Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proper perspective to appreciate
Our consumer society provides us with many choices, and it's considered an insult to have less than a dozen different products from which to pick. This text is not a supermarket item with a *best before date*. It does not exist to provide you with plug-in code for your homework assignment. It's not to compared to the latest *** for Dummies publication. What is it...
Published on Nov. 15 2008 by Brent Daignault

versus
26 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars THE CS Bible? Let's be realistic and honest
The Art of CP (TAoCP) book set covers the core of computer science curriculum on data structures and algorithms. Not everything there is today (that would be impossible), just the core, but that's more than enough to begin with (and for most people quite sufficient in general.) This is typical Knuth: he knows his stuff, he writes very well, he's an encyclopedic mind; his...
Published on Nov. 14 2003 by John Doe


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A Classical & Definitive Work, Oct. 24 2003
By 
Payson Hall (Sacramento, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Art of Computer Programming Boxed Set (Volumes 1-3) (Hardcover)
This is the foundation of any computer scientist's library. While certainly NOT light reading, the wealth of information contained in these volumes is relevant to a variety of real world problems in computing. While few people may be willing to commit the time and effort to read all three volumes, those who do will find themselves among the most informed and fully grounded professionals in computing today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars THE CS Bible? Let's be realistic and honest, Nov. 14 2003
By 
John Doe (Bloomsbery, MO, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Art of Computer Programming Boxed Set (Volumes 1-3) (Hardcover)
The Art of CP (TAoCP) book set covers the core of computer science curriculum on data structures and algorithms. Not everything there is today (that would be impossible), just the core, but that's more than enough to begin with (and for most people quite sufficient in general.) This is typical Knuth: he knows his stuff, he writes very well, he's an encyclopedic mind; his texts are mathematically rich, yet at the same time not overwhelming; time and again he demonstrates this 19-th century germanic scientific style, which is to say he's incredibly detailed and exact -- one can even accuse him of pedantry, but in a good sense. He writes with a sharp, dry wit (his sense of humour makes him unique among the rest of the writers on the computing theme.) So far so good.
However, all the benefits mentioned above notwithstanding, I have to say that on balance this triptych of his is impractical. It has either become outdated, or was even originally written with an independently-wealthy reader in mind, someone like an 18th century gentleman-farmer who, fully disencumbered of the vulgarity of having to earn a living, is leasurely indulging in the exercise of his mental ability for the pure intellectual challenge of it; someone with no plebeian concerns of practicality ever entering his exalted mind.
The problem is with MIX. I second what the others said about it, and what's more, I refuse to accept the explanation (purportedly Knuth's) posted below by someone: the problem is not only that MIX is an assembly language (which still would be a functional malapropism in a book like that) -- no, a far more grievous problem is that MIX is a phantasm, a whimsically extravagant invention having no real-life equivalent, at least today. The mythical processor underlying this thing (5-byte words, etc) is not something that anyone below 40 years of age has ever seen, even if it does have historical analogues.
The gravamen of the offence here is not that it is some real but unfamiliar processor's assembly -- after all, if you know i86 assembly, you can (kinda, sorta) read the motorola equivalent... No, it is that MIX and the fairy-tale processor architecture it is imagined to run on are *purposely made to resemble nothing* that you may have some familiarity with -- thus making the already-difficult material obfuscated beyond anything even marginally manageable for a regular computing Joe, who has a (real) life, and at any rate, can't limit his CS intake to this one work.
Elucidating difficult in itself CS material via examples in assembly language of even a real (or made-up but realistic) kind is a very bad choice because the student's attention, already taxed by the subject matter itself, will be further burdened by the non-algorithmic nature of the assembly language. But to exacerbate this potential ordeal by insisting on the use of something so gratuitously eccentric and profitless for the reader as MIX is simply unconscionable.
Ideally, what a good CS text of this sort will use is pseudocode. But if a writer wishes to add to his book a realistic slant, it is acceptable that he use some sort of real language -- so long as it is algorithmic; today, C is a perfect choice. Knuth counters (and he's absolutely right): there was no C when the book was written. He's also right in saying that had he written it with Pascal it would have become outdated by now. So if that was the problem, TAoCP could have been written with some sort of pseudocode; this would last forever.
Of course, even using a real language would not actually be such a great problem -- we all know of similar books where the originally-chosen language was replaced when it fell in disuse: for example the numeric programming book by Teukolsky; it started with fortran and was then redone in C; this demonstrates that the language part can be brought up-to-date if necessary. Both Fortran and C are algorithmic languages that, owing to their readability, can be used instead of pseudocode.
Ideally, books should be written with both pseudocode (a must, in my view), and, in order to give an example of an actual implementation, some real language (see the recent book by Goodrich; it's pseudocode throughout and a smattering of Java here and there -- perfect!)
To sum it all up: measured by today's needs, The Art of CP is overrated (out of snobbery; bragging of having read it is "kewl"; meantime, the truth is, not too many people are capable of such a feat for the reasons stipulated above; when actually used, TAoCP books are read in chunks, a chapter here, a chapter there -- which is a shame, because they are very well written, and to work through them in their entirety would be much more profitable than biting off a little here and there.)
I am going to be slammed by the Knuth cult followers for saying this, but I do not recommend these books. Instead, consider something similar but more practical: two titles immediately come to mind, Cormen &Co. (a.k.a. CLR) and Goodrich (forget the title but search on the name.) Foundations of Computer Science by Aho/Ullmann (The Tortoise book) is a suitable option as well.
TAoCP is potentially very good, but until someone ruthlessly excises all the bloody junk (MIX etc.) and replaces it with pseudocode or C, it will remain useless.
Don't get me wrong here: Knuth is an admirable, justly venerated computer scientist, and a very good writer to boot (for example his Concrete Mathematics book is excellent). But when it comes to TAoCP, even though to mention it is very chic in some circles, we must admit the obvious: he has produced a work that's impenetrable (or, rather, the enormity of time and effort required to penetrate it makes such an attempt an unworthy investment) and therefore useless in practical terms for the majority of the potential readership.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Are you serious about algorithms?, Feb. 9 2001
This review is from: The Art of Computer Programming Boxed Set (Volumes 1-3) (Hardcover)
These are really great books. If you are serious about algorithms and you are serius about data structures than this is a book you are looking for. But you should be Intermediate level programmer to read these books. Chapter on sorting is really a great one. Knuth has done a great job on this chapter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars outstanding, March 1 2002
This review is from: The Art of Computer Programming Boxed Set (Volumes 1-3) (Hardcover)
these books constitute the definitive collection of the fundamental concepts of computational algorithms and data structures. the discussions of sorting and search are particularly good. the amount of historical material is also outstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Much more here than mere computer science., Sept. 10 1999
By 
Thomas Kennett (San Francisco, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Art of Computer Programming Boxed Set (Volumes 1-3) (Hardcover)
Dr. Knuth writes as much of mind as he does of computer programming. What the reader sees and learns is how mentality moves and is moved by the algorithmic distribution of information.
To grok the content, waiting is fullness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Required reading, Aug. 30 2003
This review is from: The Art of Computer Programming Boxed Set (Volumes 1-3) (Hardcover)
A generation grew up on Knuth, yet many new coders simply do not know who he is.
The Art of Computer Programming is required reading for anyone serious about computer programming, it is as simply as that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just try sorting and searching with out this book., Oct. 27 2013
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Art of Computer Programming Boxed Set (Volumes 1-3) (Hardcover)
I have to admit I am poor so I just bought the book I needed. I needed to build a database that did not use any commercial package. This book saved my bacon. I almost did not buy it when all I saw in it was math. But I was desperate and it paid off. Turns out you could not explain it any other way. I use it primarily for balanced trees. I may try some thing more exotic later. I can not tell you about the other volumes but this one will defiantly pay for it's self.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I'll give this 100 stars., April 2 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Art of Computer Programming Boxed Set (Volumes 1-3) (Hardcover)
Donal Knuth is truly a genius in the Computer Science fields. I read these books to find some errata :), but couldn't find one so far.. and I even enjoy reading the books meanwhile..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond extraordinary, Nov. 19 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Art of Computer Programming Boxed Set (Volumes 1-3) (Hardcover)
This is a work of surpassing beauty, akin to Beethoven's Fifth. This book introduced me to the joy of computer science and still fills me with wonder that one man could do so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars every programmer must have, July 23 2001
By 
Serge Shimanovsky (Brooklyn, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Art of Computer Programming Boxed Set (Volumes 1-3) (Hardcover)
if you consider yourself a "programmer" you must have, and not just have - you must read these books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Art of Computer Programming Boxed Set (Volumes 1-3)
The Art of Computer Programming Boxed Set (Volumes 1-3) by Donald E. Knuth (Hardcover - Oct. 5 1998)
Used & New from: CDN$ 176.83
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews