Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


91 of 100 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best is last!
I read this book in french. It is the first part of a trilogy. This is not your "usual" thriller. The characters are very important and the author takes his time to present each one of them with the location in the first 100 pages. So the reader must not be impatient. The first book has a story in itself. The second book has the same main characters but the plot is...
Published on Sept. 14 2008 by Dragonfly

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What is all the Fuss About?
I heard so many good things about this trilogy that I bought all three books, hoping to read them through over the Christmas break. I had trouble getting through book 1 and may not finish the others.
I found that I disliked most of the main characters, including Blomkvist and Salander. I just didn't find them plausible or likeable. Without giving away too much,...
Published on Dec 30 2010 by Canoester


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 414 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Engrossing and Clever, Jan. 2 2014
This review is from: The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo (Paperback)
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo is a great novel. The book is very well written and easy to read. This book follows a couple of characters as they try to solve a mystery. Stieg Larsson describes the characters well. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read!, Dec 31 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very interesting book. Enjoyed it. I would recommend this book to those who like to read longer novels. Received the book promptly too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dark, Dec 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a dark and gritty novel. Difficult to get into at first, it is definitely worth the read. Gripping and disturbing and well-written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So worth it!!!, Sept. 14 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo (Paperback)
It took me a while to get on board with this book but as they say good things come to those who wait. The first time I heard anyone talk about this book they said "give it 100 pages and you'll be hooked". Another person suggested that you had to read much more that that to really get into it. This sounded kinda awful to me but I gave it a chance and I'm so glad I did. This is one of the best books I have ever read. It stands on it's own pretty well but I highly recommend the reading the whole trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Needs a whole new category in crime fiction., Aug. 29 2013
By 
Robert T. Boyter (Toronto) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo (Paperback)
This is a little like what used to be called a Police Procedural, but it is a hybrid because the primary investigator is a journalist not a policeman. That said, he operates along side the police for Volumes 2 and 3, i.e. The Girl Who Played With Fire and The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet's Nest, which becomes a courtroom drama at the end. The three together are very satisfying, but the sense of what might have been had the remaining 7 hoped-for volumes is quite painful.

The first volume The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo is the journalists inquiry into the disappearance of a member of formerly prominent idustrialist's family. It is painstaking and clearly reveals just how difficult doing good research is, particularly long after the disappearance. It needs some patience though it resolves very well.

It introduces the glories of Lisbeth Salander, the very guarded, introverted computer researcher who appears also to have an eidetic (photographic) memory and to be exceptionally bright, and utterly fascinating as a character. Mikael Blomkvist is the journalist and is also a fascinating character, with a strict moral code, as has Salander, even if their codes aren't particularly congruent codes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, June 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Good read. Hard to follow all the characters. Really messed up story with lots of twists and gore. Made the movies make more sense for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this Series!, May 15 2013
By 
J. Hussey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A captivating and thrilling start to what has become one of my favorite Trilogies! I 100% recommend this book to anyone. Wonderful characters, plot, etc!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Girl with the Dragon Tatoo: The Full Story, April 22 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo (Paperback)
The movie is excellent, but like any movie, all the details of the book cannot be portrayed. It is a fun exercise to see the movie and then read the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Part of the set, Feb. 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo (Paperback)
this is the third book of the set i gavcve to my dad for xmas and he is enjoying them very uch thank you .
Veronica
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected, Jan. 8 2013
By 
Murray Macrae (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo (Paperback)
This book started off dry. It was not what I expected. Then I turned the page and couldn't stop reading. Glad I kept reading! Well worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 414 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo
The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson (Paperback - July 5 2011)
CDN$ 18.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews