Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage SmartSaver Kitchen Kindle Black Friday Deals Week in Music SGG Countdown to Cyber Monday in Lawn & Garden

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars125
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 20 reviews(4 star).Show all reviews
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on June 13, 2010
For those addicted to Stieg Larsson's work, there is a bitter sweetness to reading this book. We know that this was the last, as his early death meant that here will be no more. Or will his long time partner finish the fourth manuscript, a work in progress when he died?
The Hornets Nest is a tad overlong. In Dickensian style it ties up many of the loose ends and (with sex volence and computer hacking) it brings the arc of Salander's story to a satisfying conclusion. But there are still some tantalising threads that I would love to see unravelled.. What about that twin?
Larsonnites can live in hope that, like Douglas Adams, there may be a fourth book in the trilogy.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on January 30, 2010
Part 3 started off a little slow in my opinion, but perhaps Larsson did that on purpose so that the coming events would just be that much more sensational. It got to the point where I did not want to put the book down and if I had to, I could not wait until I could continue the story again. I decided last night that I would read it until I finished and only now realized that I'm sad the story has ended. Granted, the ending left a little to be desired, but hopefully the 4th, 5th and possible 6th manuscripts will make it to book shelves in the future and take us on a few more adventures...

In Swedish, this book is titled "Luftslottet som sprängdes", "The Castle In The Sky That Blew Up". Anyone can google that to find out that "Castle In The Sky" is the Swedish reference for a pipe dream. I personally think the Swedish title is more suited to the story (naturally ;o). Of course, the original title for the first book was also better, but not politically correct here...

I too ordered this book from the U.K. site and could hardly wait for it to arrive. If you read the first 2 and can't wait until May to find out for yourself exactly what happens, .uk delivers fast! The Brit version has very minor mistakes and varying terms and representations (I noticed that the wrong word was typed on a couple of occasions and time is presented using the 24 hour clock and a period rather than a colon--nothing your brain won't figure out. If you've read Trainspotting, then your brain will fly through Hornets' Nest). I doubt that there will be any major changes in the North American version so it is definitely worth ordering.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
TOP 100 REVIEWERon October 10, 2010
Stieg Larsson completes his trilogy that works. How many books and television programs are extended without the author having any idea that their work may carry on with it an expectation of more. "Heroes," "Lost," "The Star Wars Series" are just a few. Many become an explanation of the original, which "The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet's Nest" does not. The story begins with her reception into emergency after escaping a horrific death in "The Girl Who Played with Fire." Mikael Blomkvist plays a pivotal role in saving his protege, Lisbeth Salander, both directly and by hiring his sister to represent her in court. I kept reading right to an ending that was inspired.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2011
Lisbeth Salander of course resides at the heart of this book like the eye of a huricane around which all sorts of heavy winds blow. Mikael Bomkvist, the journalist, Erika Berger, a colleague and lover, Annika Giannini, Blomkvist's sister and a feminist lawyer, the police, Milton security, Alexander Zalachenko who is a Russian defector and Salander's father, various sections of the Swedish governement, a motorcycle gang and a doctor are examples of some of these winds that create quite a storm of action and suspense and intrigue. The most interesting character, at least to me, is Salander herself, the quasi autistic savant with world class hacker skills and contacts. The book is a about love, sex, justice and injustice, murder, politics gone awry as well as tormented relationships and the pros and cons of the power of the media. The author does a great job of interweaving multiple threads of a story and wrapping things up nicely in the end in a dramatic courtroom scene. The book gets a little tedious in parts where the story gets bogged down in some details that aren't all that interesting but the finish was masterfully done. Also, sometimes the characters sound the same in their thought processes. Overall this book is quite interesting and fun especially if you like pollitical intrigue with some of the darker sides of life thrown in the mix. The Griffon Trilogy: Part I
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Lisbeth Salander, shot at the end of `The Girl Who Played With Fire', is flown to hospital where she undergoes surgery. After the surgery, she is moved into an intensive care ward and isolated from visitors until she is well enough to face trial. Behind the scenes, `the Section' responsible for managing Zalachenko since his defection are working hard to undo the damage caused by the current Zalachenko affair. Key to this cover-up is maintaining the position that Lisbeth Salander is mentally unstable and needs to be institutionalised.

In the meantime, Mikael Bloomkvist and others are working hard to prove Salander's innocence by uncovering the conspiracy within the Swedish secret service which has protected Zalachenko and persecuted Salander. Salander may be isolated in hospital, but she is not friendless or without resources.

And then, finally, there is the trial in which the various parts come together in a largely satisfying conclusion. There's plenty of action in this final instalment of The Millennium Trilogy, not all elements of which is resolved. I found some aspects irritating because they were distracting and ultimately they did not seem relevant. But who knows, really, what Stieg Larsson intended after the trilogy was completed?

I would not recommend reading the trilogy out of order: the development of characters and story is incremental. The satisfaction of the ending relies very much on travelling the journey with Lisbeth Salander and Mikael Bloomkvist.

Jennifer Cameron-Smith
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The remarkable character of Lisbeth Salander greets the reader, so to speak, at the beginning of this book. This time she is in hospital with a wound in her head. Why does she always get into trouble? If someone starts digging into her life, it seems that everything she says creates havoc among important and mysterious monitoring authorities. She seems to be a menace and she must disappear at all costs. Better locked up in a mental asylum than to have her around. The conspiracy surrounding her continues.

Meanwhile, journalist Mikael Blomkvist is able to unravel part of Lisbeth's terrible past and decides to print an accusatory article on Millennium magazine which could shake to the core security services, the government and the whole country, in a whirlwind of obscure plots and corrupted secret services.

Another edge-of-the-seat thriller. Perhaps, out of the three books, this is the one that I found a trifle too far-fetched. However it captures the rhythm of our times and shows what could happen if perversions take over in an unhealthy, unsound system; another statement about violence against women.

I cannot but reiterate that it is so sad that the author did not survive to see how successful his Trilogy has become. A final note is, if you have not yet read the first two books, do not start with this one, you would spoil the reading of the others. Get the first book and carry on from there. If you like this genre, you can rest assured that you will not be able to put any of them down!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2011
In the third and final installment of the "Girl" series, we find Salander under close guard in a hospital for the majority of the novel, as Blomkvist desperately tries to prove her innocence in a series of brutal murders. She is technology-less for a large portion of the novel, rendering her almost useless in a way, as technology is not only what defines her, but is how she interacts with the world.

I have to admit I found this novel much slower than its predecessors, and, sadly, a bit of a disappointment. If read as a whole, the climax of the series is really towards the end of the second book, leaving the third book a bit flat. I had to force myself to finish the novel. In part, because I was hoping it would get better as it went along, and also because I needed to see all of the trilogy's loose ends tied up. Larsson did a great job at bringing at all together at the end, but overall it simply didn't live up to the end-of-your-seat suspense of the first two novels.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on July 13, 2010
I am so disappointed that there won't be further books in this series. The characters are just so believable and you really feel that you actually know them. I enjoyed this book, but there were so many characters and scenarios that I did not find this story as compelling as the first two. However, I still thoroughly enjoyed it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon January 16, 2011
I've got friends who are avid Stieg Larsson fans, and for them, this is a five-star book. But although I think of myself as cynical, Larsson's take on Swedish society is a little too dark for me to find believable. Please note, I'm a lifelong activist and love someone who points out a society's dirty secrets. I also find the novel's tone a little to edgy for my taste. Otherwise, this is Larsson's best book in his trilogy, in my opinion. A page-turner.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2014
Highly recommend all three books in the series, The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo and the Girl Who Played with Fire as well as the Girl who Kicked the Hornets Nest. The book is not for the faint of heart. Rather a dark and suspenseful novel to read.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
The Girl Who Played with Fire
The Girl Who Played with Fire by Stieg Larsson (Paperback - July 5 2011)
CDN$ 10.53

The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo
The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson (Paperback - July 5 2011)
CDN$ 10.53