Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Just try sorting and searching with out this book.
I have to admit I am poor so I just bought the book I needed. I needed to build a database that did not use any commercial package. This book saved my bacon. I almost did not buy it when all I saw in it was math. But I was desperate and it paid off. Turns out you could not explain it any other way. I use it primarily for balanced trees. I may try some thing more exotic...
Published 9 months ago by bernie

versus
26 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars THE CS Bible? Let's be realistic and honest
The Art of CP (TAoCP) book set covers the core of computer science curriculum on data structures and algorithms. Not everything there is today (that would be impossible), just the core, but that's more than enough to begin with (and for most people quite sufficient in general.) This is typical Knuth: he knows his stuff, he writes very well, he's an encyclopedic mind; his...
Published on Nov. 14 2003 by John Doe


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Full of little gems, March 8 2001
This review is from: The Art of Computer Programming Boxed Set (Volumes 1-3) (Hardcover)
Knuth is obviously in the eduction business. This is a book written for learning from. It's very easy to ignore the parts that are too detailed for your needs and not feel like you've missed something. My favourite parts are his historical notes. These are the reward for ploughing through a section, some of them quite facinating.
I'm a compiler designer. Compilers like most other big applications are built on stacks, queues, lists, trees, etc. These books will teach you how to implement these structures solidly and effeciently. Alot of my time at work involves reading research papers on optimisations. I need to understand how algorithms are analysed and how to compare two algorithms. These books give the mathematical tools needed to perform that job. Some criticise his using a machine language for examples. I personally think that this is a good thing. Seeing something done in assembly shows you how easy it really is. Sometimes hhigh level languages with all their abstractions make things look more complex than they need be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Are you serious about algorithms?, Feb. 9 2001
This review is from: The Art of Computer Programming Boxed Set (Volumes 1-3) (Hardcover)
These are really great books. If you are serious about algorithms and you are serius about data structures than this is a book you are looking for. But you should be Intermediate level programmer to read these books. Chapter on sorting is really a great one. Knuth has done a great job on this chapter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book. Must have on shelf, April 11 2000
This review is from: The Art of Computer Programming Boxed Set (Volumes 1-3) (Hardcover)
I enjoyed this series of books tremendously. Detailed explanation of various algorithms. Uses a fictional MIX assembly language machine to show code examples. This is unusual, but turned about to be very very helpful. The excerises at the end are have a rating of how difficult they are to solve, so you can choose which ones u want to tackle. Detailed answers for almost ALL the problems at the end of the book - always a plus!
OH .. and there are some problems marked "Unsolved".. If you can solve any of these, you might just be able to get a PhD for it :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, for certain people!, April 4 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Art of Computer Programming Boxed Set (Volumes 1-3) (Hardcover)
These books are indisputably classics of the field, and like all classics they have religious adherents and equally firm detractors. The key difference between the two groups is that the adherents are interested in computer SCIENCE, whereas the rest are more taken with computer programming. The books are well written, quite mathematical, and abstract. The books deal with the core subjects of computer science and shy away from the trendy, and so some people tend to see them as anachronistic. Nevertheless, they are deservedly core references in computer science, and a joy for any patient, theoretically minded reader. There are three points I believe should be made. 1) a lot of the detractors of the books are saying correct things: the books don't deal with hot topics, they do present things in greater detail than is necessary in day to day programming, they are books they require a lot of the reader. What they don't recognize is that this is the intention, and that there is nothing wrong with that. The book is targeted at those with a geniune interest in theoretical computer science. 2) many reviewers complain about Knuth's typesetting system, TeX. What they fail to recognize is that TeX is incredibly useful, and about as user friendly as could be expected, for the task for which it was designed: typesetting professional quality mathematics. Anyone who challenges this statement would have to contend with virtually the entire community of people who write papers using higher mathematics, including virtually all professional physicists, mathematicians, and computer scientists. 3) some people accuse Knuth's books of being poorly written. These people are ignorant: either they have not read the works, or they would not recognize skillful writing if they saw it. These books are splendid examples of scientific writing, and are justifiably acclaimed as such. In short, Knuth's books have ensured that the word "science" deserves its place in the phrase "computer science"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, for certain people!, April 4 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Art of Computer Programming Boxed Set (Volumes 1-3) (Hardcover)
These books are indisputably classics of the field, and like all classics they have religious adherents and equally firm detractors. The key difference between the two groups is that the adherents are interested in computer SCIENCE, whereas the rest are more taken with computer programming. The books are well written, quite mathematical, and abstract. The books deal with the core subjects of computer science and shy away from the trendy, and so some people tend to see them as anachronistic. Nevertheless, they are deservedly core references in computer science, and a joy for any patient, theoretically minded reader. There are three points I believe should be made. 1) a lot of the detractors of the books are saying correct things: the books don't deal with hot topics, they do present things in greater detail than is necessary in day to day programming, they are books they require a lot of the reader. What they don't recognize is that this is the intention, and that there is nothing wrong with that. The book is targeted at those with a geniune interest in theoretical computer science. 2) many reviewers complain about Knuth's typesetting system, TeX. What they fail to recognize is that TeX is incredibly useful, and about as user friendly as could be expected, for the task for which it was designed: typesetting professional quality mathematics. Anyone who challenges this statement would have to contend with virtually the entire community of people who write papers using higher mathematics, including virtually all professional physicists, mathematicians, and computer scientists. 3) some people accuse Knuth's books of being poorly written. These people are ignorant: either they have not read the works, or they would not recognize skillful writing if they saw it. These books are splendid examples of scientific writing, and are justifiably acclaimed as such. In short, Knuth's books have ensured that the word "science" deserves its place in the phrase "computer science"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great series ! Must have for any programmer, March 29 2000
This review is from: The Art of Computer Programming Boxed Set (Volumes 1-3) (Hardcover)
I am just buying another set since my first set got damaged in transit. This is a great book for a programmer and anyone who thinks otherwise, atleast in my humble opinion, is not a computer scientist. It is detailed, mathematical and has tons of great problem organized by difficulty. I can safely challenge anyone who doesn't appreciate this book, to solve some of the more diffcult problems.
Great book !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond extraordinary, Nov. 19 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Art of Computer Programming Boxed Set (Volumes 1-3) (Hardcover)
This is a work of surpassing beauty, akin to Beethoven's Fifth. This book introduced me to the joy of computer science and still fills me with wonder that one man could do so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Much more here than mere computer science., Sept. 10 1999
By 
Thomas Kennett (San Francisco, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Art of Computer Programming Boxed Set (Volumes 1-3) (Hardcover)
Dr. Knuth writes as much of mind as he does of computer programming. What the reader sees and learns is how mentality moves and is moved by the algorithmic distribution of information.
To grok the content, waiting is fullness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive, June 15 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Art of Computer Programming Boxed Set (Volumes 1-3) (Hardcover)
As Knuth himself says, it is impossible for any one person to keep up with all the research in computer science, but these 3 volumes do a remarkably good job of distilling the most important results and explaining them with mathematical rigor.
Each volume contains 2 chapters. Ch. 1, Basic Concepts: mathematical foundations and a description of MIX, a hypothetical machine (now available in software emulations). Ch. 2, Information Structures: lists, trees, memory allocation, garbage collection. Ch. 3, Random Numbers: how to produce series of "random" numbers and test their statistical properties. Ch. 4, Arithmetic: algorithms for integer and floating-point arithmetic. Ch. 5, Sorting: both in memory and on disks or tapes. Ch. 6, Searching: sequential, binary, hashing.
Despite the detailed coverage of the topics, which often involves esoteric mathematical notation, the author's lively style makes the algorithms and the main theoretical results relatively easy to grasp. If all you care about is getting a program to run, buy another book; but if you really want to understand how and why software works, there's nothing quite like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The classic book in programming., April 25 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Art of Computer Programming Boxed Set (Volumes 1-3) (Hardcover)
A must for all programmers. It is star of stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Art of Computer Programming Boxed Set (Volumes 1-3)
The Art of Computer Programming Boxed Set (Volumes 1-3) by Donald E. Knuth (Hardcover - Oct. 5 1998)
CDN$ 199.90 CDN$ 125.94
Usually ships in 2 to 5 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews