Customer Reviews


127 Reviews
5 star:
 (73)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


90 of 99 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best is last!
I read this book in french. It is the first part of a trilogy. This is not your "usual" thriller. The characters are very important and the author takes his time to present each one of them with the location in the first 100 pages. So the reader must not be impatient. The first book has a story in itself. The second book has the same main characters but the plot is...
Published on Sept. 14 2008 by Dragonfly

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Happy to be done this book!
I have been waiting a long time to read this book. Unfortunately I expected to be able to just pick it up and read it fairly quickly. This was however, not what happened. I hit a very hard brick wall upon opening it and starting to read. It was a horrendous fight to read this book all the way through. The author was so detailed in his descriptions to set the scene and get...
Published on Feb. 20 2012 by Tom Turvey


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Dark, Dec 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo (Mass Market Paperback)
This is a dark and gritty novel. Difficult to get into at first, it is definitely worth the read. Gripping and disturbing and well-written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So worth it!!!, Sept. 14 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It took me a while to get on board with this book but as they say good things come to those who wait. The first time I heard anyone talk about this book they said "give it 100 pages and you'll be hooked". Another person suggested that you had to read much more that that to really get into it. This sounded kinda awful to me but I gave it a chance and I'm so glad I did. This is one of the best books I have ever read. It stands on it's own pretty well but I highly recommend the reading the whole trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Needs a whole new category in crime fiction., Aug. 29 2013
By 
Robert T. Boyter (Toronto) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a little like what used to be called a Police Procedural, but it is a hybrid because the primary investigator is a journalist not a policeman. That said, he operates along side the police for Volumes 2 and 3, i.e. The Girl Who Played With Fire and The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet's Nest, which becomes a courtroom drama at the end. The three together are very satisfying, but the sense of what might have been had the remaining 7 hoped-for volumes is quite painful.

The first volume The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo is the journalists inquiry into the disappearance of a member of formerly prominent idustrialist's family. It is painstaking and clearly reveals just how difficult doing good research is, particularly long after the disappearance. It needs some patience though it resolves very well.

It introduces the glories of Lisbeth Salander, the very guarded, introverted computer researcher who appears also to have an eidetic (photographic) memory and to be exceptionally bright, and utterly fascinating as a character. Mikael Blomkvist is the journalist and is also a fascinating character, with a strict moral code, as has Salander, even if their codes aren't particularly congruent codes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mitt, Aug. 6 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
4 stars simply because it got me curious enough (barely) to read the next book, witch is the second best of the series. I believe this book to be an introduction to the characters of the series, nothing more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting, July 3 2013
I enjoyed this book. It was well written and kept me reading, probably much later than I should have been.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, June 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo (Mass Market Paperback)
Good read. Hard to follow all the characters. Really messed up story with lots of twists and gore. Made the movies make more sense for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this Series!, May 15 2013
By 
J. Hussey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo (Mass Market Paperback)
A captivating and thrilling start to what has become one of my favorite Trilogies! I 100% recommend this book to anyone. Wonderful characters, plot, etc!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Girl with the Dragon Tatoo: The Full Story, April 22 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The movie is excellent, but like any movie, all the details of the book cannot be portrayed. It is a fun exercise to see the movie and then read the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lisbeth Salander Rocks, March 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Wonderfully written, nail biting, keeps you wanting to read the next page, and the next...
Trilogy is one that will be read and talked about for many many moons. Thank you Stieg Larsson! RIP
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Part of the set, Feb. 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
this is the third book of the set i gavcve to my dad for xmas and he is enjoying them very uch thank you .
Veronica
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo
The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson (Mass Market Paperback - June 23 2009)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews