biss boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage snsflyour Furniture All-New Kindle Paperwhite Own the 2016 GRAMMY Nominee Album featuring the Biggest Hits from Music's Biggest Night Exercice Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars145
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$10.53+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 7, 2016
Another great read the world will definitely miss this Author
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon December 31, 2015
My favorite book trilogy
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2015
Honestly, the sons of Vanger should forget business college and go to parenting school instead!

Anyway, co-owner of Millennium Magazine, Blomkviss is assigned to research a Kennedy-type clan who lives an insular life on a Swedish backwater called Hedeby Island. Chief industrialist and one of the sanest of his five brothers, Henrik is troubled by the receipt of a flower 40 years after the disappearance of his great-niece, Harriet. He believes the ‘killer’ is taunting him, as Harriet used to send Henrik a flower on his birthday. Aging Henrik desperately wants answers.

Straightaway, I am intrigued by the family of Vanger, most of which are a suspect to Harriet’s suspected murder. But it is wildcard, Salander (the girl with the dragon tattoo) who makes real headway with her unorthodox approach that includes hacking. She is gifted, troubled and strikes an unlikely relationship with Blomkvist.

I found this book compelling reading, looking for answers to a puzzle I thought was in plain sight. It wasn’t quite that simple. Larsson is thorough with his scenes, believing the reader should follow Blomkvist’s journey through every development, no matter how small. The scenes with the photographs, for instance are in depth without being tedious. I wanted to grasp every meaning, without the desire to skim.

This was a big, juicy story involving decades of a large family possessing a cave full of skeletons, as well as a subplot involving magnate crook, Wennerstrom. It had all the ingredients for an unputdownable thriller: an atmospheric setting, sinister characters, a whodunit, a family tree and some maps toboot.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2015
This is a great book & it's part of a good series.
The thing I tell people about it is that the "Girl with the Dragon Tattoo" isn't mentioned until midway through the book. So don't expect her as soon as the story begins. That's why the original Swedish title (Men Who Hate Women) is less misleading title.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2015
Excellent read and look forward to purchasing the other two books.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2015
One of the best books I have read.
Unconventional, witty, fascinating, intriguing, mesmerizing …
I just didn’t want the book to end. I was captured in one magical world and have lived with the characters 24/7. It was an amazing experience, a great adventure.
Larsson’s specific style of writing is so beautiful and compelling. The plot is interesting, with so many twists. The characters are so full of life, so unconventional and real, especially Lisbeth. I love her!!!
Being part of this was a real pleasure. I still have a hard time finding another book as excellent as this one.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 15, 2015
I'm on booked three now and can't wait to read the latest one.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2015
Great book
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2015
If you haven't read about it already, or seen the movie (either the original or the US remake) you might be the only one. I submit this review in no way thinking it is going to influence you. I just loved the book and the character of Lisbeth that I need to say something. It starts off as a mystery story but evolves into something so much bigger and better. The pages will fly by and you will grow to love the characters and the setting.
The estate has hired an author to continue the series...and I hope it goes well. However, it can't stop me from thinking what if the author were still alive.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2015
The first book may be a bit difficult to get into at first, however, once you do you will not be able to put it or its sequels down.
The whole series is truly captivating.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse