Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book used in UW Extension course
A good book for introducing embedded systems concepts from a practical point of view. It is used, along with uCOS-II by Jean J Labrosse, in a one of a kind certificate program course at the
University of Washington Extension,
Embedded and Real-Time Systems Programming (...)
Published on Nov. 10 2003

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Way to basic!
It's just what it say "a primer". This book seems like it would be great for someone who has never programmed for embedded systems. However, if you have even a few months experiance under your belt, this book is a big waste of time. I purchased this book to use a quick refresh after being away from embedded programming for a few years. Sent it back after reading about...
Published on Dec 19 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars Way to basic!, Dec 19 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: An Embedded Software Primer (Paperback)
It's just what it say "a primer". This book seems like it would be great for someone who has never programmed for embedded systems. However, if you have even a few months experiance under your belt, this book is a big waste of time. I purchased this book to use a quick refresh after being away from embedded programming for a few years. Sent it back after reading about 25% and skimming the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book used in UW Extension course, Nov. 10 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: An Embedded Software Primer (Paperback)
A good book for introducing embedded systems concepts from a practical point of view. It is used, along with uCOS-II by Jean J Labrosse, in a one of a kind certificate program course at the
University of Washington Extension,
Embedded and Real-Time Systems Programming (...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Reading for embedded developers, Nov. 4 2003
By 
Steven P Cavanagh (Calgary, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: An Embedded Software Primer (Paperback)
I've been working with embedded systems for 10 years, and found lots of info, I hadn't seen or read before. The chapters on hardware is good info, and the review of RTOS architectures and core functions was a nice refresher. If you're new to embedded system design, then I'd highly recommend this book to nail down the basics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must-read Embedded Software Primer, Oct. 1 2002
By 
Rajesh S. Raghavan (Baltimore, MD 21234) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: An Embedded Software Primer (Paperback)
If you are going to buy only one book on Embedded Software Programming, this should be the one. The author introduces virtually everything an engineer needs to know about programming embedded systems. There are two chapters describing hardware stuff that is useful for the software engineer to know. There is a chapter on Interrupts. There are three chapters on programming in an RTOS environment. All of the chapters include coding examples on what to do, and also examples of code with bugs to watch out for. There is also a chapter on debugging techniques.
All of the other FIVE STAR reviews (and many of the FOUR STAR ones as well) contain more specific points which I won't repeat here.
However, I will echo what I said at the beginnning. If there is only one book you are going to buy about programming embedded systems, this should be the one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for beginners and undergraduate level students, July 25 2002
By 
This review is from: An Embedded Software Primer (Paperback)
I started working on an embedded platform 1 year ago. Although now I have a good understanding of a lot of the aspects of the system, I never get the big picture.
This book provides exactly what I needed.
If you are a working software engineer and have spent years doing high level programming, the first few chapters will give you a good review of low-level-close-to-the-machine things that you need to know, which is also very useful for students as these are very important concepts that they need to understand to have a solid foundation to conquer higher level, more abstract CS subjects.
In embedded system, bugs in task code can bring down the device. Author has done a very good job explaining how to protect shared data using mechanism provided by a RTOS. The communication between interrupt/task and among tasks are also discussed thoroughly.
Unlike the other reviewer, I found the use of the C!! language in this book a very clever way to abstract away the hardware dependent code from the point being discussed. Consider it pseudo comment if you will.
BTW, the excellent typesetting and use of fonts also makes it a very pleasant experience reading this book.
Looking forward to see a more advanced text on embedded system from this author in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good overview, July 16 2002
By 
Jonathan Happel (Streamwood, Il United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: An Embedded Software Primer (Paperback)
This book is very good overview of the process of embedded software design. Experts in embedded software design will probably not get much out of this book as he doesn't go into much detail on the individual topics he covers. However, the scope of this book is intended for those who are looking for a general overview of embedded systems so criticism is not really warrented IMO. Topics covered include RTOS, memory management, message management and multi-tasking system development. Anyone looking to get started on learning the principles of embedded software development should find this book worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Too basic, May 13 2002
By 
Obaid Haqqi (Odenton, MD USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: An Embedded Software Primer (Paperback)
This book gives a solid overview of embedded systems and how they work in conjunction with hardware and software, but it does not give enough in depth analysis of embedded systems. For example, the book tries to show how to write certain software for embedded applications, but gives too generic examples using a created language called "C!" It would be more effective of a book if it had actual examples of embedded software such as device drivers, etc. Otherwise, it does a solid job of explaining the basics of different interrupts, semaphores, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very good primer., April 29 2002
This review is from: An Embedded Software Primer (Paperback)
My friend recommended this book to me when I wanted to understand the fundamentals of Embedded systems.
The chapters on Hardware overview took me back memory lanes when I was at college. Good refresher.
What I most liked about the book is the section that deals with choices of embedded architecture and how and when to chose specific architecture.
Book is accompanied by a CD with a kernel of an embedded OS along with the source code. Haven't had the time to go over the CD. Nevertheless, I got what I wanted regarding embedded systems. I can understand embedded system much better now.
Currently, this is the only good book on fundamentals of embedded systems in the market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good overview book on embedded OS, Aug. 18 2001
By 
B. K. Lau (Arlington, MA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: An Embedded Software Primer (Paperback)
This is a readable, good overview on embedded system in a nutshell. The author bundled a sample using microC/OS RTOS kernel. However, the compilation is done using Borland 3.1 or 4.5 which may not be readily available anymore. Some suggestion for improvement: Port the code to use MicrosoftVC++ and include a chapter on how to compile. Work out sample code from chapter to chpater till you get a working example. That way,the reader is likely to under stand more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book., April 4 2001
By 
KD (Stanford, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: An Embedded Software Primer (Paperback)
Great book. Easy to read. Comprehensive. The only thing preventing it from the 5th star is lack of more OS specific examples. It also kills trees by listing codes to boost page count. I know it is a primer, but some examples from more popular OSs will still be very helpful. Nevertheless, I doubt you can find a better introductory book in the market at this moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaffc3dec)

This product

An Embedded Software Primer
An Embedded Software Primer by David E. Simon (Paperback - Aug. 5 1999)
CDN$ 62.99 CDN$ 39.68
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews