Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Algorithm Books in Computer Science
These three books are amazing. A deep, definitive coverage of the theoretical basis of computer science. In fact, to the extent that computer science is a science, you should refer to these books, if you are ever in doubt. As a measure of how well regarded these are, Knuth mentions in his home page that American Scientist magazine ranked this amongst the top 12 scientific...
Published on Oct. 28 2002 by W Boudville

versus
26 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars THE CS Bible? Let's be realistic and honest
The Art of CP (TAoCP) book set covers the core of computer science curriculum on data structures and algorithms. Not everything there is today (that would be impossible), just the core, but that's more than enough to begin with (and for most people quite sufficient in general.) This is typical Knuth: he knows his stuff, he writes very well, he's an encyclopedic mind; his...
Published on Nov. 14 2003 by John Doe


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Are you serious about algorithms?, Feb. 9 2001
This review is from: The Art of Computer Programming Boxed Set (Volumes 1-3) (Hardcover)
These are really great books. If you are serious about algorithms and you are serius about data structures than this is a book you are looking for. But you should be Intermediate level programmer to read these books. Chapter on sorting is really a great one. Knuth has done a great job on this chapter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars outstanding, March 1 2002
This review is from: The Art of Computer Programming Boxed Set (Volumes 1-3) (Hardcover)
these books constitute the definitive collection of the fundamental concepts of computational algorithms and data structures. the discussions of sorting and search are particularly good. the amount of historical material is also outstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Much more here than mere computer science., Sept. 10 1999
By 
Thomas Kennett (San Francisco, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Art of Computer Programming Boxed Set (Volumes 1-3) (Hardcover)
Dr. Knuth writes as much of mind as he does of computer programming. What the reader sees and learns is how mentality moves and is moved by the algorithmic distribution of information.
To grok the content, waiting is fullness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Required reading, Aug. 30 2003
This review is from: The Art of Computer Programming Boxed Set (Volumes 1-3) (Hardcover)
A generation grew up on Knuth, yet many new coders simply do not know who he is.
The Art of Computer Programming is required reading for anyone serious about computer programming, it is as simply as that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just try sorting and searching with out this book., Oct. 27 2013
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Art of Computer Programming Boxed Set (Volumes 1-3) (Hardcover)
I have to admit I am poor so I just bought the book I needed. I needed to build a database that did not use any commercial package. This book saved my bacon. I almost did not buy it when all I saw in it was math. But I was desperate and it paid off. Turns out you could not explain it any other way. I use it primarily for balanced trees. I may try some thing more exotic later. I can not tell you about the other volumes but this one will defiantly pay for it's self.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I'll give this 100 stars., April 2 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Art of Computer Programming Boxed Set (Volumes 1-3) (Hardcover)
Donal Knuth is truly a genius in the Computer Science fields. I read these books to find some errata :), but couldn't find one so far.. and I even enjoy reading the books meanwhile..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond extraordinary, Nov. 19 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Art of Computer Programming Boxed Set (Volumes 1-3) (Hardcover)
This is a work of surpassing beauty, akin to Beethoven's Fifth. This book introduced me to the joy of computer science and still fills me with wonder that one man could do so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars every programmer must have, July 23 2001
By 
Serge Shimanovsky (Brooklyn, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Art of Computer Programming Boxed Set (Volumes 1-3) (Hardcover)
if you consider yourself a "programmer" you must have, and not just have - you must read these books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proper perspective to appreciate, Nov. 15 2008
By 
This review is from: The Art of Computer Programming Boxed Set (Volumes 1-3) (Hardcover)
Our consumer society provides us with many choices, and it's considered an insult to have less than a dozen different products from which to pick. This text is not a supermarket item with a *best before date*. It does not exist to provide you with plug-in code for your homework assignment. It's not to compared to the latest *** for Dummies publication. What is it then? It is meant to be a scientific document explaining ideas basic to CS from the ground up, and I would add, in the same class as Euclid, or Newton. How many people alive today have read the major works by either author. I don't mean have they taken courses in mathematics - I mean the actual *translated* documents. Easy access to some of these famous works, and from many other authors, was recently annotated by Stephen Hawking called *God Created the Integers*. Try reading those chapters and see how much you understand. Many of these papers are hundreds of years old, ideas that we've lived with for a very long time, but how many of us have understood the depth of rigor that went into developing the foundation of modern mathematics.

Every age is under the impression that their's is the enlightened one, that knowledge is somehow easier to grasp because we are somehow *smarter* than our ancestors - we want to be able to buy a book and deem it very good if we can learn without effort - take a pill and flash the pages and absorb the ideas through our fingertips.

We go to college and university to learn how to learn and how to think. We learn the process of thinking, and understanding the fundamentals of logical deduction and proof is not only in the realm of mathematics but of life experience in general: law, philosophy, physics, consciousness; all require the same insight.

If you don't care how a computer works and just want to access a high level function call or object to do all the work, then you are a consumer of someone else's product. But if you are toolmaker, and believe that every program you write deserves to be a well crafted thing, then you are also an artist. If this idea is foreign to you, then you should pass on these books and buy a *cookbook* from someone else.

The perfect example that categorizes programmers is the willingness or suspicion to use the built-in random number generator available in any given language-specific math library. You are putting application and your reputation on the line by taking for granted that every library function was well-designed and perfect, but if the writers of libraries also took for granted their tools to the same degree as you, then perhaps it will all come crashing down like a house of cards.

Is this book for you - 99% of you will say no. For the 1% that are left and wish to build the tools the other 99% will use, yes this book is for you. This is why open-source software, particularly for systems, compilers, and libraries is so important. Getting a look under the hood separates the magic from the science, and we need to know the details to avoid falling back into the dark ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is the best programming book ever!, March 25 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Art of Computer Programming Boxed Set (Volumes 1-3) (Hardcover)
These books are a must for programmers. GET IT!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Art of Computer Programming Boxed Set (Volumes 1-3)
The Art of Computer Programming Boxed Set (Volumes 1-3) by Donald E. Knuth (Hardcover - Oct. 5 1998)
CDN$ 199.90 CDN$ 125.94
Usually ships in 12 to 13 days
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews