Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Long running series
This series needs to be read in order otherwise you will not get the full effect of the characters and plot. I think that if I just picked this book up and read it I would not enjoy it...but because I've read all of the books in this series I did enjoy it. You could probably start at Blue Moon and get the feeling of this series though. This is not my favorite book in...
Published 18 months ago by Karlita

versus
25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tell me when the exciting part starts
Remember how in "Bullet," Laurell K. Hamilton set up a thrilling, exciting plotline... and then just stuffed it into a single "here's what we did" sentence in the last chapter?

Well, her twentieth Anita Blake: Vampire Hunter novel "Hit List" attempts to be what "Bullet" wasn't -- an edgy, gritty thriller about serial-killings by vampire spies. It's not...
Published on June 7 2011 by E. A Solinas


Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tell me when the exciting part starts, June 7 2011
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
Remember how in "Bullet," Laurell K. Hamilton set up a thrilling, exciting plotline... and then just stuffed it into a single "here's what we did" sentence in the last chapter?

Well, her twentieth Anita Blake: Vampire Hunter novel "Hit List" attempts to be what "Bullet" wasn't -- an edgy, gritty thriller about serial-killings by vampire spies. It's not. Hamilton has toned down the plotless sex, but it's replaced with an endless stream of really boring conversations, weapons porn, weretiger politics, and Anita waving her imaginary penis at her superiors.

Edward and Anita are called to Twilightland (aka the Pacific Northwest) to investigate a bunch of weretigers who are being killed, probably by the Harlequin. And after a bizarre fight breaks out at the local weretiger.... place, Anita realizes that the Mother Of All Darkness is scheming to steal Anita's body and make it her own. You know, the same dastardly plot as the last several books.

However, Anita's attempts to root out the Harlequin are foiled by a minor arm injury. So she drops the real federal marshals, and joins forces with Bernardo, Olaf, and some minor were-bodyguards. Can they finally stop talking long enough to catch the Harlequin? Will Anita pull a new magic power out of her butt to wrap up the worst-written subplot in the whole series?

"Hit List" is boring. Painfully boring. Hamilton has toned down the sex/politics considerably, but about 90% of this book is made up of dull, repetitive conversation. If you chopped out the subplots that go nowhere (Marshal Raborn) and the dialogue that adds nothing, the entire simplistic plot would be about thirty pages long.

And about halfway through the book, Hamilton gets bored with writing lots of human characters, so she sweeps them away and bring in the serial killers and "anime-haired" werethugs. The writing is Hamilton's usual hackneyed mixture of casual sexism, weapons porn ("Light anti-tank weapon." "It's a LAW"), and Anita posturing and posing as the Greatest of Experts and the Baddest Of Assassins.

The flimsy plot does become more exciting at the very end of the book, but it also becomes hilariously silly -- one of the bad guys randomly turns good, and Anita pulls another Deus Ex Machina power out of her butt.

As for Anita, she's typically horrible. When she isn't being arrogant and bossing people around, she's huddling in a corner crying because another marshal said something mean to her. Edward has transformed into a creepy pervert who is always trying to get Anita to feed the ardeur, even letting a strange weretiger crawl into bed naked with her WHILE SHE'S UNCONSCIOUS.

Even worse, Hamilton lays out plenty of groundwork for Anita to sleep with both Edward AND serial killer Olaf, and she adds yet another traumatized were to Anita's enormous harem. None of the other main characters make even a cameo appearance, so don't expect to see any favorites here.

"Hit List" is like swimming through sludge -- slow, boring, clammy and unpleasant. It's thankfully low on sexual content, but the endless posturing and boring conversations make it a chore to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Long running series, Feb. 16 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hit List (Mass Market Paperback)
This series needs to be read in order otherwise you will not get the full effect of the characters and plot. I think that if I just picked this book up and read it I would not enjoy it...but because I've read all of the books in this series I did enjoy it. You could probably start at Blue Moon and get the feeling of this series though. This is not my favorite book in the series but having to wait a year I'm just happy to being entertwined in the complex storline again. Some characters I have followed since the beginning and it is fun to see how they have evolved. Just a warning though this series can be violent and has some intense sex scenes. But if you like vampires and wereanimals this series has a good twist on them. I give this book a five because I like this series and perhaps you will too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Goodbye Anita Blake, Feb. 13 2013
By 
A. Soares - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
After waiting for books for a plot to re-emerge I can conclude my hopes are in vain. Anita Blake has gone from nearly a virgin to a succubus that will jump anything that moves (even if they are against the notion). I can say that after all this I will never waste my money (or time for that matter) on another Laurell K. Hamilton 'novel' again.

This book is boring, there is no plot and the never-ending sex scene is badly written. For S&M slanted erotica turn your interests to Anne Roquelaire's Sleeping Beauty trilogy instead.

Once a fan waiting in anticipation for each installment... now bitterly disappointed wishing the series could have ended on a high note (long long ago in a galaxy far far away)....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Too much Sex., Feb. 8 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I liked Laurell Hamilton's books but lately she's gotten too deeply into the sex. Seems like the book is 75% sex, 25% plot. That's boring. I won't be buying any more of her books - at least not until she gets back to what started me reading her stuff & leaaves the sex alone. If I wanted to read porn, I'd buy porn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Aren't We Done Yet? 2.5 stars, June 20 2011
Hit List by Laurell K Hamilton

Is this series nearly over after 20 books or will Ms Hamilton keep trying to push for more? It seems to me that Ms Hamilton may be getting somewhat tired of Anita and her Harem and it shows in the writing of this novel. In addition, if Laurell is tired at this point can you imagine just how her longtime fans feel? Luckily, this book is not as horrid as some of her previous attempts at writing action/erotica. It goes a long way in making up for the previous books that have so insulted her fans intelligence and hopefully Ms Hamilton may have finally given up on the assumption that we (her long-time fans) will stick with the series no matter how faulty the writing.
One of the biggest problems in this book is that there is a lot of repetition both in dialogue and in character types. Some dialogue and descriptions seem to be reproduced nearly word for word in the space of two chapters. It is as if Ms Hamilton is too tired to think of anything new to throw at Anita and Crew. Perhaps her beta readers and editor fell down on their jobs. Marshal Raborn seems to be a caricature or a regurgitation of Dolph. Dolph when he was at his worst. Remember the books in which he is angry and takes it out on Anita? I'm tired of these kinds of repetitive 'macho' men and Anita having to defend herself; as if Ms Hamilton really needs to remind us that Anita is MORE than just a sex object now. Oh wait'maybe she does?
One good thing about this book is that the excessive descriptions of long hair are missing since none of her 'sweeties' is in it, but we do get descriptions of 'anime' hair. Also missing are the ramblings of Anita discussing her wardrobe and the ever-popular lengthy dialogues and soliloquies just before she deigns to have sex with anyone. Amazingly, sex takes a backseat to the other goings on in this book. No sex until half way through the book!!!
But Anita's nearly constant need to size herself up against all the other women, to constantly be reminding us of how cute, curvy and large breasted she is, how desirable she is, is taking a major toll on this reader. It's annoying and makes me wonder just how insecure the author is in her own life.

Now for the ending and my thoughts-------------SPOILERS---------SPOILERS--------SPOILERS

So we have a conclusion to the Mother of All Darkness, but did we have an ending? Is this a true death of Marmee? On the other hand, will this be a red herring? Why did Ms Hamilton choose to end the 'Big Bad' but not the series? I'm annoyed that we've gone through twenty books with perhaps ten of them building up to this and then it being such a letdown. Although I do find it interesting that Olof/Otto is now going to be a lion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars it's getting long..., June 17 2011
Really appreciated having Edward in the story again but while reading Hit List, you're wondering if Hamilton hasn't created this many secondary characters just to have the opportunity to expand on them with each new book. The plot was very ordinary, there is nothing on the connection with Jean-Claude, Richard or the rest of the boys. At least Blake finds a replacement for Haven.
If it wasn't for the Olaf seed planted in the story, I would have thought this one to be the last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Borrow it from the library, Aug. 30 2011
By 
D. Paine (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It was a good book if you skip the porn. The book has Edward, Olaf, and Bernard in it. I recommend borrowing it from the library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Never Fear, Edward's Here!, July 7 2011
Getting Anita away from her huge and ever-expanding harem can only be a good thing and Edward was always the best element of this series. So this is better than most of the later Anita Blakes. But at the same time I found myself thinking that this would have been a better book if it had been a book that was a hundred pages shorter. At this point with Anita unquestionably the most powerful being in the world as of the climax of this book, I'm almost hoping that Edward comes after her. She's ripe. <sigh> Ah well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hit List
Hit List by Laurell K. Hamilton (Audio CD - June 7 2011)
CDN$ 46.00 CDN$ 28.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews