one. This is my favorite one to date. This series just keeps getting better and better! And the best part is that there is a lot of Jean-Claude in this one. The most I'd read him was in Circus of the Damned, and there are only bits and pieces of him in the other three, but he plays a more prominent role here. Bloody Bones illustrates the most challenging monsters Anita has ever had to deal with. Teenagers have been slaughtered in a small city of Missouri. The culprit is a creature unlike anything Anita has ever seen. It is stronger than a vampire, more dangerous and immortal to the core. To make matters worse, she has to raise an entire graveyard of three-hundred-year-old corpses to determine the fate of the graveyard's rather lucrative land, which is owned by a family of immortal faeries. Anita suspects that the graveyard raisings and the murders are connected, and with the help of her friends she is determined to bring all of those involved down...
Bloody Bones, like its predecessors, is nonstop action from beginning to end. The suspense is incredible, the fast-paced plot riveting. But it's more than just the action and suspense that kept me glued to this book. I loved that I finally got to know Jean-Claude in a deeper level. We learn more about Jean-Claude's background and history in a rather sexy bubble bath scene. JC and Anita fans will love to know that there is some closeness between them in this offering -- a fleeting closeness, but an important one nevertheless. And the best part is that Anita's werewolf boyfriend Richard is not in the way. I loved it! Laurell K. Hamilton describes Jean-Claude's sensuality in such a way that he's almost tangible. He's definitely one of the sexiest characters I've read. I also got to read about some great characters that were back after some notable absence, like Larry. I also like werewolf Jason. Anyway, this is my favorite offering. As said earlier, this series keeps getting better and better. I cannot wait to read the next one. In the meantime, I recommend Bloody Bones most highly...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Way To Go Anita!!!, June 26 2004
By 
Louise (Copenhagen V, Denmark) - See all my reviews
The Anita Blake series just keeps getting better and better. And Jean-Claude, the Master Vampire of the City (St. Louis) is back in business. Anita has to leave her werewolf-boyfriend Richard and her vampire-boyfriend Jean-Claude (In a previous novel she agreed to date both of them to find out who she wants (to have sex with)) back in St. Louis, when she is asked to travel to another part the country and raise a whole cemetery. A builder wants to use some land, but a local family is agaist him, because they say that the old cemetery beneath the ground is their family-burial ground. Anita has to raise the dead and ask them exactly what their family relations are. All is well, until something starts killing young boys in the woods, and a teenage girl dies from a vampire bite in her room. Anita has to look into a lot of stuff, being helped by her assistant, vampire-hunter-in-spe Larry. She is away from her usual turf, and the police in this part of the country are not too happy about the famous vampire-hunter doing what they think is their job. Anita has to call for help, and the only one who can help her is Jean-Claude, the gorgeous vampire who wants Anita as his lover and human servant. Anita has resisted him for a long time, and she is not so sure what she feels. There is a lot of drama, a lot of bad vampires and the fey are introduced in this book, which make for some new and exciting ways to cheat, do magic and much more.
Another triumph for Laurell K. Hamilton
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Bloody Good Time!, March 3 2003
In Bloody Bones, the fifth installment of the Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter series, Anita Blake becomes the busiest vampire executioner/zombie raiser in the world. Ok, she may be the ONLY vampire executioner/zombie raiser in the world, but still a busy one nonetheless. First, she is hired to raise an entire graveyard full of dead people nearly three centuries old. But on top of that, the police decide to include her in the investigation of the latest gruesome killings, of three young men. Gory details ensue, and soon Anita finds herself everywhere at once - everywhere dangerous. Oh, and did I also mention she has to contend with a very sexy Jean-Claude after she asks him for his help?
Of course, Laurell K. Hamilton does not stint on the blood and guts. I'm not real big on either one..., but I put up with all of the grotesque scenes because they are very crucial to the story. I think Laurell K. Hamilton has great ideas, and is very creative. Yes, I would prefer to have less gore, but I won't complain.
Unlike the book that came before this, 'The Lunatic Cafe', this is a real Anita/Jean-Claude book. They seem to be getting a little closer all of the time. There are a few scenes in this book between the two of them that are utterly priceless. This includes one []scene in a hotel room, and one life-saving scene. I have to say I like Jean-Claude a lot more than I do Richard, and I hope that Anita's relationship with him blossoms some more, and I hope we keep getting that wonderful []tension between them. I haven't been into a series this much since Janet Evanovich's Stephanie Plum books, but I almost think I'm liking these even more - Hamilton mixes romance, drama, comedy, suspense and horror beautifully, and makes her readers come back for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Anita Blake battles vampires and fairies, Aug. 29 2002
By 
Moe811 (New York USA) - See all my reviews
This book is a little bit of a departure from the previous. She is sent to a town outside of Branson, Mo., to investigate a possible vampire attack and finds much more. Coincidently, she was in the area on an assignment to raise a very old cemetery to solve a property dispute. A developer wants to build a resort and an old local family lays claim to the land. The own a restaurant and bar with the appetizing name of Bloody Bones. They also turn out to be fairies guarding the prison of an ancient and monstrous fairy named Rawhead and Bloody Bones who preys on children. Anita is busy, and the vampires in addition to the fey may be more than she can handle, so she asks for Jean Claude's help. The rogue vampires are causing all sorts of problems in the area, and the Bouvier family does not want Anita to raise the dead in their cemetery. Apparently, they are holding the monster in place.
This is a very quick moving and action packed addition to the series. Jean Claude is still proving himself as a Master of the City, and seems to really need Anita's help. Larry is really coming along as animator and vampire slayer, a very good addition to the cast of characters. The relationship between Anita and Jean Claude is also heating up nicely. All in all, a very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Anita gets back to her roots, May 20 2002
This installment of Anita Blake finds her focused on her primary job as an Animator. Anita is contracted for a raising of the dead to settle a property dispute in the Ozark mountains. While in the area, Anita is called in to advise on a preternatural killing. Unfortunately, the cop in charge is a woman with a chip on her shoulder the size of Alaska, and she does not want anyone interfering with her investigation.
To make matters worse, the age of the bodies is about another hundred years beyond what was advertised, the grave site has been wrecked by an earthmover, mixing up everyones bodyparts, the local bartenders are descendants of faries of the Unseelie court, the local master vampire has a few tricks up her sleeve, and there is something wandering the woods that can chop down trees with a single cut. Not a great situation to get thrown into. Fortunately, Anita has been thrown into tricky situations before, and she always comes loaded for bear. 'Bloody Bones' is a great book, and for Anita Blake fans, I can't recomend it enough. Also, Larry plays a major part in this book, and he is starting to mature into a capable vampire layer.
This book is not for the faint of heart (none of them are.) If you are new to Anita Blake, I recommend that you start with Guilty Pleasures, and read through the series, rather than jumping into the middle, as there are complex relationships that have been developed over time, and continue to develop in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't Be Better!!!, March 28 2002
By 
Laura "GhostGirl" (Cheltenham, Gloucestershire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I can't say how much I love the Anita Blake series!And this is my favourite!Anita gets a call from Richard's brother,telling her that Richard is in jail after being arrested for rape.She goes to see him,knowing he would never hurt anyone like that,and tries to find out who is really responsible.There is still alot of hurt between them,and jealousy,when Anita finds out what Richard has been doing while being away.They both realise they still need each other after some time,while fighting the vampires,and fighting for Richard's freedom.Meanwhile,Anita grows evermore powerful,not physically,but the"munin",the spirit of Raina,gives her almost magical powers,to heal,comfort and protect.Her relationship with the wereleopards becomes more intimate,and deeper,although at first she is wary of it.She has become like a mother to them,but because of Gabriel and Raina's power over them,they feel sex must be a part of it,which,as we know,Anita isn't comfortable with.I just loved Blue Moon,it's very exciting,tender and surprising.And Anita and Richard finally give in to their love and passion for each other!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulously Entertaining!, Feb. 18 2002
By 
"Bloody Bones" by Laurell K. Hamilton is the first Anita Blake novel I have ever read. Wow! This book gripped me from page one and held me captive until it was done - I just couldn't put it down. And while Hamilton's writing is not going to win her any awards, it is ultra entertaining and tons of thrilling fun!
Anita Blake, tough-as-nails necromancer and animator, is sent by her boss to do a job in Branson, Missouri. In order to settle a land dispute, Anita must raise a cemetery of 300-year-old zombies from a bulldozed field of jumbled bones. Anita is less than confident that she will be able to accomplish this, but due to her boss' inability to refuse a fat fee, she is going to give it a try.
However, Anita (and her trainee Larry) are interrupted from the task at hand when Anita is called in to help the police investigate the preternatural murders of three teenagers, killed in a way that even Anita has never seen before. The murders appear to have been committed by the first ever serial-killer vampire in history.
Anita is ostracized by the police investigating the case, and so must work alone as she tries to track down this rogue vampire. Anita soon realizes that she's in over her head, so she calls Jean-Claude, her boyfriend and Master Vampire of St. Louis. After Jean-Claude's arrival in Branson, things really start to heat up. The sexual tension between Jean-Claude and Anita is palpable, and Jean-Claude oozes with sensuality.
Anita and Jean-Claude seek out the local Master, Seraphina, to ask for her help in tracking down this rogue vampire. Seraphina was once Jean-Claude's equal in power, but when they meet her in her home, Anita and co. realize that they are in serious trouble. Seraphina has become immensely powerful, and desires Anita for herself. Anita and Jean-Claude are forced into an all-out war with Seraphina, and their chances of survival, much less triumph, are getting slimmer all the time!
Anita and Jean-Claude are two of the most compelling and intriguing characters I have ever encountered. Hamilton has created a weird and wild world of vampires, shape-shifters, and zombies, which readers can join anytime they pick up an Anita Blake book. Indeed, I feel that this is escapist reading at its best. Speaking for myself, during the hours I was absorbed in this book none of my worries or problems existed.
Hamilton writes in the first person, from Anita's point of view, which is a style I sometimes find awkward and distracting, but in this case it flows beautifully and works very well.
Overall, I highly recommend this book. "Bloody Bones" is filled with thrills, chills, passion and intrigue, and is exceptionally entertaining. So don't miss out on the fun - buy this book today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Even more character than the last, Aug. 24 2001
By 
Kathryn J. Lizee (Berea, KY United States) - See all my reviews
The one thing missing from this book was Richard, but, after Lunatic Cafe, he seems to be fading into the woodwork anyway. I found it very telling that she calls Jean Claude rather than Richard in this book when she is in trouble. I enjoyed this book too, because Larry, Anita's protege from previous novels returns and we get a bigger glimpse into HIS psyche. Anita and Larry develop a kind of big sis, little bro relationship that works well. He also serves as keeping her moral compass pointing straight. I loved the sexy scenes with Jean Claude here. Unfortunately, they don't last long. *BIG POUT!* There are hints that Jean Claude is...something more than just Master of the City. I can't wait to find out what. Also, we get a glimpse of Anita's power, as she discovers new, previously hidden talents. The most poignant thing in this book was the way Seraphina, the evil master vampire, used mind tricks on Anita to make Anita think she was her mother, who died years ago. That was so sad, and yet, it reminds you that we all see what we want to see. The book has *alot* of plots going on...and the time that goes between the zombie raising, the fairies and the police and the vampires is a bit much. I got confused as to who was doing what and when. But, thankfully, it ties up rather neatly by the end, still leaves you wanting to know more. I am already ready to read The Killing Dance because I'm now hooked on these books. They keep getting better and as Martha Stewart says, That is a good thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Grim Fairy Tale, July 14 2001
Bert, the owner of Animators Inc., and Anita Blake's nominal boss, is too greedy to refuse a fat fee. This time his compulsive avarice has got Anita in over her head. Her new client needs her to raise an entire graveyard of bones, many of which are over 300 years old. In addition, the client seems to have run a bulldozer through the remains - several times. Anita may be the only animator who is capable of accomplishing this, but even she is less than confident.
No sooner is she at the gravesite when Anita is called in to help investigate some gruesome killings. Deaths which appear to have been done by the first serial killer vampire on record, one who specializes in the young. In her efforts to prevent further deaths Anita manages to alienate both the local police and the FBI. She also discovers that the small country town of Branson is sheltering several people with fairy heritage, and that they are not happy about her efforts at raising the graveyard.
Realizing that she needs more help than Larry the apprentice animator, Anita decides to call in vampire Jean Claude. Unfortunately, Branson has it's own master vampire, Seraphina, who is much stronger than Jean Claude and will stop at nothing to take over the control of his own territory, St. Louis. In the process of trying to get information from Seraphina about the rogue vampire, Jean Claude and Anita are forced into an all out war with Seraphina and her powerful cohorts.
The suspense goes from intense to extreme as Anita has one confrontation after another with her clients, the Fae, master vampires, and creatures from legend. She, Jean Claude, Larry, and Jason the werewolf are badly overmatched in a struggle where no one can be trusted and nothing is what it seems to be. Laurell Hamilton has put together a truly gothic roller-coaster ride.
I am particularly fond of "Bloody Bones." Rather than perpetually introducing new cast members, Hamilton takes the time to dive deeper into characters the reader already knows from earlier volumes in the series. Even Bert gets a good bit of attention. This makes the characters come alive, and sets the stage for subsequent volumes where Anita has to deal directly with her problematic relationships with Jean Claude and alpha werewolf Richard Zeeman. If you are a Blake fan this is required reading. If you are new to the series I would suggest starting with an earlier volume in the series, although this volume still stands on its own
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bloody Bones, July 4 2001
By 
L4d "l4d" (San Antonio, TX United States) - See all my reviews
While Hamilton won't ever win any awards for her writing, in the technical sense, she is a great storyteller, and her characters are among the most vivid of any genre. Anita Blake is probably the strongest heroine I've ever read, and she continues to grow as the series progresses. Jean-Claude is the bad boy who is much more caring and vulnerable (emotionally) than he seems at first. By this time, Jean-Claude and Anita ought to be set in stone, almost predictable, but they're not. Even the secondary recurring characters have depth and are clearly defined: Jason, Bert, Edward, Larry, Ronnie. You feel like these are people you know.
While this book isn't the best of the series, dragging out far too long and wrapping up too tidily, the scene where Anita stays with Jean-Claude at dawn merits 20 stars. It is both heart-wrenching and horrifying, one of the most memorable scenes of the entire series.
One thing that bothers me about all of Hamilton's books: Tons of typos and other assorted errors. It's almost laughable at times, and distracting as hell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bloody Bones
Bloody Bones by Laurell K. Hamilton (Audio CD - Jan. 7 2010)
Used & New from: CDN$ 75.89
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews