Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, Oct. 31 2003
By 
Sydney (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Visual Story: Seeing the Structure of Film, TV and New Media (Paperback)
Eye-opening is an understatement, Bruce Block turns film editing from mysterious gibberish into a language. I was fortunate enough to hear him speak at Warner bros., it was the single most useful lecture on anything I've ever been to. My notes are falling apart from constant use, finally he has a book out!
This book explains with crystal-clarity how to use shapes, colour, and motion on screen to control pacing and feeling. No film student should be without it; screenwriters, comic artists, web designers, anyone who deals with visual storytelling will wonder where Bruce Block has been all their life. Five stars, I'd give it more if I could!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book with one little flaw, Oct. 4 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Visual Story: Seeing the Structure of Film, TV and New Media (Paperback)
This book is almost perfect. It explains the visual elements of line, shape, color, space, etc., and, more importantly, ties them to the story. The only complaint I have is it should use more color plates in the "Color" chapter, instead of trying to describe color with words. Must read for anyone trying to tell stories with pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Former Student, Feb. 1 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Visual Story: Seeing the Structure of Film, TV and New Media (Paperback)
Having taken Bruce Block's visual expression class while getting my MFA at USC Film School I highly recommend this book. It's one of the few classes I took in film school that has had any lasting value. It should be part of any filmmakers foundation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for amatuer filmmakers, Jan. 11 2003
This review is from: The Visual Story: Seeing the Structure of Film, TV and New Media (Paperback)
This is a fantastic book. The book explains many visual tools used to make better films. I can't recommend this enough. Take your films from an amatuer level to professional level. Helps you to build great visual style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well thought out, readable and immediately useful, Dec 28 2002
By 
MervB (Dulwich Hill, NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Visual Story: Seeing the Structure of Film, TV and New Media (Paperback)
I can't recommend this book strong enough - I've been compiling course material - this book was an explosion of light at the end of a dreary tunnel of books on visual literacy - the film school should have had this as compulsary reading. Clearly set out with good graphics and in plain english. It marries the theoretical with the practical. The best book on the topic I have read so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you, Bruce!, March 16 2002
This review is from: The Visual Story: Seeing the Structure of Film, TV and New Media (Paperback)
Finally, someone who relays that REAL cinematic storytelling involves many dialects of the same language. Like any art form, cinema displays a plethora of possibilities, yet all filmmakers seem so willing to conform to the latest visual trend. Hey, if it works, it works. But let's not forget that so many people in the world clamor for "original" ideas, including within the visual realm. This book saves time by compressing all the principles established by Pudovkin and Eisenstein. However, Bruce Block doesn't tell you HOW to come up w/ the ideas, or where to go with them; rather, he does something better. He gives you a map of the visual "terrain," complete w/ a key of useful terms. Remember, the map and compass can't tell you where to go; its purpose: to show you what's out there. In which direction you plan to go---that's up to you...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Every picture tells a story, Oct. 22 2001
By 
Patrick Gregston "interested party" (Santa Barbara, Ca United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Visual Story: Seeing the Structure of Film, TV and New Media (Paperback)
But if you are using pictures to tells stories, do you know what your pictures are saying? Today, with the means of production accessible to everyone with about $10K, we are about to see the equivalent of desktop publishing a decade later with video.
Do you want your production to look like the video equivalent of the ransom notes produced by people who made every letter a different font just because they could?
The Visual Story makes the fundamental elements of visual language understandable. It provides tools to articulate ideas and concepts of storytelling in the visual medium. Converse with your team in terms that make sense. Plan your production so the audience gets the intended message. Make every element on screen support your theme.
Get it (like understand)and you become one of the better producers.
Skip it and help lower the bar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have for Serious Filmmakers and Film Buffs, Aug. 21 2001
By 
Noah Kadner (Venice, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Visual Story: Seeing the Structure of Film, TV and New Media (Paperback)
This book is a revelation! If you are all serious about making movies (or getting the most out of watching them) you must have this book. Bruce Block's theories will open your eyes to a hidden world of communication encoded into film. You will learn how visuals and their structure are just as effective and important as story and dialogue. You will see all films in a completely new and exciting way. You will gain the insight and tools to make your own movies visually compelling and powerful. I've also attended Bruce's visual expression classes in Los Angeles and can honestly say they were the most formative and enlightening of any film theory class I've ever had. Read this book and you'll never see movies the same way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb3b4ec54)

This product

The Visual Story: Seeing the Structure of Film, TV and New Media
The Visual Story: Seeing the Structure of Film, TV and New Media by Bruce Block (Paperback - April 23 2001)
Used & New from: CDN$ 1.65
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews