Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely essential
As a freelance writer and editor, I find it hard to believe that I ever got along without this dictionary. Buy it, add the Chicago Manual of Style and The Canadian Style, and you've got an answer to almost any spelling or style question. Oh, and buy The Elements of Style if you want to know how to write.
Published on Sept. 24 2008 by Scott

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
Canadian Oxford Dictionary is my "GO TO" tool for reviewing/proofreading documents. A must have!
Published 5 months ago by Bibiane Rietveld


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely essential, Sept. 24 2008
By 
Scott "word doctor" (Edmonton, AB Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Canadian Oxford Dictionary (Hardcover)
As a freelance writer and editor, I find it hard to believe that I ever got along without this dictionary. Buy it, add the Chicago Manual of Style and The Canadian Style, and you've got an answer to almost any spelling or style question. Oh, and buy The Elements of Style if you want to know how to write.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE DEFINITIVE CANADIAN DICTIONARY, Nov. 11 2011
By 
P@M C. (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canadian Oxford Dictionary (Hardcover)
For editors, writers, publishers, students, and businesspeople, The Canadian Oxford Dictionary is the gold standard. It contains thousands of unique Canadian spellings and regionalisms, distinguishes between Canadian and/or British and U.S. usage, and provides specific usage examples within many definitions. Furthermore, you can't beat Amazon's 37 percent price savings with free Super-Saver shipping and speedy delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My New Dictionary, June 1 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love words and was excited when I received my new dictionary. It was larger than I thought it would be but not overly so. The words are easy to find, the definitions are understandable, and the soft cover allows it to open easy. I'm getting the Thesaurus to match.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars so it is a delight to have a *definitive* edition at hand, Feb. 12 2015
By 
Argyll Sock (Barrie, ON CANADA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canadian Oxford Dictionary (Hardcover)
This is a delightful dictionary, written by the same 'Grammar Lady' who participated in the latest Oxford English Dictionary.

Katherine Barber knows her Canadian words, so it is a delight to have a *definitive* edition at hand. The thoroughly Canadian words 'butter tart' and 'poutine' are present, as is the clearest definition of the subjunctive mood which I have ever read.

I respectfully doff my chapeau to Ms. Barber for producing an exhaustive but not exhausting book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars its good, Sept. 14 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I'm glad I have it I just wish I could have in one screen. It does not come up and I find that frustrating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well written and priced, Sept. 5 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Love the product.Clear and decisive explanations and descriptions .Great for anyone wanting to expand their
use of and understanding of the English vernacular. Great resource and a very reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good dictionnary..., April 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canadian Oxford Dictionary (Hardcover)
I gave it as a present to my friend and he really likes it. Good format and well worth buying...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, Oct. 27 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very nice sized book. Excellent condition. Good paper and printing. Important for Canadian writers. Love the fine onion skin paper. Keeps the book light and traditional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Canadian Oxford Dictionary, April 14 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canadian Oxford Dictionary (Hardcover)
I had to buy this for class as I am studying ling/translation and though I used to fully rely on online sources, this one is great. I use it all the time. Great, complete resource for Canadian spelling that is not always easy to find or confirm elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful, Jan. 12 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Needed a new and updated dictionary...this one certainly fills my need for doing all kinds of puzzles..from crossword to misc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Canadian Oxford Dictionary
Canadian Oxford Dictionary by Katherine Barber (Hardcover - June 30 2004)
CDN$ 59.95 CDN$ 37.58
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews