Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Does love always win?
Much Ado About Nothing, a play written by William Shakespeare, is about two couples, who through a series of trials and schemes, fall in love with each other. This is a romantic play, and it contrasts two types of love, romantic and realistic love.
Benedick and Beatrice portray realistic love. They have a solid foundation for each other, they can tease each other,...
Published on Nov. 20 2003 by Nicole

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars much ado about nothing
I thought Much Ado About Nothing made no sense really because it seemed shorter than Antigone, and there was a little too much love going on. I couldn't handle it all, especially the deception by Don John. The first love between Claudio and Hero were like two teenagers in puppy love, and Benedick and Beatrice who had crazy love, which means that they liked each other, but...
Published on Nov. 20 2003 by robert jepsky


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Does love always win?, Nov. 20 2003
By 
Nicole (Intro to Theatre, Waldorf) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Much Ado About Nothing (Paperback)
Much Ado About Nothing, a play written by William Shakespeare, is about two couples, who through a series of trials and schemes, fall in love with each other. This is a romantic play, and it contrasts two types of love, romantic and realistic love.
Benedick and Beatrice portray realistic love. They have a solid foundation for each other, they can tease each other, get mad at each other, and love each other at the same time. They are down to earth and practical about love. Once they fall in love, they cannot be swayed in their decisions even though they try to ignore their feelings. Claudio and Hero, on the other hand, represent romantic love. They live on Cloud 9, and their love is based on physical attraction. In the play they fall in love with each before talking. As soon as their relationship gats rocky, though, Claudio bails out, leaving a heartbroken Hero.
I think that Shakespeare wrote this play to show how comical love is. Benedick and Beatrice, who both swore mutual hate for each other, and pledged they would never get marry, fall desperately in love with each other after overhearing their friend's schemes to get them together. Claudio, who swears his undying affection to Hero, mentally dumps her once in the movie, and then leaves her at the wedding altar, because Don John plays tricks on his mind, and easily sways him to quit loving Hero. I think Shakespeare also tried to show us that true love conquers any obstacle in its way.
There are many life lessons in this play. The title, Much Ado About Nothing, relays one of the most important messages. Claudio constantly makes mountains out of molehills in this play. He is quick to jump to conclusions, and does not stop to verify the facts. He bases his judgments on perceptions, instead of reality.
I would highly recommend this book. Although it was written about 400 years ago, it is still applicable to real life. It was a good book, and it contained drama, action, romance, comedy, and deception. One of its downfalls was that it was hard to understand the language because it was written so long ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars much ado about nothing, Nov. 20 2003
I thought Much Ado About Nothing made no sense really because it seemed shorter than Antigone, and there was a little too much love going on. I couldn't handle it all, especially the deception by Don John. The first love between Claudio and Hero were like two teenagers in puppy love, and Benedick and Beatrice who had crazy love, which means that they liked each other, but didn't confess about their feelings.
William Shakespeare's main purpose was I think showing what kind of loves there were through different types of people. The first of which is Claudio, the desperate type only looking for a girl to look cool. Whenever Don John told Claudio a lie, he would get all mad and act like he could never forgive Hero. He would whine like a little girl. I think the purpose didn't really click into to me because I am too young and don't understand love.
What I have personally learned from this is to not rush into love because even though Don John made up those lies and false judgments about Hero, those could really happen in real life, plus the fact that we are two young to understand it. We get into that high school puppy love which isn't the same as real love. When we are older we will understand because we will be at that stage where all of us will understand the true meaning of love.
I would not recommend this book because I think it had really no point but to show us what kind of loves there are and, how we should treat them with the person we love. The comedy in this was really good, but in this book, I didn't see the mix of comedy and love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars My Review, Nov. 19 2003
By 
Kristan K. (MD United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Much Ado About Nothing (Paperback)
This story starts out as four people who don't really know how or that there fate lies with each other. Hero is a very charming innocent girl who likes to please people; she doesn't stand up for herself but basically obeys what her father tells her. She meets a man, Claudio, who falls in love with her because of her beauty. Claudio is very quick to judge and has no loyalty or consideration of other people. He is very selfish in what he acts on, he doesn't seem to care about anything else except what he wants. These two who fall in love with each other, at first they seem to be the perfect pair but soon much is found out about there character and perseverance when they face a trial that will test them and there devotion to each other.
At a first impression you would never guess their feelings toward each other but little did Benedick and Beatrice know. Beatrice is a fiery woman who is very opinionated and never ashamed to speak her mind, and especially shares her opinions with a certain man named Benedick. Benedick also has a very wild outlook and also likes to speak what he believes is right. They often bicker which they state there differences in a very fiery manner. Benedick protests quite openly how stupid he thinks Love and marriage is, which is comical seeing that later on, he would be giddy with the same love that he mocks. Slowly but surely there obstinate passion and their denial of there true feelings fall into the right place.
I think that Shakespeare's main purpose for writing this book is because he wanted to show how important marriage was. That you shouldn't base your whole relationship on what you look like but you should find out who that person is and then decide if you would want to marry them. Shakespeare wanted to describe the difficulties of having a fake-based love. Because then when you actually have to start dealing with the real issues then how are you going to be able to persevere. Whereas when you have that reality love, the love where you argue about stuff, but its realizing that there are different opinions and that you will get in arguments. So when you have that realistic love then you will know how to deal with the person you married. Whereas on fake love you dont even know who they really are let alone how to deal with them.
I have personally learned how important it really is when you are picking whom you are going to live with for the rest of your life. I have learned that you really need to look inside of the person to know who they are and to look at how they react to situations. Also not to base it on looks, because if you marry them then you are going to live with them for the rest of you life. God told us that if we get married then we are to be as one, and you should totally love them. Not just like how they look, but base your relationships on their character and personality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The piece that made me feel like dancing, Nov. 19 2003
By 
I thought that the play "Much Ado about Nothing" was a very positive and a enjoyable play to read. Shakespeare's main point in the play is that Love makes you act weird. In the play when Benidick over heard Don Jon, Claudio, and Leonato in the garden giving the illusion that Beatrice was in love with him you saw his true feelings come out of him that you thought you would never see. Beatrice and Benidick fight like cats and Dogs but as soon as Benidick overheard that Beatrice was in love with him he acted like a 3 year old when they find out there going to Disney world. He was thrilled at the fact that Beatrice fancied him. Now on the other side of the garden, Hero and another Woman are doing the same Don Jon, Claudio, and Leonato did to Benidick, only to Beatrice. When Beatrice over hears that Benidick fancy's her she is in shock. She acts as if nothing in thw world was wrong with a huge grin on her face and singing like a love struck teenager. Now these are 2 adults that couldn't stand to be in the same room with each other and now they love each other!There's more to that story then just what we think. But you have to read to find out! I have learned a couple of things from reading this play. Iv learned to like people for who they are inside not on the outside. Hero and Claudio's relationship was based on looks. Iv also learned that when u do wrong things punishment may not come to you just then but eventually it will catch up with you. Don Pedro tricked everyone into thinking common things of Hero and he got what he deserved. And last but not least I learned to put family 2nd to God because when everyone else leaves you will still have family. When Claudio made that scene in front of everyone about Hero Beatrice was right there to comfort her. And I would recommend this book to anyone because it was funny and interesting, And I'm a teen. It's hard to keep our attention but me and my class seem to agree that this play was excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Much Ado About Nothing, Nov. 19 2003
By 
Dan Martin (Waldorf, MD United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Much Ado About Nothing (Paperback)
Much Ado About Nothing
This is a great story about two couples that like each other and will eventually marry each other, and the couple of Benedick and Beatrice tend to go against each other, but they are really do love each other, and there is the deception of Benedick and Beatrice, and they will both not like to hear that but they will come around eventually. Hero and Claudio on the other hand tend to be a bit more gullible and will learn that Hero had an affair and Claudio will call off the wedding, only to find out it was not Hero, but Margaret who only looked like Hero from the back, and he "killed" Hero by talking himself out of the wedding the first time and then learns that she was still alive when she surprised him when he was going to marry Beatrice, but then after the real wedding, Benedick calls forth Beatrice and will also marry her.
Throughout the play Don John plans to go against Claudio and tells him that he saw Hero with a mysterious man and that made Claudio call off the wedding. Shakespeare wanted to make this play for all of the irony that it brings the readers or the watchers because of the deception in the Garden of Eden and the deception of Beatrice and Benedick in the garden about them liking each other and that was the irony that he wanted to follow.
I have learned that I should not be gullible like Claudio and be more courageous like Benedick and I would do my best to work for God and not I like Don John.
I would recommend this play for anybody, it was the greatest of William Shakespeare and was a great story, I really liked it, the best part was with Dogsberry and he was interrogating the prisoner, which was the greatest. Almost too good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Little Bit About Love, Nov. 18 2003
By 
Heather Lowman (Waldorf, Maryland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Much Ado About Nothing (Paperback)
Much Ado About Nothing, written by William Shakespeare, was a well written play. It was, for the most part, very understandable. Although, I personally thought it was a pointless story. It is about two young couples and the different types of love that are experienced in life. It was not a waste of reading, because it kept my full attention, but it literally is much to do about nothing!
Shakespeare's purpose for writing this is to show the readers and the audience who sees the performance the real meaning of love. Love is not always what it seems to be. It is portrayed in this play that real love is 'puppy love'. The type of love that Claudio and Hero have seems to be based on looks and what the people around them think. They are not close personally. It gets to the point that Claudio jumps to the conclusion that Hero is cheating on him, without talking with her first. The real life love that is talked about in this story is the Beatrice and Benedick relationship. They act themselves when they are together, even having disagreements like real people. Although they deny the fact they love each other, by the end of the story they are ready for the world to know.
I've learned from reading this play, the real meaning of love. One should not love for the physical appearance of a person but for their personality and what is inside. As corny as it may sound, it is the truth and what everyone needs to know. People also cannot jump to conclusions. That messed up Claudio and Hero's relationship for a big part of the play. They need to acknowledge the other person and have enough respect for them to approach them before assuming.
I would definitely recommend this play to anyone who loves a good laugh. There are many scenes I did not mention that made me smile and makes the story worthwhile!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars about nothing except love, Nov. 17 2003
By 
m newkirk (Waldorf MD, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Much Ado About Nothing (Paperback)
Much Ado About Nothing by William Shakespeare is a romantic comedy about two kinds of love. Realistic love and romantic love are both illustrated by two different couples. Benedict and Beatrice illustrate the kind of love that cannot be easily broken, realistic love. Claudio and Hero represent the type of love that is based mainly on appearance and can be hurt very easily. I believe that this is positive reading because it can teach us a whole plethora of life lessons that can still be applied in our daily lives, while at the same time adding a little bit of comedy to get the point across in a humorous way.
I believe that William Shakespeare's purpose for writing this is to show how wacky people can get when love is in the air. Some examples of this premise can be clearly seen through the relationship of Benedict and Beatrice. In the beginning of the story they hate each other because they had some past issues they had. Once Benedict hears a conversation between Don Pedro, Claudio and Leonato when they said something about Beatrice loving Benedict he became the most anyone has ever seen. That is the same case with Beatrice she overhears a conversation where someone said Benedict loves Beatrice and now she is love struck as well.
I stated earlier that this book had many Life lessons that one could learn. One of the lessons that I personally learned is that outward appearance is good and everything, but that should not be the basis for a marriage relationship. If looks are the basis for a relationship then that relationship will most likely fail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Much Ado About Theatre, Nov. 16 2003
By 
M. Burdin (Drama City, USA) - See all my reviews
Shakespeare's, Much Ado About Nothing, was cleverly composed and delivered in his Old English style of dialogue. It is excellent reading not only for teachers and parents, but also for students as well. I enjoyed the Dover Thrift edition because it is unabridged from the original text and it is exceedingly important to read versions that are as close to the original as possible. The dialogue is very swift and simple to follow.
The action in this play is the result of "love battles" between the characters, Count Claudio and Hero and Signior Benedick and Lady Beatrice. It all began with the hate that Don John had for his legitimate brother and prince, Don Pedro. In the prince's close group of young lords, were Count Claudio and Signior Benedick. Conrade and Borachio were followers of the wicked, Don John. Don John then proceeds to wreck the one important relationship that his brother tried to promote- that of Claudio and Hero. Count Claudio courts the Lady Hero and gains her affection, but through a turn of events, Don John induces Claudio think that Hero has been a wench with the gentleman, Borachio and a myriad of other men in Messina. Paying Borachio handsomely for wooing the servant, Margaret, supposed to be Hero, Don John takes Claudio and Don Pedro to view it from the lawn of the governor's mansion. Then, disgracing Hero in the midst of their wedding party, Claudio is freed from blame and Hero is forced to be claimed dead for her own good. Signior Benedick, being a very cynical lord, tried to woo the Lady Beatrice (Hero's cousin), but she spurned him each time. With a few playful schemes from Don Pedro's party, Beatrice and Benedick are in love permanently. The story plot descends with the capturing of the men who took place in the cabal against Hero. Count Claudio is then forced to mourn and weep for the "loss" of his true love. Hero's father, Leonato, the governor of Messina, commands Claudio to marry his niece who is an identical copy of his deceased daughter. All this agreed upon, Claudio finds out that Hero is still alive and they are married.
Shakespeare, in writing this play, tried to convey to all audiences that love will make people do very silly, giddy things. Benedick had been "the unmarried man" who would not stand for the thought of marriage let alone take part in it, but at the end, he falls in love and is engaged to Beatrice. In the course of the play, Benedick is made a fool of because of what he does for love. With the course character and disposition that he had, it would not have been expected that he would write frothy poems and sing silly love ballads to "sweet Beatrice". Also, Shakespeare let his audience in to the fact that women were not very trusted in his day. In England at that time, men were allowed to be libertines if they wished, but they were only accustomed to marrying virgins. Such was in the case of Hero and Claudio. The Count accused her of improper behavior, everyone else believed it and ignored her version of the story. No matter what answer she gave to the Count's questions, the group only believed Claudio.
In reading this play, I have learned to place comic relief in my own compositions, whether they be poems, novels or short stories. Dogsberry, a very drunk, very unstable comic relief, stumbles upon grand discoveries as Messina's only constable, without even knowing the treasure he has uncovered. This was the case when he arrested Borachio and Conrade on the charges of slander and being "lying knaves". His mixed up dialogue and incredibly stupid actions, cause the reader to enjoy the plot even more.
I recommend this play greatly to all avid readers because of it's incredible art of language and dialogue, knit together by its creator. This play could also be linked to scripture. God says that Satan is the author of all confusion, just like Don John was in the story. Don John caused everyone to doubt the innocence and stability of everyone else, including themselves. I think this play is phenomenal and that everyone should read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Much Ado About Theatre, Nov. 16 2003
By 
M. Burdin (Drama City, USA) - See all my reviews
Shakespeare's, Much Ado About Nothing, was cleverly composed and delivered in his Old English style of dialogue. It is excellent reading not only for teachers and parents, but also for students as well. I enjoyed the Dover Thrift edition because it is unabridged from the original text and it is exceedingly important to read versions that are as close to the original as possible. The dialogue is very swift and simple to follow.
The action in this play is the result of "love battles" between the characters, Count Claudio and Hero and Signior Benedick and Lady Beatrice. It all began with the hate that Don John had for his legitimate brother and prince, Don Pedro. In the prince's close group of young lords, were Count Claudio and Signior Benedick. Conrade and Borachio were followers of the wicked, Don John. Don John then proceeds to wreck the one important relationship that his brother tried to promote- that of Claudio and Hero. Count Claudio courts the Lady Hero and gains her affection, but through a turn of events, Don John induces Claudio think that Hero has been a wench with the gentleman, Borachio and a myriad of other men in Messina. Paying Borachio handsomely for wooing the servant, Margaret, supposed to be Hero, Don John takes Claudio and Don Pedro to view it from the lawn of the governor's mansion. Then, disgracing Hero in the midst of their wedding party, Claudio is freed from blame and Hero is forced to be claimed dead for her own good. Signior Benedick, being a very cynical lord, tried to woo the Lady Beatrice (Hero's cousin), but she spurned him each time. With a few playful schemes from Don Pedro's party, Beatrice and Benedick are in love permanently. The story plot descends with the capturing of the men who took place in the cabal against Hero. Count Claudio is then forced to mourn and weep for the "loss" of his true love. Hero's father, Leonato, the governor of Messina, commands Claudio to marry his niece who is an identical copy of his deceased daughter. All this agreed upon, Claudio finds out that Hero is still alive and they are married.
Shakespeare, in writing this play, tried to convey to all audiences that love will make people do very silly, giddy things. Benedick had been "the unmarried man" who would not stand for the thought of marriage let alone take part in it, but at the end, he falls in love and is engaged to Beatrice. In the course of the play, Benedick is made a fool of because of what he does for love. With the course character and disposition that he had, it would not have been expected that he would write frothy poems and sing silly love ballads to "sweet Beatrice". Also, Shakespeare let his audience in to the fact that women were not very trusted in his day. In England at that time, men were allowed to be libertines if they wished, but they were only accustomed to marrying virgins. Such was in the case of Hero and Claudio. The Count accused her of improper behavior, everyone else believed it and ignored her version of the story. No matter what answer she gave to the Count's questions, the group only believed Claudio.
In reading this play, I have learned to place comic relief in my own compositions, whether they be poems, novels or short stories. Dogsberry, a very drunk, very unstable comic relief, stumbles upon grand discoveries as Messina's only constable, without even knowing the treasure he has uncovered. This was the case when he arrested Borachio and Conrade on the charges of slander and being "lying knaves". His mixed up dialogue and incredibly stupid actions, cause the reader to enjoy the plot even more.
I recommend this play greatly to all avid readers because of it's incredible art of language and dialogue, knit together by its creator. This play could also be linked to scripture. God says that Satan is the author of all confusion, just like Don John was in the story. Don John caused everyone to doubt the innocence and stability of everyone else, including themselves. I think this play is phenomenal and that everyone should read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It was about nothing but I sure liked it, Nov. 12 2003
By 
"grtphillips" (Washington, DC United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Much Ado About Nothing (Paperback)
I have really enjoyed this book because it had characters that I found funny and yet still kind of serious. This book had all of the makings of a classic love story and all of the elements of a comedy. The classic love story is displayed by two characters named Claudio (a man) and Hero(a woman). Claudio is a Count and Hero is the only child of a rich land owner Leonato. Hero and Claudio show an image of unrealistic love. Their friends Benedick and Beatrice display realistic love with all of the ups and downs that life has. Even though they were obviously in love they would not let on to each other their feelings for the other one. Instead they showed hatred to each other with querulous tongues. All together this foursome creates the hilarious yet serious love story of the book. As you can see from this review it is truly a story about nothing but also a story about everything because we all struggle with the love in all of its forms in our own life.
If this is your fist time to read Shakespeare this is a good book to start with because it is written in a way that makes it seem like a modern book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Oxford Shakespeare: Much Ado About Nothing
The Oxford Shakespeare: Much Ado About Nothing by William Shakespeare (Paperback - May 17 2008)
CDN$ 10.95 CDN$ 10.40
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews