Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars handy little book.
good book that fits in a pocket or easily into bag. offers good subject suggestions and very handy for road trips.
Published 3 months ago by CHRIS WATHAN

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Superficial
I bought this book because of the author (Michael Freeman) and the attractive price. Well, I'm sorry, it's not worth it. Too many subjects with not enough details. Not even sure a pure beginneer would get much out of it. I have many books from Micheal Freeman and I like him but this time I was disappointed. ED.
Published on Oct. 24 2009 by F. Breton


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars handy little book., April 11 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Photographer's Eye Field Guide: The essential handbook for traveling with your digital SLR camera (Paperback)
good book that fits in a pocket or easily into bag. offers good subject suggestions and very handy for road trips.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Composition 201 for Photographers, Sept. 30 2009
By 
J. Honek (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Photographer's Eye Field Guide: The essential handbook for traveling with your digital SLR camera (Paperback)
The Photographer's Eye Field Guide is a superb overview of compositional techniques for photographers, and you don't need to be a digital camera user to benefit from this manual as compositional discussions are, of course, useful no matter what type of camera you use. The author describes major compositional themes that all photographers should be aware of and bases these discussions (which are well organized by the way) on his extensive career as an internationally respect photographer. Having read my share of "how-to" books on photography, I was looking for a book that discussed composition and not just the rule of thirds. This book filled that gap by discussing everything from framing to eye flow through a photograph. Wonderful photos back up the discussions and many sections had several photos of the same subject, but taken from different perspectives or arranged such that the author could discuss the analyses that went on in order to come up with the "best" final picture. It was not delivered in too simple a tone; the author assumes you know something already about photography and light and subject matter, so you won't zip through the first 40 pages finding that the early part is a rehash of the many books you already have read on photography.

If you can only pick up one, moderate-to-advanced level book on photographic composition, I would recommend this to be the book of choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value, Dec 28 2009
By 
Robert Prior (Richmond Hill, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Photographer's Eye Field Guide: The essential handbook for traveling with your digital SLR camera (Paperback)
Unlike most books about travel photography (including Freeman's other travel photography book) this one focuses on composition and design. If you already know how to use your camera but are struggling to take holiday pictures that look like more than snapshots then this is the right book to buy. Small enough to carry with you, it is nonetheless packed with useful information, like a condensed course in composition.

Freeman doesn't show you a picture and give you a 'recipe' to duplicate it. Instead, he uses pictures to illustrate the concepts of good visual design, explaining why certain shots look better than others. He gives useful advice for dealing with the frustrations of travel photography and workarounds for common problems, but overall the focus is on helping you improve your photographic skills while travelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Superficial, Oct. 24 2009
By 
F. Breton (Québec, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Photographer's Eye Field Guide: The essential handbook for traveling with your digital SLR camera (Paperback)
I bought this book because of the author (Michael Freeman) and the attractive price. Well, I'm sorry, it's not worth it. Too many subjects with not enough details. Not even sure a pure beginneer would get much out of it. I have many books from Micheal Freeman and I like him but this time I was disappointed. ED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice book, but not complete, Dec 21 2010
By 
S. Maltais (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Photographer's Eye Field Guide: The essential handbook for traveling with your digital SLR camera (Paperback)
This is a nice book with great pictures, but it's a little too short on explanations and tricks. I was expecting more. This book is really for debutant. The author's style is great and I will not hesitate to buy another book from him, but a more advanced one. I've read Perfect exposure... and really enjoyed it. I've learned a lot in this other book from him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars misleading, March 2 2011
This review is from: The Photographer's Eye Field Guide: The essential handbook for traveling with your digital SLR camera (Paperback)
This book had good graphics but the size is very misleading. This is not a regular sized book and it is very small making the print very tiny and hard to read. The book is barely larger than the size of your palm. I was disappointed and although it says it is a traveling handbook, it could have been regular sized. I did not bother to read the contents as the print is way too small.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Photographer's Eye Field Guide: The essential handbook for traveling with your digital SLR camera
CDN$ 17.12 CDN$ 12.59
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews