Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars The single most essential xml book I own
This isn't a "textbook" of xml -- if you want a guided introductory tutorial, look elsewhere. But if you're anything like me, once you've got past the intro stage, you need a good memory-jogger and "explain-that-to-me-quick-just-one-more-time" resource at your side while you're working on a project. That's what this book provides, and it does it brilliantly, insightfully,...
Published on Dec 31 2003 by John Madden

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars It is really just a quick reference!!
Don't expect anything else or you will be dissapointed. I got some
quick reference cards that are free for download that contain basicly
the same information!
There are some code snippets and some explanitory
lines of text, but nothing that helps you understand how the different
XML constructs really work - unless you already know it and just...
Published on June 2 2003 by superkosto


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars easy to use and very useful, May 4 2004
This review is from: Essential XML Quick Reference: A Programmer's Reference to XML, XPath, XSLT, XML Schema, SOAP, and More (Paperback)
Keeping in mind that this is a "quick" reference, this book is organised well and very easy to use. When learning XML I had it by my side many times and almost always found what I was looking for. My only comment for improvement would be a more comprehensive index and maybe some a more suitable cover design (I am constantly pointing people to the text on the cover in order to convice them this is a book about XML).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The single most essential xml book I own, Dec 31 2003
By 
John Madden (Chapel Hill, NC United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Essential XML Quick Reference: A Programmer's Reference to XML, XPath, XSLT, XML Schema, SOAP, and More (Paperback)
This isn't a "textbook" of xml -- if you want a guided introductory tutorial, look elsewhere. But if you're anything like me, once you've got past the intro stage, you need a good memory-jogger and "explain-that-to-me-quick-just-one-more-time" resource at your side while you're working on a project. That's what this book provides, and it does it brilliantly, insightfully, and without the endless, distracting and generally useless drivel of many xml books. The explanations unfailingly come right to the point, and it's rich with short, helpful examples. It's obvious the authors have really developed in the real world! There is no book on my xml shelf that gets more use (and collects less dust) than this one. Buy it and you'll be glad you did. (I'm on my second copy!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars doesn't worth the money, June 22 2003
By 
Frank Peng Lee (woburn, MA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Essential XML Quick Reference: A Programmer's Reference to XML, XPath, XSLT, XML Schema, SOAP, and More (Paperback)
man i hate this book. I can't remember a single paragraph that strike the point. after reading it, i am as confused as before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wide-ranging but brisk, June 9 2003
By 
Seetharama Rao V. Durbha (Fremont, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Essential XML Quick Reference: A Programmer's Reference to XML, XPath, XSLT, XML Schema, SOAP, and More (Paperback)
This books is quite good for covering a wide range of topics and concisely. But all the time you are reading the book, you get the doubt "What could I be missing?" - as the coverage of topics is so minimal and unattached. Though, at the end of the day, those topics require no more attention than that, to get to that wisdom it takes time and this book does not bother to get you that wisdom.
Otherwise, this is quite a good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A true gem..., June 3 2003
By 
John Wetherbie (Centennial, CO United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Essential XML Quick Reference: A Programmer's Reference to XML, XPath, XSLT, XML Schema, SOAP, and More (Paperback)
Diamonds are carbon that has been compressed in the high temperatures and pressures found far below the earth's crust in a region called the upper mantle. Because of their beauty and rarity diamonds are highly valued. Now imagine that a stack of specifications related to XML, the eXtensible Markup Language, is our carbon and that two gentlemen, Aaron Skonnard and Martin Gudgin, play the role of the upper mantle. The result would be Essential XML Quick Reference. This gem of a XML reference (sorry, couldn't help myself) is definitely worth having if you are working with XML.
The book presents reference material from the following specifications:
XML 1.0 and Namespaces
DTDs
XPath 1.0
XPointer, XInclude, and XML Base
XSLT 1.0
SAX 2.0
DOM Level 2
XML Schema
SOAP 1.1
Each chapter has a brief introduction and then it dives right into the reference material. The reference text is accompanied by concrete examples that illustrate how the item is used. The SAX 2.0 and DOM Level 2 chapters provide code examples in Java and Visual Basic.
All the topics are solidly covered but I thought that the sections on XSLT, Schemas, and XPath to be a cut above. The XPath chapter I found to be especially good. It contains diagrams that provide examples of the XPath tree structure, document order, node string-values, and how axes work, along with first-rate examples of how the elements of XPath work.
While the book is aimed at being a reference it can be used, to some extent, as a tutorial on the various topics. I certainly found this to be true of the XPath chapter. I am also aware of people stating that they have used this book in a tutorial fashion to prep for the IBM XML certification test.
So, what's not to like? Very little. Since SOAP was covered I think it would have been nice to have had a section on WSDL (Web Service Description Language). There are also a few typos here and there but they don't detract from the information that is being conveyed.
This book is a sparkling reference for XML and related technologies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars It is really just a quick reference!!, June 2 2003
By 
"superkosto" (Darmstadt, Germany) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Essential XML Quick Reference: A Programmer's Reference to XML, XPath, XSLT, XML Schema, SOAP, and More (Paperback)
Don't expect anything else or you will be dissapointed. I got some
quick reference cards that are free for download that contain basicly
the same information!
There are some code snippets and some explanitory
lines of text, but nothing that helps you understand how the different
XML constructs really work - unless you already know it and just can't
remember the name, but this is what I have code-completion in my editor for.
I would have hoped for some recipies that solve
typical problems that augment the pure reference style listing, but there's nothing like that.
For me as an XML beginner this book is not very usefull and I doubt it is for a experienced developer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what a Quick Reference should be..., April 2 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Essential XML Quick Reference: A Programmer's Reference to XML, XPath, XSLT, XML Schema, SOAP, and More (Paperback)
The "Quick Reference" in the book's title says it all: This is a dandy quick reference of the most generally used XML schemas (including XML Schema).
If you have a reasonably clear idea what XML is and what it's used for, have a hazy notion of what XML schemas are, and need a quick overview or reminder of how the two are used together, then this is a book you'll reach for on a regular basis. Note too that the book is also delightfully current (as of March '02).
If on the other hand you're looking for an XML or XML schema tutorial or for a comprehensive guide to all the subtleties and permutations of XML schemas, this isn't the book for you. As I said, the "Quick Reference" in the title says it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, Feb. 18 2003
By 
Chad Harrington "Chad Harrington" (San Jose, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Essential XML Quick Reference: A Programmer's Reference to XML, XPath, XSLT, XML Schema, SOAP, and More (Paperback)
This book covers all the essentials of XML quickly and with no distracting fluff. This is the by far the best XML book I have read, and I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing, Feb. 12 2003
By 
Fang Ine (Heliopolis, Egypt) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Essential XML Quick Reference: A Programmer's Reference to XML, XPath, XSLT, XML Schema, SOAP, and More (Paperback)
Is this a teaching book or a reference book? It is too advanced for teaching beginner XML. The examples are OK, but badly presented for teaching advanced XML. On the other hand it is incomplete as a reference book, for example the treatment of both schema and parsers are too sketchy. I feel the book lacks a target group and thus falls between too many stools.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good even as no-nonsense overview, Nov. 2 2002
By 
Christopher League (New York, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Essential XML Quick Reference: A Programmer's Reference to XML, XPath, XSLT, XML Schema, SOAP, and More (Paperback)
I was looking for a concise, no-nonsense book about the various XML technologies, including XPath, XSLT, and schemas. Although this book is billed as a reference, it was also a quick way to get up to speed on these ideas, without having to skim hundreds of pages of hype. The schema reference does not have as complete an overview as the other chapters, or I would have given 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb991b5c4)

This product

Essential XML Quick Reference: A Programmer's Reference to XML,  XPath, XSLT, XML Schema, SOAP, and More
CDN$ 57.99 CDN$ 36.53
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews