Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage SmartSaver Kitchen Kindle Black Friday Deals Week in Music SGG Tools

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars371
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: HardcoverChange
Price:$22.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-9 of 9 reviews(2 star).Show all reviews
on October 5, 2001
As an objective study of racism, feminism, and personal development, "The Color Purple" stretches fiction's limits. Difficult to determine the literary value of this book, there is a fine line between genius and insanity. What the novel imparts to its reader is debatable as well. At first glance, it appears a poorly written hodge-podge collection of an abused woman's diary entries, a black sympathy story whose publication can be justified by the author's ethnic heritage. There must, however, be something more. There is a certain quality, charisma, ambiance difficult to positively identify: Could it be hope? The strength of the human spirit? The eventual triumph of eclectic characters over their impoverished circumstances, motivated by personal ethos? If "The Color Purple" represents joie de vivre in strange places, the novel accomplishes its title mission. Perhaps I, the mystified reader, have missed the point entirely. An epic literary work this book is not; an exercise in reading between the R-rated lines seems more likely. Regarding the minimal inspiration squeezed from pages dripping with violence, anger, confusion, bisexuality and despair, "The Color Purple" is not for those reflective readers looking for the meaning of life on a Sunday afternoon. Finding some thematic value on an unlikely Wednesday is somehow satisfactory.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 1, 2000
If you enjoy coming of age stories and can handle graphic "love scenes", I recommend this book. It follows a girl named Celie from a young age to womanhood. The story is written in a journal format. Celie is raped by her stepfather at a young age, and from then on she doesn't really like men. Her beloved sister, Nettie, becomes a missionary and they have no contact for many years except for Nettie's letters from Africa. Meanwhile, Celie falls in love with Miss Shug Avery, who openly sleeps with Nettie's husband. This is where the love scenes come in and they are fairly descriptive. The mood of this book varies from part to part. Sometimes I felt sad (when Nettie goes away), discusted (the rape), happy (when Celie finds herself), and boredom (Nettie's letters from Africa). There is a story within a story, of Nettie and hher missionary work in Africa. Nettie sends letters to Celie all during the time period where they are apart. The setting isn't clarified in the book, but i would guess that it takes place in the 1930's or 1940's. The book can get very confusing at parts. Celie refers to her husband as "Mr.____". I'm in a dilemma as to whether I liked the book or not. The overall storyline was good, but dull at points. Also, I think that some parts in the story weren't needed, like Celie "discovering" herself. On a scale from 1 to 10, I give this a 5.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2000
In eigth grade english class, all the students read an outsidereading book. I read Alice Walker's, THE COLOR PURPLE. I am fourteenyears old and attend SFDS. While we were reading our outside reading books, we were reading, TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD. Both of the books address the topic of race. In TKM, race is handled as something that can only become better through time. In TCP, the characters accept their role as a "lower class" in society. THE COLOR PURPLE is about a woman named Celie and her trials and tribulations through life. She is faced with many problems throughout her life. The book is written in the form of a series of letters. Usually Celie is addressing God or Nettie, her sister. The book is very deppressing because of the hardships that Celie goes through growing up. I had to take breaks frequently because the book was very deep and is hard to read for extensive periods of time. In most parts, the book is well written. But in some parts, the language becomes hard to understand and you can get lost in it. The writing is often hard to understand because it is written in the style of a southern black women with minimal education. Overall, the book was well written but could get tedious at some points.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2000
Overall, I didn't like The Color Purple by Alice Walker. The story line was good and well thought out, but for an eighth grader like me, it was hard to follow because of how the story was told. The way the book was written, the narrator wasn't supposed to be well educated, so she used lots of pronouns and she couldn't spell very well. Because of this, the story was hard to understand. The style of The Color Purple tried to convey the setting, but in the case of To Kill A Mockingbird, which I read simultaneously, the setting was developed well without making the language hard to understand. One difference between To Kill A Mockingbird and The Color Purple is the format. The Color Purple is written in short journal entries and To Kill a Mockingbird is written in chapters. Therefore, The Color Purple had less suspense and build up and in To Kill a Mockingbird there was a lot of tension. For example, when Scout is talking about how she was attacked by Bob Ewell she keeps pausing to build suspense. At times, Alice Walker does the opposite, "tells" instead of "showing." There are plenty of reasons why or why not to like The Color Purple. In this case, I liked To Kill a Mockingbird more. It's hard to say which classic to like more, but I enjoyed the style of To Kill a Mockingbird a lot more than that of The Color Purple.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2000
Well The Color Purple is a well writen book if you want to get close to the reality of a African American poorly educated in the early 1900's. Although I was a book based on turn arounds and troubling plots. You never know really what Mr. blank she is talking about at any time. In a whole people got married then divorced it did ofcourse bring a ton of insight of different cultures and how they acted. I do like the journal writing between the sisters but you also get lost in how old or new the letters are since a certain person hid them. In a whole I honestly don't know if I should recommend this book or not it has it's goods and bads
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 1, 2000
The color purple by alice walker is a fairly famous book. Yet i just finished the book and dont seem to understand. The book is about two sisters, separated when they were 14. One sister moves to Africa and the other stays in the states. The book is written through letters to God and between to sisters. I personally dont like the way the story is written. I think that these letters draw the book out far too long. Also i thought the book on a whole was not very intersting.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2002
Well i bought this book because everyone said that it was a great one and it was well written to perfection; however, i couldn't understand most of it...I couldn't get through the book. Maybe im too young..who knows? But i expected a lot out of this book and I was very dissapointed.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 1998
I read this book for an english book report. I found it disturbing with the incest, rape, turning to lesbianism. It was hard to follow, but the ending was alright. I really got annoyed at the Mr.______ though. I don't think I'd really recommend it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2015
Wouldn't recommend it - poor story
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Beloved by Toni Morrison (Paperback - June 8 2004)
CDN$ 14.41

The Handmaid's Tale
The Handmaid's Tale by Margaret Atwood (Paperback - Sept. 6 2011)
CDN$ 12.47

Tipping the Velvet
Tipping the Velvet by Sarah Waters (Paperback - Oct. 16 2012)
CDN$ 14.99