Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun read
Its great. Not exactly what I expected. It's worth looking at the back story first. There is important information that covers parts of what is going on
Published 27 days ago by David Burch

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Delta of Venus
I have read many books more exciting than this one. I thought it was very bland. She is a good writer but perhaps the subject matter was a little outdated. I will not read her works again.
Published on Aug. 27 2002 by Judy Edwards


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Fun read, June 28 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Delta of Venus (Kindle Edition)
Its great. Not exactly what I expected. It's worth looking at the back story first. There is important information that covers parts of what is going on
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic and still relevant, March 23 2002
By 
Joe Sifino (Santa Ana, CA) - See all my reviews
I was a little worried when the first story featured a pedophile, but the rest of the stories were hot. I guess what turned people on back then can still turn them on now. I liked the lives of the French painters and the women who loved them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars should be a staple on one's bookshelf, Dec 1 2011
By 
Jane Skinner (London, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Delta Of Venus (Paperback)
Nin succeeded in creating a world of sensuality, lust tempered by love and even affection, reverence for art ... a beautiful place where one's desires can be fulfilled without shame or taboo. Definitely groundbreaking and still relevant. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great writer for any generation, March 8 2006
By 
This review is from: Delta Of Venus (Paperback)
I normally stick with a bestseller such as “A Million Little Pieces” or McCrae’s “Katzenjammer,” but decided to delve into this genre instead (though it is somewhat like the McCrae book in that it’s racy). So I bought a copy----of “Delta,” that is. After I read this book I told all my friends read it. This is really more than erotica and sex, this is a work of art. You change the way you look and think at sex and erotica. Every night I remember the book and wish to reread it again and again. The book I've given to everybody I know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pasion, Poetry, Period, and Iconography, July 10 2004
By A Customer
Allegorically overwhelming, this work incited literary jealousy in me. I had long avoided her works based on the snobbish assumption that her's was mere lustful, romantic slough. I am an idiot. She puts Dostoevsky, Tolstoy and Fitzgerald to shame. So much for ancient white guys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars delta of venus = p*ssy, July 7 2004
By 
I ain't no porn writer (author, "Crippled Dreams") - See all my reviews
This review is from: Delta Of Venus (Paperback)
This collection of erotic short stories by Anais Nin, along with her other collection "Little Birds", is something I remember as one of the most sexually interesting and erotic books I've ever read. Nin likes to break taboos in her erotica, which will shock and disquiet a few readers, yet she does it with an originality and sensuality that makes you curious to read on.
David Rehak
author of "A Young Girl's Crimes"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Literary Reverie, May 27 2004
By 
Nadia555 (Sydney, NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Delta Of Venus (Paperback)
"Delta of Venus" is an absolute pleasure to read. Each short story here flows seamlessly into the next, making it read like a never-ending hallucination. Anais simultaneously shocked and aroused me with her stories. Her writing is startlingly beautiful, like that of an (eroticised) angel. While her style is conspicuously feminine, Anais Nin doesn't shy away from more hardcore territory, as she confidently explores the taboos of sex: incest, bisexuality, paedophilia (The Boarding School), bestiality and even genital mutilation. Anais's decadent world is rich with exotic imagery and opulence. This is no "Mills and Boon" - this is a literary delight I'd recommend to anyone seeking an all-out retreat from reality. The sheer majesty of Anais's talent for writing is just as seductive as the erotic content within the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Yummy, April 15 2004
By 
Bethanie Frank "book dreamer" (Coffeyville, KS United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Delta Of Venus (Paperback)
I loved reading this! I felt like I was reading something I shouldn't be. I also hesitated taking it in public to read for fear people would think I'm a pervert, but you know what? I think the average Joe has no idea who Anais Nin is. And, if someone DID know, they would probably want to sit and discuss the book with me.
I did have a good time and realized that we all are basically the same. Same wants, desires, needs and hopes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Reading Anais Nin !, Jan. 27 2004
By A Customer
I remember the first time this book entered by Apt, in St louis. I was at SLU. It was Saturday afternoon, and the warm air shooting around the apt had us in shorts, we sat down on the bed and started reading this wonderful book. The stories are unlike anything I have ever read before. I found myself searching for my book later in life to be able to enjoy this great writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A delectable collection of erotic stories!, Nov. 10 2003
Delectable is the word that sprung to mind while I read Delta of Venus. The stories are erotic to the core, but they also contain a great deal of symbolism and darkness. Rape, exhibitionism, voyeurism and incest are a few of the disarming and disturbing subject matters addressed in this book. My favorite stories are "Boarding School," "Mallorca," "Manuel," and "The Hungarian Adventurer." These stories enthralled me from beginning to end. They were a delectable reading experience! I look forward to reading more of Anais Nin's work in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Delta Of Venus
Delta Of Venus by Anaïs Nin (Paperback - Feb. 15 2004)
CDN$ 15.95 CDN$ 11.64
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews