Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars As a teacher, this book is a gem!
Children can infer and take on the point if view of various rainforest animals to consider an environmental issue of clearing trees.
Published 19 months ago by Kristen Ortwein

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great pictures, predictable plot
"The Great Kapok Tree" is a nice predictable book for the age level it is designed for. It seems like every single animal in the rain forest comes to the man about to chop down the tree. They state so many reasons why the man should not cut down the tree. It is very informative about the dangers of depleting the rain forest, but I found the plot dry and not...
Published on March 22 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, July 15 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Great Kapok Tree (Paperback)
I especially enjoyed the illustrations. This is a wonderful book that helps parents teach their children about the world's ecosystems, their importance and how vulnerable they are to human activity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As a teacher, this book is a gem!, Dec 27 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Great Kapok Tree: A Tale of the Amazon Rain Forest (Hardcover)
Children can infer and take on the point if view of various rainforest animals to consider an environmental issue of clearing trees.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great pictures, predictable plot, March 22 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Great Kapok Tree: A Tale of the Amazon Rain Forest (Hardcover)
"The Great Kapok Tree" is a nice predictable book for the age level it is designed for. It seems like every single animal in the rain forest comes to the man about to chop down the tree. They state so many reasons why the man should not cut down the tree. It is very informative about the dangers of depleting the rain forest, but I found the plot dry and not very interesting. The pictures are beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, Jan. 29 2011
By 
A. Browne (Mississauga, ON CANADA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Great Kapok Tree (Paperback)
After reading all the great reviews here, I was excited to get this as one of my child's Christmas presents.
The artwork is amazing, but the story is dry and uninteresting to my 5 year old who loves nature, trees, animals and Diago. I thought this would be a slam dunk. It's a wide margin miss especially because the man just ups and walks out, rather than trying to do something to stop the destruction. We finished the book thinking, "They're just going to send someone else to cut it down!" Too bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Great Kapok Tree, Feb. 10 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Great Kapok Tree: A Tale of the Amazon Rain Forest (Hardcover)
A beautifully illustrated book about saving the rainforest. Excellent for children to learn the importance of our trees to all forms of life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Activism disguised as children's literature, April 17 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Great Kapok Tree (Paperback)
While beautifully illustrated and highly imaginative, The Great Kapok Tree is a heavy-handed attempt to create environmental activism in young, impressionable children. It is utterly one-sided, and places the welfare of animals above that of humans. At no time is the human story told. Instead, the "right" side of the issue (the politically correct side) is presented as the only possible way to think. It attempts to place on the shoulders of children the responsibility for "saving" the rain forest. Saving endangered species, environments, etc. is not the job of children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Great Kapok Tree [The Destroyed Rainforest], March 18 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Great Kapok Tree (Paperback)
There once was a book that was good and it was The Great Kapok Tree. It was about a man who wanted to cut down a tree in the Amazon Rainforest. All animals wanted the man not to cut down the tree. One by one each animal had a reason why not to cut down the tree. Finally the man realized this tree meant a lot to them because all animals depended on the tree. The man did not cut the tree down because all the animals had asked him not to.
I think this book is really good because it was very interesting and it was a good book. I liked the animals that were included and how they each had a reason.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Great Kapok Tree, Feb. 20 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Great Kapok Tree (Paperback)
I like the color of the book and i like the story. I like the author of the book and the animal's of the story. There were some funny parts to the story and some sad ones too. I like the way the aninmals were talking. It kept me interested in the story. I reccommend this book because it is good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Great Kapok Tree, Feb. 20 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Great Kapok Tree (Paperback)
I like this book because of the colors and the animals. I like that the the animals came to life. It had a good ending. I learned that the tree has oxygen in it for the animals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Great Kapok Tree, Feb. 20 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Great Kapok Tree (Paperback)
I like the people and animals. It had a good ending. It made me feel good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Great Kapok Tree: A Tale of the Amazon Rain Forest
The Great Kapok Tree: A Tale of the Amazon Rain Forest by Lynne Cherry (Hardcover - Feb. 1 2001)
CDN$ 22.00 CDN$ 15.88
Usually ships in 3 to 5 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews