Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not-so-easy is right!
It's interesting, but probably too technical for the average person. Since it is based on Richard Feynman's actual lectures, it will be more useful to those who are undergraduates in physics. However, if the math is above you, as it was for me, just skip those parts and assume the formulas support the implications and conclusions presented; it will still open your mind...
Published 6 months ago by Darrell R Juliak

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NOT for the beginner.
If you've got a fair background in beginning Calculus and elementary physics, you may find this book very worthwhile. I wouldn't know.
Don't be fooled, however, by reviewers who claim that Feynman explains things in such a way that even without those basic tools, the book isn't incomprehensible. I've HAD basic calculus, albeit a LONG time ago, and I'm a tad rusty...
Published on Dec 30 2002 by James Yanni


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NOT for the beginner., Dec 30 2002
By 
James Yanni (Bellefontaine Neighbors, Mo. USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Six Not-So-Easy Pieces (Paperback)
If you've got a fair background in beginning Calculus and elementary physics, you may find this book very worthwhile. I wouldn't know.
Don't be fooled, however, by reviewers who claim that Feynman explains things in such a way that even without those basic tools, the book isn't incomprehensible. I've HAD basic calculus, albeit a LONG time ago, and I'm a tad rusty. And I have even less grounding in physics. But I'm far from mathematically illiterate, or incapable. And it isn't true that I got nothing out of my reading of this book; the sixth chapter did, in fact, answer the question that I'd hoped to have answered when I bought it. But by and large, the book was close to impenetrable. Now, clearly, this may well be due to my lack of preparation in the prerequisites for understanding it. But it definitely is NOT the first step in the process of understanding physics, as one reviewer actually called it and others implied. Read "Six Easy Pieces" first, and brush up on first-year Calculus. THEN consider tackling this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not-so-easy is right!, Dec 27 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It's interesting, but probably too technical for the average person. Since it is based on Richard Feynman's actual lectures, it will be more useful to those who are undergraduates in physics. However, if the math is above you, as it was for me, just skip those parts and assume the formulas support the implications and conclusions presented; it will still open your mind and help you gain a better understanding of what space-time really means.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Relativity explained, Oct. 2 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It would be difficult to find a better begin to study relativity. It is, moreover, a joy to read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Feynman's Six Not-so-Easy Pieces is an enjoyable and enlightening read!, July 15 2013
By 
Bookologist - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
For a genius to be a genius, is one thing. For a genius to be also a great teacher is the mark of a truly great genius!

I am not a physicist. However, I have a love of the maths and sciences as they broaden our understanding of the natural world and reveal it to be a thing of great but hidden beauty. When Richard Feynman wrote this book, it is obvious to the reader that he loved to teach. The math is reasonably easy to follow. One of course should know how to manipulate algebraic equations and grasp geometric concepts.

But what makes this an outstanding book is that this man knew how to take abstract concepts and make them understandable to the reader. Furthermore, he did this in a way that lightens the reader's intellectual journey with clever analogies, a touch of humour and a seemingly casual manner that captivates his audience. I strongly recommend this book to anyone who wishes to gain a real basis of understanding of this otherwise arcane subject. Read it. Learn. It's well worth the effort!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Très bon livre de vulgarisation, Oct. 16 2011
Comme toujours, un livre de Richard P. Feynman qui aide à la compréhension d'un sujet difficile à comprendre.
Il explique le tout dans des termes facile a saisir pour ceux qui n'ont pas de formation en physique.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great lectures, though a bit out of place, May 31 2004
By A Customer
Six not so Easy Pieses is a small anthology of six pieces taken from Feynman's great classic, The Feynman Lectures on Physics, which were delivered to Caltech freshman. I would not recommend buying this book unless you have an excellent backround in calculus and how it relates to physics. I have read the first volume of the Lectures, and i will tell you it is nice having this to accompany it, since some of the chapters such as on Relativity merit to be read twice and since the Lectures is so bulky and heavy. There is no way someone can read understand what he's saying without knowing a good amount of math. Its like reading a book in which all the concepts are expressed in Greek. Also, these lectures were given during the middle of course, and he often mentions things which were discussed in previous lectures. The reason it gets a four is because the lectures are great (many great lectures were ommitted though), but it is too short and is out of place. This is NOT a great sequel to Six Easy Lectures, they have practically nothing to do with each other. The perfect sequal to Six Easy Lectures is the whole first volume of the Lectures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Six More Elegantly Explained Concepts, April 4 2003
By 
John (Bartlett, TN, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Six Not-So-Easy Pieces (Paperback)
Six Not-So-Easy Pieces is the sequel to the book Six Easy Pieces. The first book is a collection of six of the easier lectures from Feynman's freshman and sophomore physics classes at CalTech. Six Not-So-Easy Pieces are some of the more difficult lectures from those classes. In contrast to the first book, these lessons are much more mathematical. Freshman calculus is definitely a prerequisite to reading this book. Courses in vector calculus and differential equations will help the reader to more completely understand the works, but they are not absolutely necessary. However, without much mathematical knowledge, one can just take Feynman at his word for all the equations, reading mainly the conceptual explanations, but one will invariably miss out on some of the points. For anyone reading the book, Feynman's teaching style is something that can be enjoyed. He explains the concepts in a comprehensive and not-too-difficult manner and seems to have a full understanding of what the student in the lecture hall is thinking. The six topics (chapters) covered in this book are: Vectors, Symmetry in Physical Laws, The Special Theory of Relativity, Relativistic Energy and Motion, Space-Time, and Curved Space. This book is in no way a survey of physics. It is more of a sampling of Feynman's teaching. However, the common thread that runs through the six pieces is that they all relate to understanding relativity. For the layman who has a mathematical background and wants to understand the concept of relativity, this book is an excellent help. I would suggest reading Six Easy Pieces before reading this book, but it is not necessary. If you enjoyed reading the first book, I would highly recommend this one and vice versa.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not-so-easy to stop reading, Feb. 11 2002
By 
Michael Bayne (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Six Not-So-Easy Pieces (Paperback)
How refreshing it was to read Feynman's explanation of relativity after wading through Einstein's dry coverage of the same material. Perhaps the drama didn't come through in the translation from the German, but Feynman's account was so much more gripping. Moreover, Feynman went far beyond simply explaining the special and general theories of relativity; he pieced them together into the larger fabric of physics and pointed out all sorts of interesting curiosities along the way. If you want a solid introduction to relativity and you have an understanding of basic physics, this is the place to get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not-So-Difficult, But Wonderfully Challenging, June 27 2001
By 
Abigail Nussey (Boston University) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Six Not-So-Easy Pieces (Paperback)
"Six Not-So-Easy Pieces" are six selections from the Feynman "Lectures on Physics". They represent not the hardest material to be found in the "Lectures" (and certainly not elsewhere concerning Feymnan's essays or other lectures) but perhaps some of the most thought-provoking and challenging conceptually (although, if you would like a conceptual challenge, check out Feynman's "QED"). Spacetime, Relativity (Special and General), Vectors, Symmetry --- there is no end to the knowledge and unique grasp of physics that Feynman possesses. I recommend this book highly to anyone with the impulse to ask, "Why?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Challenging Intro to Thinking Physical, June 27 2001
By 
Abigail Nussey (Boston University) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Six Not-So-Easy Pieces (Paperback)
"Six Not-So-Easy Pieces" are six selections from the Feynman "Lectures on Physics". They represent not the hardest material to be found in the "Lectures" (and certainly not elsewhere concerning Feymnan's essays or other lectures) but perhaps some of the most thought-provoking and challenging conceptually (although, if you would like a conceptual challenge, check out Feynman's "QED"). Spacetime, Relativity (Special and General), Vectors, Symmetry --- there is no end to the knowledge and unique grasp of physics that Feynman possesses.
He first introduces the reader to some fundamental that they need in order to begin thinking like a physicist -- specifically, vector algebra, connecting directions with movements in space. This might take a little while for the beginner to work through, but he is careful to show all of the steps geometrically and makes it seem quite clear.
Then he moves on to talk about symmetries physicists know and work with, especially the symmetry where the physics you do is invariant according to your place in space and time. Capping the book off with more abstractly challenging concepts -- special relativity and general relativity, tying ideas of the previous chapters in (vectors and symmetry) he slowly is able to make beginning readers understand aspects of physics difficult even for the amateur physicist.
I recommend this book to any high school student who has had geometry, and to any scientific and non-scientific reader who is curious about the universe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Six Not So Easy Pieces
Six Not So Easy Pieces by RICHARD FEYNMAN (Hardcover - Nov. 28 1996)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.40
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews