march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage SmartSaver Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store sports Tools Family

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars148
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$10.42+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 19, 2016
This one was the best of the series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2016
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2016
Slow start but worth the read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2016
Another great read the world will definitely miss this Author
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2015
My favorite book trilogy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2015
Honestly, the sons of Vanger should forget business college and go to parenting school instead!

Anyway, co-owner of Millennium Magazine, Blomkviss is assigned to research a Kennedy-type clan who lives an insular life on a Swedish backwater called Hedeby Island. Chief industrialist and one of the sanest of his five brothers, Henrik is troubled by the receipt of a flower 40 years after the disappearance of his great-niece, Harriet. He believes the ‘killer’ is taunting him, as Harriet used to send Henrik a flower on his birthday. Aging Henrik desperately wants answers.

Straightaway, I am intrigued by the family of Vanger, most of which are a suspect to Harriet’s suspected murder. But it is wildcard, Salander (the girl with the dragon tattoo) who makes real headway with her unorthodox approach that includes hacking. She is gifted, troubled and strikes an unlikely relationship with Blomkvist.

I found this book compelling reading, looking for answers to a puzzle I thought was in plain sight. It wasn’t quite that simple. Larsson is thorough with his scenes, believing the reader should follow Blomkvist’s journey through every development, no matter how small. The scenes with the photographs, for instance are in depth without being tedious. I wanted to grasp every meaning, without the desire to skim.

This was a big, juicy story involving decades of a large family possessing a cave full of skeletons, as well as a subplot involving magnate crook, Wennerstrom. It had all the ingredients for an unputdownable thriller: an atmospheric setting, sinister characters, a whodunit, a family tree and some maps toboot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2015
This is a great book & it's part of a good series.
The thing I tell people about it is that the "Girl with the Dragon Tattoo" isn't mentioned until midway through the book. So don't expect her as soon as the story begins. That's why the original Swedish title (Men Who Hate Women) is less misleading title.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2015
Excellent read and look forward to purchasing the other two books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2015
One of the best books I have read.
Unconventional, witty, fascinating, intriguing, mesmerizing …
I just didn’t want the book to end. I was captured in one magical world and have lived with the characters 24/7. It was an amazing experience, a great adventure.
Larsson’s specific style of writing is so beautiful and compelling. The plot is interesting, with so many twists. The characters are so full of life, so unconventional and real, especially Lisbeth. I love her!!!
Being part of this was a real pleasure. I still have a hard time finding another book as excellent as this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 15, 2015
I'm on booked three now and can't wait to read the latest one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse