Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extraordinary Book. Belongs on Your Bookshelf., Aug. 3 2003
By 
Michael Wischmeyer (Houston, Texas) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: What Is Mathematics?: An Elementary Approach to Ideas and Methods (Paperback)
Courant's 500-page text is not entirely suitable for the layman. Its target audience includes those who enjoy reading and studying mathematics and have a good background through precalculus or higher. "What is Mathematics?" is a mathematics book, not a book about mathematics.
"What is Mathematics?" is not a new book. It was first published in 1941. New editions appeared in 1943, 1945, and 1947. My soft cover fourth edition by Oxford University Press is in its 12 printing.
The authors indicate that it is no means necessary to "plow through it page by page, chapter by chapter". I fully agree. I have skipped around, jumping to chapters of particular interest, but I have now read nearly every chapter.
I initially skipped to page 165 and delved directly into projective geometry (chapter IV), proceeded to topology (chapter V), and then jumped backwards to the beginning to explore the theory of numbers. After moving to geometry, I finally returned to the later chapters on functions and limits, maxima and minima, and the calculus.
Courant engages the reader in discussions on mathematical concepts rather than focusing on applications and problem solving. "What is Mathematics?" is a great textbook for students that have completed a year or more of calculus and wish to pull all of their mathematical learning together before moving on to more advanced studies. I suspect that it would even be welcomed by students that have completed an undergraduate degree in mathematics.
I cannot resist quoting Albert Einstein's comment on What is Mathematics? - "A lucid representation of the fundamental concepts and methods of the whole field of mathematics...Easily understandable."
Richard Courant was a highly respected mathematician. He taught in Germany and in Cambridge and was director of the Institute of Mathematical Sciences at New York University (now renamed the Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences). Courant has authored other widely acclaimed mathematical texts including Methods of Mathematical Physics (co-authored with David Hilbert) and his popular Differential and Integral Calculus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless., April 15 2003
By 
Palle E T Jorgensen "Palle Jorgensen" (Iowa City, Iowa United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: What Is Mathematics?: An Elementary Approach to Ideas and Methods (Paperback)
Einstein writes..."Easily understandable." And Herman Weyl,..."It is a work of high perfection." It is both for
beginners and for scholars. The first edition by Courant and Robbins, has been revised, with love and care, by Ian Stewart.
Of the sciences, math stands out in the way some central ideas and tools are timeless. Key math ideas from our first mathematical experiences, perhaps early in life, often have more permanence this way. While the fads do change in math, there are some landmarks that remain, and which inspire generations. And they are as useful now as they were at their inception, the fundamentals of numbers, of geometry, of calculus and differential equations, and more. Much of it is presented with an eye to applications. The book is a classic and a masterpiece. The co-authors are ambitious (and remarkably sucessful)in trying to cover the essetials within the span of 500 plus pages. You find the facts, presented in clear and engaging prose, and with lots of illustrations. The book has been used by generations of readers, and it still points to the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars theoretically very good, Dec 9 2002
By 
This review is from: What Is Mathematics?: An Elementary Approach to Ideas and Methods (Paperback)
This is an interesting and wide ranging book. In the main it presents, develops and explains it's ideas very well, although I did not always find it, as one reviewer, a mister Albert Einstein described it, "easily understandable". I have two minor complaints about this book:
1) Print quality
For no apparent reason the text size varies occasionally, and in places the printing is slightly blurred, so that sometimes the subscripts and superscripts on formulae are illegible. Perhaps they skimped on typesetting costs by photoreproducing formulae from the original printing?
2) Incompleteness
If you bought this book because the front cover says "...representation of the fundamental concepts and methods of the whole field of mathematics" (another A.E. quote) you may be disappointed to find this is not the case. Trigonometry, for example, is not discussed, except where it crops up in other topics such as applying calculus to trig functions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A book on mathematical ideas to look beyond the formalism, Sept. 6 2002
By 
Gustavo de Oliveira (Vancouver, BC Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: What Is Mathematics?: An Elementary Approach to Ideas and Methods (Paperback)
A very interesting exposition of some of the main branches and ideas of mathematics. This is a book for beginners and experts, students and professors. The authors exposes number theory, algebra, geometry, topology and calculus. (For the last topic I recomend the great book of Courant and Fritz, Introduction to Calculus and Analysis.) The mathematical concepts are introduced and motivated by real problems; it seems to me very close to applications. I have been learning much things with this book. It is very interesting and I recomend it for all people that want to read about mathematics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For mature thinking in mathematics, Jan. 31 2002
By 
Alok Govil (CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: What Is Mathematics?: An Elementary Approach to Ideas and Methods (Paperback)
A "closer" look at mathematics: Book ends where all other books on Mathematics start. With this book, you look at all of basic mathematics much more deeply. It does not help you how to solve specific maths problems, it tells you why were those problems were solved the way they were by the mathematicians.
A unique blend of actual mathematics, philosophy, and history of mathematics. It goes well beyond defining 'what' is mathematics; Actual mathematics is there in the book.
Example: You know (-1)(-1)=(+1) but never knew that there's 'more' to it -- That it sounds so right yet it doesn't have to be right! With this book, you look at all of basic mathematics much more deeply.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lucid!!!, Dec 26 2001
This review is from: What Is Mathematics?: An Elementary Approach to Ideas and Methods (Paperback)
The title suggests a topic more on the philosophy
of math rather than math proper, but it's all real math, and superbly
done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic that will challenge and inspire.. A MUST HAVE!!, Sept. 11 2001
This review is from: What Is Mathematics?: An Elementary Approach to Ideas and Methods (Paperback)
This book will give you a superb introduction to basic mathematics culminating in the CALCULUS. The topics and manner of presentations are excellent. I have the 1978 edition that I still use to much benefit. Things such as numbers, matrices, algebra and trig are introduced in rapid but detailed segments. If you have been away from mathematics for a while you will soon get drawn into the text and the exercises. If you are into math today this will serve as an excellent review and perhaps give you a gem or two. However, if you have been put off by math in the past you may want to approach with caution. For even though the pace is within speed limits the text does expect a good effort to reap the rewards. I recommend this book for anyone interested in the theory behind mathematics. A real jewel for your library and personal enjoyment. Just superb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars classic, Aug. 3 2001
This review is from: What Is Mathematics?: An Elementary Approach to Ideas and Methods (Paperback)
I give this book 5 stars because it is a classic. I believe, however, that it is too sketchy to be useful for the beginner as it is advertised. For chapter 1, for example, on number theory, I recommend Hardy's "Introduction to the Theory of Numbers." For the second chapter, on the number systems, I recommend a book like Birkhoff and MacLane's "Modern Algebra." It's difficult to write a survey of mathematics textbook without being sketchy and Courant isn't up to the task. In addition, the bibliography at the end of the book is fairly outdated, although the two books I mentioned above are included there. I also wish Courant would have provided more information on the evolution of mathematical concepts and ideas. This is something Kline does in his "History of Mathematical Thought." I find this information vital in answering the question "what is mathematics?" If you really want to get a good idea of what mathematics is you should start with a general history of mathematics like Kline's book and quickly move on to Greek mathematics. Even a small understanding of Euclid's axiomatic method will help you understand modern day mathematics and why mathemticians do what they do the way they do it. Having said that, I plan on making more use of Courant's book later on in my mathematics career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, Sept. 14 2000
By 
Judith H. Klitgaard (Cranbury, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: What Is Mathematics?: An Elementary Approach to Ideas and Methods (Paperback)
Like other reviewers, I first read this book between high school and college, and my experience was the same - wonder, challenge, appreciation. It seems to start off innocently enough, but it quickly moves into complexity and density. Sort of like going for a jog with a Kenyan who decides to "pick up the pace" about a mile out. You may never be the same again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece, June 23 2000
This review is from: What Is Mathematics?: An Elementary Approach to Ideas and Methods (Paperback)
If you start to read "What is Mathematics?" in order to find a direct answer to the title's issue, forget it! I would like to adapt a piece of "My Brain is Open", by Bruce Schechter, in the following way: "Asking a mathematician to explain exactly what is mathematics is a little like asking a poet what a poem is, or a musician what jazz is. Asked this last question, Louis Armstrong replied, `Man, if you gotta ask, you'll never know.'" On the other hand, if you start to read just to go deeper and deeper in the beautiful, and sometimes magic, structure of Math than I say: Go ahead! Because this book is a perennial source of pleasure. Of course it demands a lot of work to solve some of its problems (at least for me!), but as Courant says, you cannot learn music only by listening! I have reproduced almost all the calculations of this book and I know that it demands a lot of effort, but it is one of the few books I know where each small piece of calculation has its own reward! This book is my definition of perfect guide to Math style! Try it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

What Is Mathematics?: An Elementary Approach to Ideas and Methods
What Is Mathematics?: An Elementary Approach to Ideas and Methods by Herbert Robbins (Paperback - April 30 1999)
CDN$ 30.95 CDN$ 28.04
Usually ships in 3 to 5 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews