Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bible In Its Sphere, July 19 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Chicago Manual of Style, 16th Edition (Hardcover)
Whether you are writing a composition, essay, paper, or thesis, at college or university level; or whether you are writing for an editor or a publisher, I still have to figure out how you can do it without the aid of the Chicago Manual of Style. I have been buying every new edition for the past 30 years, and I have always felt that it not only was money best spent, but also English writing (prose and poetry) best presented. If you only write one-on-one personal letters and emails, you may perhaps do without this manual, but if you write for any kind of larger audience, the "Windy City's Bible" will prove a must-have tool for you, your mentor and/or your publisher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars required reference, Jan. 20 2012
This review is from: The Chicago Manual of Style, 16th Edition (Hardcover)
The Chicago Manual of Style (16th edition) answers almost every question any writer, editor, or proof-reader would want to ask. However, it is not written for a Canadian audience. Canadian spellings are frequently different from American, for instance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't do without it, Feb. 26 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Chicago Manual of Style, 16th Edition (Hardcover)
As a manuscript editor, I rely on this book, particularly for tricky punctuation issues. It's also really helpful for word usage confusion and is the best manual that I have found for editorial guidance. My only complaint – much too damn heavy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Essential Reference for Serious Writers and Editors, Oct. 18 2014
By 
X. Pert - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Chicago Manual of Style, 16th Edition (Hardcover)
At close to 900 pages, this book has a wealth of material to offer the serious writer or editor. It is titled The Chicago Manual of Style, but it is much more than the Chicago style. It begins with several chapters about grammar, spelling, writing for books and journals, and manuscript preparation, all of which are needed these days. For what it provides the Manual is priced very reasonably. If you are a professional writer or editor, don't deprive yourself. Get this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very satisfied, Oct. 18 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Chicago Manual of Style, 16th Edition (Hardcover)
This book arrived earlier than the due date and was in pristine condition. The book itself is a classic resource, though I am sure most people opt for a subscription to the online CMoS instead. Am using it to study for an exam and will be taking it to the exam centre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars concise and topics are quite easy to find, July 3 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Chicago Manual of Style, 16th Edition (Hardcover)
This is the bible for the correct format when writing and editing fiction. The book contains numerous outlines and accepted procedures for all aspects of writing, formatting and publishing. It's clear, concise and topics are quite easy to find.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Recent purchase - 16th Edition of The Chicago Manual of Style - Very Satisfied, June 13 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Chicago Manual of Style, 16th Edition (Hardcover)
We chose this rating because the book lived up to our expectations, and more! We have been using the 9th edition, which we liked, but found that the 16th edition had so much more to offer us. The new edition has so much more material and the index has been enhanced. The Chicago Manuel has been our preferred style for many years and appreciate the updating which has ben done. Grace is the writer and I am the editor. Needless to say, the book is always at our finger tips.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic. Required reading for any serious editor and/or student., Feb. 9 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Chicago Manual of Style, 16th Edition (Hardcover)
If you consider yourself a serious editor, you need to know all the styles, and Chicago is one of the biggies. And if you're a student, you need this. It's big, you won't necessarily read it straight through, but you'll go back to it over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Guide on the Market, Nov. 26 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Chicago Manual of Style, 16th Edition (Hardcover)
I've wanted this book for ages and hesitated to buy it because of the price. But in my very first use, it paid for itself. This is the best and easiest to use reference book a writer can have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Standard in Historical Citation, March 25 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Chicago Manual of Style, 16th Edition (Hardcover)
I bought this to guide me through all the fine points of proper historical citation. Very handy (although large.) It contains more than just citations (of which I think every possible scenario has been included, also includes the updated information for electronic/digital sources). Also covers style and grammar in great detail. Also a handy subsection on citation done in other languages.
A little hefty and a little while to get used to its lay out, but overall a necessary addition to any scholar or student's desk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Chicago Manual of Style, 16th Edition
The Chicago Manual of Style, 16th Edition by University of Chicago Press Staff (Hardcover - Aug. 1 2010)
CDN$ 74.20 CDN$ 42.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews