Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Basic and Very Helpful Information
This should make investing and saving for retirement a lot easier. Gordon Pape has provided lots of good information about:

1) setting up your retirement funding and making sure it's on the right track,

2) the myths, or common beliefs, that can throw us off track,

3) how to minimize taxes,

4) the absurdity of Canadian tax law...
Published on July 19 2012 by TinkerBell

versus
0 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars duplicate order--do not want, please CANCEL!!!
i read in the Toronto Star from an article by columnist Ellen Roseman that this is an excellent book for baby boomers about to retire and current retirees
Published on April 19 2012 by jigjester


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Basic and Very Helpful Information, July 19 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Retirement's Harsh New Realities: Protecting Your Money in a Changing World (Paperback)
This should make investing and saving for retirement a lot easier. Gordon Pape has provided lots of good information about:

1) setting up your retirement funding and making sure it's on the right track,

2) the myths, or common beliefs, that can throw us off track,

3) how to minimize taxes,

4) the absurdity of Canadian tax law and how it punishes seniors,

5) how and where to invest to minimize excessive taxation,

6) definitions of the major investment vehicles and their level of risk,

7) good basic plans for Canadians based on age groupings.

The book is easy to read, clear, concise, well-written. I started to read it in the wee hours of the morning and couldn't put it down. Maybe it should be required reading for anyone with a Canadian bank account!

Thank you, Mr. Pape.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gordon Pape Strikes Again, March 4 2012
By 
This review is from: Retirement's Harsh New Realities: Protecting Your Money in a Changing World (Paperback)
I have been a Gordon Pape follower for quite a few years, and have purchased several of his books. This one does a great job of introducing folks to the "New Canada"...a much harsher and colder place that we are used to...and it looks like global pressure is going to continue to force us to be nastier and nastier with our retired seniors.
As a person who is already retired, I purchased it mostly for my kids....but In AM finding a few gems for myself, too.
Worth the purchase price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't be fooled by the sensationa title., July 24 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Retirement's Harsh New Realities: Protecting Your Money in a Changing World (Paperback)
Gordon Pape's "Retirement's Harsh New Realities", despite it sensational sounding title, is really one of the most sensible discussions of what retirement means for Canadians. This is a timely publication because, as he illustrates, most Canadians are woefully under or miss informed about the reality of their own retirements.

For those who have no idea of their retirement or only vague notions such as "I've got my pension from work", then you ought to read this. It is not alarmist, but it is a practical exposé of what retirement is in our rapidly changing times. If you are someone who is already looking after your personal finances with your retirement in view, it is still a valuable read for no matter how well informed we believe ourselves to be, we can always learn something new and helpful.

The style in which Pape presents the harsh new realities which constitue the first half of the book is easy to read, his chapters well organised and his points supported with pertinent anecdotal information. The second half of the book is an exposé of solutions and at no time does he come across as pedantic, which is often the failing of this sort of "financial help" literature. He gives us good sound, uncomplicated advice.

"Retirement's Harsh New Realities" covers thoroughly all of the aspects of retirement as it confronts us today. If you have yet to begin to plan for your retirement or you have already begun doing so, in my opinion, buying this book may be one of the best financial retirement investments you could make .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-read for a good retirement, Jan. 8 2012
This review is from: Retirement's Harsh New Realities: Protecting Your Money in a Changing World (Paperback)
I just finished reading the new book and quite enjoyed it. Lots of quality
Canadian information that is so hard to find. Easy reading that gets to the
point and maps out the issues and solutions. Great job!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good and Scary, Jan. 28 2012
By 
M. Schoch "Reader" (Toronto Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Retirement's Harsh New Realities: Protecting Your Money in a Changing World (Paperback)
I really liked this book a lot. For so many that have not focused on doing some saving for retirement this book will be scary. If you are at all concerned about retirement and how much money you may need, but don't really know how to go about figuring out all the details. This book is for You. Gordon Pape does a good job explaining the CPP and other retirement income you may qualify to receive. Gives you the ins and outs for Canadians. I Own many Gordon Pape's books and this one is the most blunt and direct about the lack of taking care of our own part of the retirement equation. I highly recommend this book. But You also should get some other books as well. Specifically to understand what investments do fit your need. This books does cover some of that, but I find that if you read more, you are more likely to get to a method for saving the really works for You and Your situation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good review of retirement and your options, Feb. 9 2012
This review is from: Retirement's Harsh New Realities: Protecting Your Money in a Changing World (Paperback)
I have read many of Pape's books and this one is similar, a good conservative review of investment options for retirement. I would have liked more details on etf's, but he does give lots of general information. There was nothing startling in this book so if you are well read on the subject maybe skip it, but otherwise it helps you get some answers and allows you to form more questions for your advisor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book., Jan. 13 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Retirement's Harsh New Realities: Protecting Your Money in a Changing World (Paperback)
This is the second time I have read this book. It has a lot of information in it that all Canadians need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Retirement harsh realities, July 6 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Retirement's Harsh New Realities: Protecting Your Money in a Changing World (Paperback)
He is always a good read.
To bad the average person does not read this book. He has a lot of down to earth stratagies on retirement and investing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars duplicate order--do not want, please CANCEL!!!, April 19 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Retirement's Harsh New Realities: Protecting Your Money in a Changing World (Paperback)
i read in the Toronto Star from an article by columnist Ellen Roseman that this is an excellent book for baby boomers about to retire and current retirees
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Retirement's Harsh New Realities: Protecting Your Money in a Changing World
CDN$ 24.00 CDN$ 17.52
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews