Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Medical Ethics
Excellent book. It is absolutely required for anyone interested in pursuing medical degree and for those in the field.I would absolutely recommend this book.
Published 15 months ago by woody

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars hmmm...... the publishing industry strikes....
While this book is relatively well written it is only A PRIMER. It is by no means as comprehensive as I expected - and certainly provides no more than a very elementary understanding of medical ethics. While this is a good review for the mccqe1 - I found very little in here that was not also covered in the Toronto Notes. This did expand a little more by using more cases...
Published on April 6 2011 by Silenthunder


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars hmmm...... the publishing industry strikes...., April 6 2011
By 
Silenthunder (richmond hill, ontario) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doing Right: A Practical Guide to Ethics for Medical Trainees and Physicians (Paperback)
While this book is relatively well written it is only A PRIMER. It is by no means as comprehensive as I expected - and certainly provides no more than a very elementary understanding of medical ethics. While this is a good review for the mccqe1 - I found very little in here that was not also covered in the Toronto Notes. This did expand a little more by using more cases etc. to illustrate by example. So I would give this 4 stars.

but then I have to consider value. This book costs 56 dollars. for a 256 page paperback. What the heck?! Whoever is publishing this (oxford) is using an absolutely ridiculous marketing strategy. If this book were even half the price (still not a great value) I'm sure at least twice as many people would buy it. But to pay 56 dollars for this book is not just robbery - its almost embarassing to admit I paid that much for a book that took me about 4 hours to read. I'm sure this book cost about 8 bucks for oxford to print and ship (if even that).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Medical Ethics, May 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doing Right: A Practical Guide to Ethics for Medical Trainees and Physicians (Paperback)
Excellent book. It is absolutely required for anyone interested in pursuing medical degree and for those in the field.I would absolutely recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read but not overly helpful with interviews, July 26 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doing Right: A Practical Guide to Ethics for Medical Trainees and Physicians (Paperback)
I did not find this book was helpful for my NOSM interview. However, it was helpful in my own clinical practice.
That being said, there are far better resources to learn about ethics than this book.
Disregard people who state this book is beneficial for interviews. Just gain knowledge on current medical issues and practice answering questions regarding those types of issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fairly good book. It covers a lot of things about ..., Aug. 19 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doing Right: A Practical Guide to Ethics for Medical Trainees and Physicians (Paperback)
Fairly good book. It covers a lot of things about the current healthcare. It's a top notch book about ethics!
I think for a premed, it goes a little bit too far. I'm saying this because this book is read by almost every premed student.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very helpful, March 17 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doing Right: A Practical Guide to Ethics for Medical Trainees and Physicians (Paperback)
The book arrived just in 2 days and in good condition. The contents are very useful for medical care professionals who strive to provide best service for the clients.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, Feb. 10 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doing Right: A Practical Guide to Ethics for Medical Trainees and Physicians (Paperback)
Great book for medical, or premed students. The author talks about medical cases that almost every physician is bound to face at some point in his/her career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for MMI prep, July 30 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doing Right: A Practical Guide to Ethics for Medical Trainees and Physicians (Paperback)
It's a great book to help approach medical dilemmas. It allows you to think outside the box, which is important in MMI interviews for Canada! Although it's directed towards doctors, the major concepts apply to all healthcare professionals! It's a pretty quick read and it's nice and easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting read, excellent cases, July 3 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doing Right: A Practical Guide to Ethics for Medical Trainees and Physicians (Paperback)
The cases portrayed in this book are phenomenal. They cover almost every (if not all) ethical problem related to medicine. Every case comes with a recap by the author, as well as what the most appropriate course of action would be depending on the case. Highly recommend this book for anyone going to their medical school interview as it provides you with a lot of useful information regarding ethics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, Jan. 29 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doing Right: A Practical Guide to Ethics for Medical Trainees and Physicians (Paperback)
Best book ever! I am applying to medical school and it is helping me a lot! I would recommend it to everyone that wants to apply!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great quality for a great price, July 19 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doing Right: A Practical Guide to Ethics for Medical Trainees and Physicians (Paperback)
Loved the book quality. This is a hard one to find for cheap online since its in high demand. I was able to buy it through them for half the normal price for a book that looks and feels new. Thank you very much!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doing Right: A Practical Guide to Ethics for Medical Trainees and Physicians
Used & New from: CDN$ 137.93
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews