Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 5 2014
By 
Tom Devries "Rupicola" (Brantford, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Understanding Marijuana: A New Look at the Scientific Evidence (Paperback)
Very educational and an real Eye opener!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars valuable, April 21 2003
Intelligent, insightful and well-presented information.
A must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great piece of work., March 28 2003
By 
Jim Scott (Columbus, OH USA) - See all my reviews
This book is the best research work I've ever read. If you have no opinion on marijuana at all you can still respect the work that has gone into this book. If you do have an opinion on marijuana, for or against it, this book is also for you. It states proven facts, or statements that are backed up with facts, and is completely unbiased. For, against, or no opinion on marijuana, you must read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Truth, Dec 24 2002
By A Customer
It's finally here...that book you've been wanting to have around to silence your parent, partner, or employer who gives you too much trouble about pot. The guy knows his stuff and explains it so you can explain it to every dork who tries to tell you that pot is dangerous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All the research to silence the critics, Dec 22 2002
By A Customer
I heard this guy on NPR and thought he sounded like he had a good head on his shoulders, so I bought the book. It is extremely impressive. I was amazed at how much research is actually out there in the first place, but I also felt like Earleywine explained it to me without being condescending or dull. I've become a bit of an expert among my friends, many of whom often spout a lot of hearsay about the drug. It's fun to be able to look something up and show it to them in black and white from a real scientist. Many of my 'abstainer' acquaintances still believe in the gateway theory and that marijuana hurts driving and that it's not valuable as medicine. I can point them to real studies showing that they're wrong. The last chapter is particularly cool and really got me thinking about marijuana policy and why we should change it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Understanding Marijuana, Dec 18 2002
In Understanding Marijuana, Earleywine presents an interesting, unbiased, scientific look at marijuana. He details the effects of marijuana, discusses harm reduction techniques, descibes the history of this wacky weed and outlines the current debates on the subject. Yet, he still keeps the reading interesting and entertaining. Seriously, a great read for someone trying to learn the facts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Two thumbs up!, Dec 11 2002
By 
Little Miss USC (Los Angeles (Ghetto), CA) - See all my reviews
I'll I have to say is this book ROCKS!:) Congratulations Dr. E.!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars he smokes pot--but it didnt effect his brilliance, Dec 5 2002
By A Customer
Mitch earleywine wrote a wonderful piece of literature that is as objective as such a work can be. The amount of information that he provides is staggering. this book can be understood by the common pot head, but is useful to the most studied marijuana researcher. he discussed the plant's history, science, it's place in politics, its subjective effects, and all the reasons it had been illogically prohibited.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Objectivity is a Rare Thing in Marijuana Information, Dec 4 2002
By 
Suzanne B. Ogden "SuzyQLLL" (Vancouver, WA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Mitch Earleywine does an amazing job with this book : he stays objective. The topic of marijuana is so controversial these days that it's hard to find information that is not completely skewed in either pro or anti-marijuana use. Usually "facts" are used only to promote one side of the other and other facts are conveniently omitted. Earleywine takes on the subject with objectivity, intelligence, and a very fine wit. The book is excellently written, with enough facts and science for any hardened scientist and enough clarity for the layperson. I fully recommend it to anyone interested in this subject, and even those who are not! The book is very clever and would be interesting for almost anybody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blows the government propaganda out of the water, Dec 3 2002
By A Customer
I am student at USC taking Dr. Earleywine's "Drug, Behavior, and Society" class. Without turning this into a discussion about his class, I can tell you that Dr. Earleywine knows his stuff. Not only that, but the humor he displays everyday in class is also evident in this book (he actually makes going to class seem like you are going to a comedy show, which I guess makes sense because he occasionally does do comedy shows for USC students). Anyway, this book effectively blows the government's anti-marijuana propoganda out of the water. It'll make you want to join NORML. I don't smoke, but as an American I think it is about time we ended this ridiculous and costly "War on Drugs".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Understanding Marijuana: A New Look at the Scientific Evidence
Understanding Marijuana: A New Look at the Scientific Evidence by Mitch Earleywine (Paperback - March 25 2005)
CDN$ 24.95 CDN$ 23.70
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews