Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars An Absolute Must Read if you Love Photoshop
I was a very early adopter of Photoshop and used it extensivly for 10 years until I decided to try something a little different (farming) a couple of years ago. Now I have decided to get back into the game and in preperation I read four of the most current books on Photoshop.
Martin Evenings book is truly incredible for both the level of detail and the breadth of the...
Published on July 13 2004 by Michael Brown

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't Waste Your Money on Martin Evening's Book
This book is for the highly experienced photoshop user. Martin Evening can't explain simple concepts, his graphics are on different pages then his text (so you have to hunt for the graphic). Just very poorly written. If you want to really learn about Photoshop CS the buy Deke McLelland's, "Adobe Photoshop CS One-On-One". It is full of examples, has a...
Published on April 20 2004


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars An Absolute Must Read if you Love Photoshop, July 13 2004
By 
Michael Brown (Shapleigh, Maine United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS for Photographers: Professional Image Editor's Guide to the Creative Use of Photoshop for the Mac and PC (Paperback)
I was a very early adopter of Photoshop and used it extensivly for 10 years until I decided to try something a little different (farming) a couple of years ago. Now I have decided to get back into the game and in preperation I read four of the most current books on Photoshop.
Martin Evenings book is truly incredible for both the level of detail and the breadth of the material presented. I read this book cover to cover and then picked it up a week later and read sections of interest again.
This is not a book for those who want to gloss over the subject, it is a book for serious imagers who want to play at the top of their profession.
Honestly this book put to shame the other books that I read which tended towards little nuggets of information and specific techniques rather then presenting a solid understanding of how Photoshop works and the implication of not only technique but fundamentals like workflow, color management, planning for re-purposing files and so on.
It is a little humbling to know that there are wizards like Martin Evening out in the marketplace. This book is incredible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Photoshop CS for Photographers is highly inspiring, May 1 2004
By 
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS for Photographers: Professional Image Editor's Guide to the Creative Use of Photoshop for the Mac and PC (Paperback)
Photoshop for Photographers is highly inspiring for me. During the four weeks I posess a copy of it I hardly did other things then discovering more and more on Photoshop... It is like discovering the world (which is my second job as a tourleader and travel journalist/photographer, next to my daily work as a photographer and editor/desktoppublisher).
Although I am working with Adobe Photoshop for over ten years as a photographer and desktoppublisher Martin Evening showed me a number of new methods which I could not find in other books on this program. Especially the extensive chapters on Color Correction, Color Management and Output for Print were very interesting to me; but every chapter contains interesting stuff. I am convinced that there is no better book on this subject, with the things together that belong together (for example colorcorrection) and not a full technical description of menu-item by menu-item which in daily practice are used mixed up.
I am sure that Photoshop for Photographers is very close to the way photographers (amateur and pro) think and work. This is not such a dull computerbook, from which there are already too much. Even for a non-native English-speaker as I this book is written in a very clear and understandable language. The fullcolor examples and how to's that are mixed througout the book are very instructive and inviting to try it yourself.
Martin Evening tried to keep a highly complex program simple for his readers. Meanwhile his texts stimulated me to try to understand how Photoshop really works (those technical backgrounds are not inside, to keep the book understandable for starters. And that is how it should be).
I wish you a lot of photo-editing fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The 1 Star Ratings are Ridiculous., April 23 2004
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS for Photographers: Professional Image Editor's Guide to the Creative Use of Photoshop for the Mac and PC (Paperback)
This book is not *intended* for inexperienced users, therefore it's not surprise it might also be confusing to the same group. The last reviewer answered his own complaint: if you don't know Photoshop at all, buy a cookie cutter / how-to book like those from Deke McLelland or even Scott Kelby. If you're looking for a comprehensive view of the application from a professional photography perspective, buy this book. You're not likely to be disappointed.
Among all the Photoshop books which attempt to detail all aspects of the digital photography workflow (from hardware to color management to editing techniques), Martin Evening's books are among the very best.
He also does make a habit of updating content wherever practical from edition to edition. Obviously it's silly for an author to change every screenshot and example for every edition. When you find one that works well for illustrating a particular technique, you keep it until the tool in question changes. If it isn't broken....
And to say this is poorly written reflects more on the commentator's reading comprehension ability, than the author's writing ability. Evening's work is very accessible, assuming you already know the basics of Photoshop. The only complain I have about this book is that I would like him to focus a little more on facial retouching aspects, as it's obviously a big part of his business. I'm sure he has more to share on that topic. Hopefully next edition....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Don't Waste Your Money on Martin Evening's Book, April 20 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS for Photographers: Professional Image Editor's Guide to the Creative Use of Photoshop for the Mac and PC (Paperback)
This book is for the highly experienced photoshop user. Martin Evening can't explain simple concepts, his graphics are on different pages then his text (so you have to hunt for the graphic). Just very poorly written. If you want to really learn about Photoshop CS the buy Deke McLelland's, "Adobe Photoshop CS One-On-One". It is full of examples, has a terrific CD, very well written, easy to understand. Absolutely the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!, March 29 2004
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS for Photographers: Professional Image Editor's Guide to the Creative Use of Photoshop for the Mac and PC (Paperback)
This is by far one of the better Photoshop CS books. Martin Evening gives great step by step tutorials and he gives a fabulous overview of the program itself. Also the book itself is printed well. Even though I feel "Adobe Photoshop CS for Photographers" is intended for the intermediate to advanced users, beginners can get a lot out of this book as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect!, March 31 2004
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS for Photographers: Professional Image Editor's Guide to the Creative Use of Photoshop for the Mac and PC (Paperback)
This is by far one of the better Photoshop CS books on the market today. Martin Evening provides a ton of information for the novice to expert user. The CD has great movie tutorials and one movie I truly appreciate is in his "old movie" folder that goes over techniques to perfect the bezier tool. Make an investment in this book. You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not worth it if you own the last version., April 2 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS for Photographers: Professional Image Editor's Guide to the Creative Use of Photoshop for the Mac and PC (Paperback)
Save your money. Don't bother buying this book if you own the last version. I returned mine to Amazon after I got a chance to look at it. Not much new in this version. If you don't own the last version then this is a pretty good book. Not the best though. ... Sorry Martin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent as usual from Martin Evening, April 13 2004
By 
thomas fahey (atlanta, ga United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Adobe Photoshop CS for Photographers: Professional Image Editor's Guide to the Creative Use of Photoshop for the Mac and PC (Paperback)
Another very easy to follow and comprehensive manual for CS. I've owned them all since Mr. Evening's 6.0 for Photographers and this one will prove to be as invaluable as the others. Highest marks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Adobe Photoshop CS for Photographers: Professional Image Editor's Guide to the Creative Use of Photoshop for the Mac and PC
CDN$ 62.19 CDN$ 39.95
Usually ships in 1 to 2 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews