Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for all Web Project Managers
I am a senior Web project manager and I am also doing my master degree in Web project management. This book is by far better than the others. The author follow a good methodology and give helpful and easy examples, she's very grounded. Recommended for junior as well as senior PM. (sorry for my poor English, I speak French!).
Published on March 11 2002

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars good introductory treatment
Three stars is generous, but I couldn't in good conscience give it fewer. The content is good-quality, but is very "shallow." Geared exclusively toward web project teams, I expected to see some new collaborative techniques, or new spins on accepted methodology. What I got (while good) was only a very basic introduction to proper project management methodology...
Published on March 8 2002 by Shaun W. Taylor


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars This book really doesn't tell you much of anything., July 21 2003
By 
This review is from: Collaborative Web Development: Strategies and Best Practices for Web Teams (Paperback)
Maybe this book had some good information in it during the early 90's when all of this stuff was new but now this book doesn't offer anything to anyone. All of the technical stuff is very old and the focus is on very simple stuff like HTML page directories and images while, the team structure chapters are conflicting seem to be written by someone who doesn't really understand the development process, and the project scenarios have little to no value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for all Web Project Managers, March 11 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Collaborative Web Development: Strategies and Best Practices for Web Teams (Paperback)
I am a senior Web project manager and I am also doing my master degree in Web project management. This book is by far better than the others. The author follow a good methodology and give helpful and easy examples, she's very grounded. Recommended for junior as well as senior PM. (sorry for my poor English, I speak French!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars good introductory treatment, March 8 2002
By 
Shaun W. Taylor (Raleigh, NC United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Collaborative Web Development: Strategies and Best Practices for Web Teams (Paperback)
Three stars is generous, but I couldn't in good conscience give it fewer. The content is good-quality, but is very "shallow." Geared exclusively toward web project teams, I expected to see some new collaborative techniques, or new spins on accepted methodology. What I got (while good) was only a very basic introduction to proper project management methodology. If you are part of, or lead, a web team, and have no experience in formal methodology, grab a copy of this book. Otherwise, look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good resource for project managers new to the web, June 12 2001
By 
Geoff Choo (Trento, Italy) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Collaborative Web Development: Strategies and Best Practices for Web Teams (Paperback)
I'm a web project manager and this book helped me struggle through the initial years of my career. It's a good basic guide to what to do and what not to do in managing web projects, and it would be a good starting point for further research and study using other books, like Siegel's Secret of Successful Projects.
As the title point outs, this is a book about collaborative projects. It's a little thin on the formal techniques of project management, but it's unbeatable on the soft skills of web project management: building the right web team, and how to communicate with them and your clients.
I've used the knowledge I learnt in this books to manage web projects for European blue-chip clients, and it's one of the few books that I keep going back to, for web project management information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre recanning of Siegel's material into a business case, May 15 2001
By 
Clifford Simpkins (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Collaborative Web Development: Strategies and Best Practices for Web Teams (Paperback)
Personally, I found this book a bland read - more akin to the dry business case books I read back in college - this book is aimed almost exclusvely at project managers and shop/salon owners. That being said, the material presented is useful and very good to know. Hence three stars - 4 for content, 2 for presentation.
For anyone looking for the same information, I would recommend David Siegel's books as something that is not only mentally engaging - but visually as well. His book has something for everyone, and gives you concrete "real world" examples while you read (and explanations of why you should use it) instead of "refer to chapter3\blah.doc on the CD-ROM".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well Thought Out, Easy To Read, March 27 2001
This review is from: Collaborative Web Development: Strategies and Best Practices for Web Teams (Paperback)
This book follows right along with most web standards developed by web teams. She writes it in an easy to follow way, using good examples. If you don't have a handle on web development at all, some of the technology side processes might throw you off-this book is written for the Interative Project Manager and Web Teams and it is right on target. Hands on, actual process, key strategies and best practices. Not just fluff like alot of these computer books are lately. If you want to develop your skills, expand your capabilities and become a more organized project manager, this book is for you. -WebProjkt
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff, Jan. 31 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Collaborative Web Development: Strategies and Best Practices for Web Teams (Paperback)
I've been working in the web field since 1995 and have been involved with all sizes and shapes of web projects. As someone who is currently working in the web services business, this book was an extremely useful tool for my team as we continually refine and advance our team processes and procedures. If you have experience with project management there is still more you can learn from this book. If you are new to web project management, this is a great book to build a solid foundation from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Web development's central challenge: not speed but diversity, Nov. 13 2000
By 
David Walker (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Collaborative Web Development: Strategies and Best Practices for Web Teams (Paperback)
(Reviewer's note: since this review was first written, Ashley Friedlein's "Web Project Management" has arrived on the market. It outshines "Collaborative Web Development" in almost every way.)
As new dot.coms joing the late-2000 not.coms, it's becoming more and more obvious that parts of the Web development industry are remarkably badly run. The stories of mismanagement at Boo.com were just the start. After ditching a quarter of its staff, Iam.com has sued its Web development firm, Razorfish, for producing an unusable site. Ex-employees of Digital Entertainment Network are swapping tales about the weirdness of trying to get anything done there. Web sites need to be managed, and the evidence suggests the task is harder than it appears.
Why so tough? Analysts often claim that the defining characteristic of Web project management is speed - that famous "Internet time" we heard so much about before the April 2000 tech-wreck.
But Jessica Burdman doubts that time is the essence of the Web development challenge. She notes the often similarly aggressive schedules in fields like software creation. (She could just as easily cite television and print production guidelines.)
Burdman's book suggests instead that the central challenge of Web development is the sheer breadth of the Web development task. That task encompasses everything from application programming to direct marketing copywriting to Internet security to video production. The people who perform these tasks will arrive with different backgrounds, different expectations, different requirements for a work environment. Burdman expands on 20 different types of core, extended and special team members. One site manager comments to her that development managers "become more like an orchestra conductor than a project manager".
In smaller projects - typical of the environment in Australia, from where I'm writing - team members must often play multiple roles. That elevates the demands both on the assembler of the team, and on the team members themselves.
The diverse nature of the Web team also poses a substantial communications challenge. In a family, notes Burdman, everyone can communicate almost intuitively. The same holds for families of designers, programmers or sales professionals. Assemble people from these different families for a project, and the non-verbal, implied communication must be reconstructed.
But the broad nature of the Web team brings rewards as well. In a world of narrow specialisation, Web development provides a rare haven for the talented generalist who can think in structures and processes.
And if your project involves high-level coding, your development team will contain a rich pool of structured intelligences - good programmers, who can bring rich insights to a project. Burdman quotes one technology director as saying that "(software) engineers must participate in every step of the process ... They're smart people and if you have them all in the room, great things can happen."
If you're new to Web project management, then Burdman provides an informal checklist for managing Web projects. Her book whisks you across the little-mapped territory of Web project management in just over 200 pages. And it concentrates on the team-intensive aspects of the task, which necessarily occur later in the development cycle.
Burdman spent time as a technical writer before she "stumbled into Web project management". Perhaps as a result, her book suffers a little from the classic shortcoming of the technical writer's product: overview without authority. A better book might not only list the challenges, but draw attention to the challenges that matter most. A better book might draw less on the author's small group of sometimes disorganised-sounding friends. A better book might embrace more fully the rigor of established fields like software development, where effective methodologies such as use cases have grown up over time. A better book might avoid telling slips, such as calling "requirements" a layman's term for "specifications". A better book might even include higher-quality documentation templates than the lightweight efforts on this volume's obligatory CD.
But if you're wondering why Web development management seems so tough, there are worse places to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Worthless, Oct. 27 2000
By 
Paul Boos (Washington, DC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Collaborative Web Development: Strategies and Best Practices for Web Teams (Paperback)
I found this book practically worthless; I had hoped it would cover and the table of contents seemed to indicate that it would have practical advice in the following areas:
- a web development methodology: it doesn't at all - it vaguely even covers a process - techniques for successful implementation: it doesn't it provides some moderatley useful guidance, but hardly techniques that provide a foundation for best practices - examples/recommendations of appropriate standards that should be adopted: few if any recommendations were made and even funnier was the recommendations ofr tools, standards, and methods paragraph on page 79: I quote "Once you have taken a look at your communications structure, you can start to put some best practices into effect." That is it - that is the whole paragraph! - what are the challenges to developing a dynamic - data driven website with real applications: these are largely ignored or glossed over. This book focuses on typical "uploading content as static web pages" type projects.
I could rant on several more, but it woudl be pointless. There are some inconsistencies in advice - almost like the book was written at very different times, or by different people. Page 39 supposedly gives you guidance on managing virtual teams, but then page 182 says there is nothing more effective than basically doing MBWA (that's management by walking around - a type of management style advocated many moons ago by professionals and such...). Hmmm... how do I virtually walk around - needless to say, page 39 had not enough detail to help.
Recommendation: Save your money and forget this one, buy a standard software project management book focused on RAD/JAD development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Introduction to how Web teams work, Oct. 7 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Collaborative Web Development: Strategies and Best Practices for Web Teams (Paperback)
I give a copy of this book to new hires at my company (a small NYC Web marketing and development firm) who are entry level or do not have past experience working as part of a diversified Web development team.
This book is probably not totally "eye-opening" to those who have worked at any of the well established Web agencies/development companies (like me), but it's still useful to compare notes on your own production process and best practices versus that described in Burdman's book (basically Red Sky Interactive's process). And the CD with sample forms is interesting and may inspire some processes you might want to try.
The only way this book could be a bit better is if it had more "what to do when X happens". There are standard process errors and client demands/misunderstandings that result in various process issues that could be addressed in this book more thoroughly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Collaborative Web Development: Strategies and Best Practices for Web Teams
CDN$ 46.99 CDN$ 29.60
Usually ships in 3 to 6 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews