Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars More of the same good thing
Like every sequel, in my opinion, this book is less good than the original as if the topics covered in this book are the ones that did not make it into the original book. However that being said, this book is still very good and is just more of the same good stuff that made the original book a bestseller. If you liked Effective C++, there is not risk at all that you will...
Published on Dec 5 2006 by Olivier Langlois

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars A crass attempt to sell a book that people don't really need
Why do we need to buy Two books on effective C++ tips (the version with 35 tips and the version with 50 tips) when one entire book would be more practical. Worst of all, Scott Meyers could have remedied this with his 1997 version, but instead he merely revised his 1992 version according to the new C++ standard.
Published on Oct. 9 1997


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars More of the same good thing, Dec 5 2006
By 
Olivier Langlois "www.OlivierLanglois.net" (Montreal, Quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: More Effective C++: 35 New Ways to Improve Your Programs and Designs (Paperback)
Like every sequel, in my opinion, this book is less good than the original as if the topics covered in this book are the ones that did not make it into the original book. However that being said, this book is still very good and is just more of the same good stuff that made the original book a bestseller. If you liked Effective C++, there is not risk at all that you will not like this one and will get new knowledge out of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, easy to read, Dec 27 2003
This review is from: More Effective C++: 35 New Ways to Improve Your Programs and Designs (Paperback)
I find Scott's books to be very easy to read and also very insightful as well. If you like reading about programming and C++ then you'll enjoy his writing style and topic selection. Many of the code examples are a bit too simplistic and underdeveloped but they otherwise convey the message author intends. I've read all three of his books and found this one to be the best one. Although 50 tips may seem like a lot more than the 35 offered in this one, I believe you'll find this one to be more useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good, but useful only to the advanced C++ user, Oct. 20 2002
By 
Sören Meyer-Eppler (Havixbeck Deutschland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: More Effective C++: 35 New Ways to Improve Your Programs and Designs (Paperback)
This is the sequel to the excellent 'Effective C++' by the same author. It covers more advanced and less general topics than it's predecessor. While the first book gives you good programming style and techniques and points out how to use the language correctly, this one shows specific patterns and solutions to more narrowly defined problems. Examples of these include: smart pointers, proxy classes, lazy evaluation, double dispatching. The book also covers the new standard C++ features more in-depth and thus has a good treatment on exceptions and the new style of casting. Because the topics are less general than those from the previous book they are at the same time more controversial. Rules like 'make non-leaf classes abstract' are seldom followed in practice, even though Scott gives good reasons why one should. Another currently hot topic might be 'program in the future tense', which is perfectly sound at first glance, but eXtreme programming proponents might disagree and would want to word it a little less strong. The author sometimes drifts off on really esoteric tangents which seem unlikely to be relevant in the real world. Item 27 'requiring or prohibiting heap based objects' is such a chapter: while I can see that it might sometimes be useful to place such restrictions on classes the effort necessary to do so is just not worth it in my opinion. This is a case where a simple comment might be better than an overly complex class construct. Another point on the negative side is that the author has the unfortunate habit of introducing you to the wrong way of doing things first and almost convincing you of it and only then goes on to show the correct way. I dislike this from a learning psychological point of view, i.e. you should remember the correct way, not both or even worse just the wrong way.
Scott's writing is as usual clear, concise and oftentimes spiced with funny remarks. All in all a worthy sequel - buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ignorance Exposed, May 1 2002
By 
Elijah D "dev1zero" (Bothell, WA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: More Effective C++: 35 New Ways to Improve Your Programs and Designs (Paperback)
Just when I thought I had a good handle on the C++ language I discovered this book and found out how ignorant I was.
This book covers a lot interesting topics. I was especially happy with the coverage of the difference between the new operator and "operator new". The items on smart pointers and reference counting were also very interesting.
If you want to Master C++, get this book. I plan to read it a good number of time so I can have a good chunk of it in my head all the time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More valuable than the first volume, if possible, March 26 2002
By 
G. Avvinti (Sicily, Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: More Effective C++: 35 New Ways to Improve Your Programs and Designs (Paperback)
After being a very satisfied reader of the first volume, I bought this second as well. And I'm even more satisfied with this book. There are fewer items than the first volume, but I found they are exactly those items you're looking for after reading a C++ big manual and the first Meyers' book.
The section on exceptions is a very appreciable collection on exceptions topics, difficult to find elsewhere, unless you're a constant reader of C++ Report (where they held a monthly column on the subject).
The section on efficiency is a niece and useful read that let you meet some important consideration as the famous 80-20 rule (a.k.a. 90-10 rule, the "make the common case faster" pattern, and so on) or the Lazy Evaluation tecnique (I've used it extensively since I'm involved on big proportions projects that need this kind of savings).
A special mention goes on the item about the costs of virtual functions, polymorphism and RTTI features. This is about the best account I've found on the subject. The only other one I can think about is Dattatri's in "C++: Effective Object-Oriented Software Construction". You won't believe it, but I've red Dattatri's just a week before I've been specifically asked for this very same topic during an important job interview. Luckily.
The section on Techniques is a source of pure gems: item after item I've discovered how well and widely these topics can be treated. Some will find they are taken from Coplien's book. And that's true. But here they are expanded and more clearly explained.
The last section also will bring some knowledge that will prove to be useful whenever you'll be involved in software design. They well add to those on the first volume.
A very worth buying, and a very worth read, on my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must have book, Feb. 27 2002
By 
This review is from: More Effective C++: 35 New Ways to Improve Your Programs and Designs (Paperback)
like all Meyers books, More Effective C++ is a must read for all serious C++ Programmer.
If I would have to point out, what are the most profound ideas presented in the book, they will be:
1.the 80-20 rule.
2.Exceptions Handling (particularly exceptions which arose in Ctor/Dtor).
3.the Reference counting Technique.
another advantage of the book is, that it's well written, and fun to read.
read this book - it will make you a better programmer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very informative., March 1 2001
By 
Paul Floyd (Grenoble France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: More Effective C++: 35 New Ways to Improve Your Programs and Designs (Paperback)
I would have given it 3 1/2 if I could.
Much of the technical content is very good. Though there's nothing really special about reference counting and smart pointers, the analysis of the drawbacks and potential pitfalls (and often, how to circumvent them) is very good. The section on exceptions is quite an eye opener.
Now for some negative comments. Though the book is much more of an "easy read" than Stroustrups turgid tome, the informal tone got on my nerves after a while. If I want wisecracks, I'll go and see a comedian.
The other thing I noticed was in the "recommended reading" section at the end. All of the recommended books are by Addison-Wesley. Now, either A-W has cornered the market in good C++ books, or it's a conspiracy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not as essential as "effective C++", Nov. 27 2000
By 
Donovan Rebbechi (Wynnewood, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: More Effective C++: 35 New Ways to Improve Your Programs and Designs (Paperback)
This is a good book with covers 35 more guidelines for improving your programs. The book is actually longer than the book "More effective C++" because the items being discussed are more complex.
This book takes a different approach to "Effective C++" -- while "Effective C++" focusses on good-style guidelines, this book has a wider agenda, for example it explains a bunch of idioms (such as multiplke dispatch, smart pointers, reference counting, and the singleton pattern).
The book is a solid followup to "Effective C++", but is probably not as essential as that book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SImply the best book on advanced C++, Aug. 16 2000
By 
This review is from: More Effective C++: 35 New Ways to Improve Your Programs and Designs (Paperback)
This book is a must if you want to take yourself from a beginner to a more intermediate C++ programmer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely writing style, Aug. 3 2000
This review is from: More Effective C++: 35 New Ways to Improve Your Programs and Designs (Paperback)
I love his writing style. Simple and straight forward. He is truly a talented writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

More Effective C++: 35 New Ways to Improve Your Programs and Designs
CDN$ 51.99 CDN$ 32.75
Usually ships in 1 to 3 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews