Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars DON'T BUY THIS!!!!
Not that its bad. It like most Sun books is very good, but the Third edition is out. Buy that to get the latest on learning JAVA(tm).
Published on June 9 2001 by James Carroll

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars More useful after you already know something about Java
This book is officially blessed by Sun Microsystems, but don't let that fool you - it isn't the best place to start with Java. If you've never used Java before, look for the "Core Java" book. Don't start with this one. I teach Java courses, and we originally tried to use this book as a supplement to in-class work. It wasn't terrible, but we found that the...
Published on Aug. 14 2001 by [ACCOUNT]


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars More useful after you already know something about Java, Aug. 14 2001
This review is from: The Java Tutorial: Object-Oriented Programming for the Internet with CDROM (Paperback)
This book is officially blessed by Sun Microsystems, but don't let that fool you - it isn't the best place to start with Java. If you've never used Java before, look for the "Core Java" book. Don't start with this one. I teach Java courses, and we originally tried to use this book as a supplement to in-class work. It wasn't terrible, but we found that the "Core Java" book was much better received than this for first time students.
This book was originally written for presentation on the Sun web site, where you can still find it. As a result, it's written in a format that is laced with links and cross references, which I found a little distracting in book form. It's still usable, though - and I'd rather have this much material in book form. You can't exactly curl up with a good laptop.
After you've already got the sort of good foundation in Java that a book like "Core Java" provides, this book can be very helpful. You can use this book to fill in the gaps and solidify your understanding of the language. It covers a host of important individual fundamental concepts rather well, and speaks intelligentally to language features, syntax, applets, and more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DON'T BUY THIS!!!!, June 9 2001
By 
James Carroll (Newark, DE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Java Tutorial: Object-Oriented Programming for the Internet with CDROM (Paperback)
Not that its bad. It like most Sun books is very good, but the Third edition is out. Buy that to get the latest on learning JAVA(tm).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars NOT for BEGINNERS, May 26 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Java Tutorial: Object-Oriented Programming for the Internet with CDROM (Paperback)
This was my textbook for a introductory college class for Java, and I never refer to it that much. Not too many examples to take a look at. It is good for a reference when you are more knowledgeable about Java. But don't think this is a handholding sort of book for the neophyte in Java. I wish there were more example for applets in the book. Anybody wants to buy my copy? The college bookstore is not buying it back, and I wonder just why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good for review or introduction, June 13 2000
By 
Stephen Beausang (Raleigh, NC United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Java Tutorial: Object-Oriented Programming for the Internet with CDROM (Paperback)
The authors' tendency to skip to other sections of the book (web link style) is extremely annoying, but other than than that I found the explanations in each section helpful. I am using the extensive examples at the end to refresh for the Java Certification and find them helpful in conjunction with the chapter text. Used along with other source material it is a good introduction to the Java language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not a tutorial, March 30 2000
This review is from: The Java Tutorial: Object-Oriented Programming for the Internet with CDROM (Paperback)
The title is missleading. This is not a tutorial. I am sure a novice will hate Java reading this book. The information is so scattered that you never know at which point the very simple question you have is answered. I have programming experience but I am sure I could never learn Java from this book. I dont know how useful it would be for an experienced Java programmer since I am not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just one more thought., Jan. 31 2000
This review is from: The Java Tutorial: Object-Oriented Programming for the Internet with CDROM (Paperback)
Just read the reviews and found it surprizing that this book is either 5 stars or 1 star. To that I would say this: If you need a reference to Java then buy a reference such as "The Java Class Libraries" otherwise remember that this is a tutorial for Java (an object oriented language). Perhaps that's why there are so many references to other parts in the book. Inheritance references other things all the time. Keep working at this book, and it will open up to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very few good Editors such as Campione & Walrath, Jan. 31 2000
This review is from: The Java Tutorial: Object-Oriented Programming for the Internet with CDROM (Paperback)
As a student in college, I had a very good English professor. He taught us the ins-and-outs of technical report writing. Apparently, Campione and Walrath went to the same school as he did. They teach the ins-and-outs of Java, and they do so in a very clear, complete, and consice manner. If you intend on writting Java pgms. take my advise, buy the book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Good Java overview for experienced programmers, Jan. 3 2000
This review is from: The Java Tutorial: Object-Oriented Programming for the Internet with CDROM (Paperback)
This is a good intro tutorial for experienced programmers familiar with Object-oriented programming(OOP), but people not familiar with an OOP language like C++ will find the explanations lacking and terminology confusing, even though it does try to explain OOP. For the experienced programmer, this books gives a good overview on the various features of the Java language, but you'll have to turn to another reference for more advanced subjects and class descriptions, though the CD does includes complete listing of the Java API. But this book can't really be recommended unless you have to have a book in front of you because the complete tutorial is freely available online and for download on Sun's site at [...] where the tutorial is more up-to-date than the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not a good Java book, Nov. 20 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Java Tutorial: Object-Oriented Programming for the Internet with CDROM (Paperback)
I used this book to try to figure out gridbags. Oh my were they complicated! I spent a day trying to figure it out, but the text and examples simply further confused me. The rest of the book was similar. Instead I picked up Sun's CORE Java Fundamentals - and it showed me just how easy gridbags are to use. It was obvious that this Campione/Walrath book neglected to explain the mere basics!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars It is NOT a good tutorial book, Sept. 3 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Java Tutorial: Object-Oriented Programming for the Internet with CDROM (Paperback)
This book overly abused cross-references. The first paragraph may refer you to the third paragraph and the second paragraph may refer you to the first paragragh. Following the references, you will be running around the get lost. If you trim off this absolutely un-necessary WEB of references, the book could lose 10% of its weight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Java Tutorial: Object-Oriented Programming for the Internet with CDROM
Used & New from: CDN$ 2.48
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews