Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Nutrition, Good Information, but Poor Editing, June 21 2011
By 
This review is from: Whole Foods To Thrive: Nutrient-Dense, Plant-Based Recipes for Peak Health (Paperback)
As an aspiring vegan, I would not hesitate to say that I am a fan of Brendan Braziers 'Thrive' series. Instead of replacing the SAD (Standard American Diet) with similarly processed, refined, and nutritionally depleted soy alternatives, Mr. Brazier introduces a variety of foods and their preparations for optimal health and performance.

With the previous books in mind, 'Thrive' and 'Thrive Fitness,' I looked forward to the third, recipe-oriented, installment. Happily, the book delivers a number of excellent recipes from Brazier and other contributors. In addition, it appears that a conscious effort was made to make them a bit easier to prepare than the previous books' examples.

Unfortunately, the poor editing of 'Whole Foods To Thrive' diminishes the recipe section significantly. For example, any page reference made to another recipe, a dressing for a salad, for example, is incorrect. Correct the references early to make future use of the book easier. In addition, don't be surprised when a listed ingredient disappears, and/or is replaced, in the preparation section.

Finally, albeit brief, Brendan Brazier makes a reference to eating starchy carbohydrates to gain size and strength. He says that he refers to it in another Thrive book. Owning each of the three books, I was unable to find any other information pertaining to, or supporting, this statement. A small detail admittedly, but as a non-endurance athlete who would like to put on some additional size, Mr. Brazier's insight into this area would be appreciated.

Despite a relatively neutral review, I would still recommend the books in the THRIVE series for those interested in supporting their athletic endeavors through proper nutrition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's time to level up - THRIVE to the next level!, May 14 2011
This review is from: Whole Foods To Thrive: Nutrient-Dense, Plant-Based Recipes for Peak Health (Paperback)
What if you can look & feel good and put a dent in the universe while at it? Can you really have it all? Yes, yes and yes! No other book has linked nutrition, fitness, economics and the environment in one complete package till this!

We are led to believe that we need to pay top dollar to be healthy and fit. And that we need to do complicated, inconvenient things to be green. The author debunks these MYTHS by offering a simple solution: incorporating plant-based whole foods to our diet. Yes, it's that basic, that's why it's a break-through.

He explains WHY - through fun icons, credible data and entertaining examples (who would have thought we could save trillions of trips to the moon by eating more consciously?). He then shares HOW - through easy and yummy recipes that are not only super healthy, but also cost-effective and really "green" (pun intended!).

So, if you would like to not only transform yourself, but also become a catalyst for change, go and get one! Don't delay. It's your time to level up and truly THRIVE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Book Review, July 6 2011
This review is from: Whole Foods To Thrive: Nutrient-Dense, Plant-Based Recipes for Peak Health (Paperback)
I just got the book a couple of weeks ago and skimmed through it and really like it. I think Brandon Brazier is great and a true vegan. Only thing negative in the book is that it refrences different pages for receipes to go with other ones but when you get to that page # it is not the correct receipe??? A bit disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An imortant book to share!, June 29 2011
This review is from: Whole Foods To Thrive: Nutrient-Dense, Plant-Based Recipes for Peak Health (Paperback)
Brendan Brazier has once again written a terrific book with accessible and practical information on how to choose foods that not only benefit our personal health, but also the health of our planet. It is a hyper-critical time to share this information, because "as within, so with out," and vice-versa. With simple explanations, Brendan Brazier explains why we thrive when the planet thrives. His book, Whole Foods to Thrive, also offers over 200 amazing recipes to help ease our transition from over-consuming sub-nourishing foods to appreciating nature's abundance of eco-friendly, super foods.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The only resource you need for clean living and eating, Sept. 16 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Whole Foods To Thrive: Nutrient-Dense, Plant-Based Recipes for Peak Health (Paperback)
Having been introduced to the Vega line of products years ago and loved them, when I found this book, I knew I'd love it too. I wasn't disappointed. Brendan Brazier speaks to a lifetime of research and accumulated knowledge on the subject of eating to enhance physical performance, decrease stress, detoxify the body and mind, and bring balance to one's day to day life.

While much of the book is dedicated to recipes, a great deal of effort has gone into explaining why the foods in the recipes are superior to those excluded. Learn why a plant-based diet it not only better for the body and soul, but also for the environment at large. A must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life changing, Sept. 16 2012
This review is from: Whole Foods To Thrive: Nutrient-Dense, Plant-Based Recipes for Peak Health (Paperback)
This book takes everything you wish you knew about food/lifestyle/diet and condenses it into a power-packed tool for greater health and understanding. I love this book and I love the Vega products!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Expert advice, July 20 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Whole Foods To Thrive: Nutrient-Dense, Plant-Based Recipes for Peak Health (Paperback)
I'm excited about this book because it gives lots of background information about key foods for a healthy diet, and reducing nutritional stress, which has been an issue for me (food sensitivities).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whole Foods to Thrive, April 9 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Whole Foods To Thrive: Nutrient-Dense, Plant-Based Recipes for Peak Health (Paperback)
What can you say about Brendan Brazier except, awesome, awesome, awesome. Very smart, one to follow. He takes people out of their dreary routines and puts them on the path of health, happiness and sleeping again. What can we say except we love this guy. Thank you Brendan for the Vega line, for your books, for your creativity and inspiration. Not only does he help and encourage you towards becoming vegan but he does it with such ease. The recipes in this book, some of his, some from favourite restaurants are all good and inspiring. This book is a must even if you never decide to make the change. Thank you Brendan, keep up the good work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellant, Jan. 8 2012
By 
Yvonne (Niagara Falls, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Whole Foods To Thrive: Nutrient-Dense, Plant-Based Recipes for Peak Health (Paperback)
I am into living and eating better and found this an absolute gem. Brendan Brazier sets a fine example for us. I ordered it at 5:00 PM and it was on my doorstep at noon the next day. Unbelievable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Whole Food to Thrive by Brendan Brazier, Aug. 30 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Whole Foods To Thrive: Nutrient-Dense, Plant-Based Recipes for Peak Health (Paperback)
Brendan Brazier is an inspiration. This is the second book I've read of his and he does not disappoint .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Whole Foods To Thrive: Nutrient-Dense, Plant-Based Recipes for Peak Health
CDN$ 28.00 CDN$ 17.56
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews