Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For those who are concerned with inequality within their community
This book is very well documented. It allows us to get informed about the consequences of choices we collectively made for decades. At the same time, it shows us that health problems in America are not only medical problems that could be solved by an extended medicare system.
Published on May 15 2010 by Denis Pinsonnault

versus
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth a read
One does not have to google too deep to be convinced the authors; Richard Wilkinson and Kate Pickett, are active advocates for progressive causes so the uneasy feeling that the evidence presented in their book was sifted and selected to suit the author's preconceptions should not cause much surprise. Indeed, by the end of the book the authors have cast aside any pretence...
Published on Jan. 4 2011 by RondoReader


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For those who are concerned with inequality within their community, May 15 2010
By 
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Spirit Level, The (Paperback)
This book is very well documented. It allows us to get informed about the consequences of choices we collectively made for decades. At the same time, it shows us that health problems in America are not only medical problems that could be solved by an extended medicare system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Important Book, April 2 2013
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
This is a book that every citizen should read. The "look out for yourself" attitude ultimately hurts all of us, and this book provides the data to prove it. It is unfortunate that inequality is increasing in our society.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth a read, Jan. 4 2011
By 
RondoReader (Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Spirit Level, The (Paperback)
One does not have to google too deep to be convinced the authors; Richard Wilkinson and Kate Pickett, are active advocates for progressive causes so the uneasy feeling that the evidence presented in their book was sifted and selected to suit the author's preconceptions should not cause much surprise. Indeed, by the end of the book the authors have cast aside any pretence of being disinterested researchers. This is not to suggest their effort should be written off as political rhetoric, just that a grain or two of salt may be called for.

The bulk of the book is devoted to examining, one by one, various social ills and demonstrating they are correlated, in rich societies at least, to the degree of income inequality within the society. The greater the inequality; the worse off the society, regardless of its overall wealth. This explains, for example, why the USA, one of the world's wealthiest countries, has higher levels of mental illness, lower life expectancies and so on, than poorer countries in which income is distributed more equally than in the U.S. The results are consistent both in comparisons between selected rich countries and in comparisons between the U.S. individual states. The data presented is extensive and well documented.

It is easy to concur with the authors. After all, isn't it obvious that taking inequality to the extreme by limiting all income to one or a few individuals would be disastrous? And too, we have the example of the odious income of Wall Street bankers which has had less than ideal results. Still, some of the correlations cited are more difficult to accept as causal than others. For example, call it a gut feel but it seems likely something more than just income inequality is needed to explain high rates of obesity. The authors themselves concede the evidence linking inequality to social mobility (achieving a higher status than your parents) is weak. On the other side, the data and discussion on why income equality leads to greater violence was revealing and fascinating. We could do worse than to incorporate some of this thinking into our social planning. In some instances Mr. Wilkinson and Ms. Pickett are repetitive, driving their points home maybe once too often but, on balance, their hypothesis is well developed.

Early in the book the authors cite the case of a young, unemployed lad who spent a month's income purchasing the latest cell phone in order to be more attractive to girls. If you can accept the author's contention that such behaviour is entirely normal and efforts to limit the damage it causes should be focused on ensuring the lad has a more adequate income then this book should hit home with you and contains much data you might find useful and informative. But if you feel the lad's cell phone purchase was irresponsible or at least has elements of irresponsibility and the damage could best be limited by smartening the boy up then you will be less enamoured with the book. In either case, it is worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for all politicians and everyone who votes for them, April 23 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
This analysis of income inequality and its effects on societies worldwide is compelling. If politicians do not heed the conclusions, humanity will suffer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How inequality is killing us, Sept. 3 2013
By 
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
If a book's value can be measured by its ability to antagonize right-wing `think-tanks,' then this book is priceless.

The Spirit Level challenges everything we've been told about why people get sick and what it takes to be healthy.

While public campaigns lecture us to eat right, stop smoking, exercise more, etc., in fact, our well-being has very little to do with our individual choices and everything to do with how society is structured. Put simply, inequality is extremely bad for our health.

The United States ranks as the world's most unequal nation, far outstripping all other nations. The top one percent of Americans have a combined net worth that is more than triple the net worth of the other 99 percent combined. And the bottom 40 percent of Americans own less than nothing, because they are sinking in debt.(1)

Wilkinson and Pickett compare income inequality within 23 of the world's richest nations and all fifty US states. They found that, at every income level, people living in more unequal nations and states suffer:

*lower life expectancy
*higher infant mortality
*more homicides
*more anxiety
*more mental illness
* more drug and alcohol addiction
* more obesity
* higher rates of imprisonment
* less social mobility
* more teen pregnancies
* more high-school dropouts
* poorer school performance
* more school-age bullying

And the extent to which people at every income level suffer these problems is directly related to how unequal is the society in which they live.

In contrast, people living in more equal societies and states enjoy better mental, physical and social health - at every income level. And the more equal their societies, the more they enjoy these benefits.

Once everyone has the basic necessities of life, your health and social well-being is determined less by how rich you are than how unequal is the society in which you live. In other words, poorer people in more equal societies are healthier and happier than richer people in more unequal societies.

The difference is significant. A 1990s study of 282 metropolitan areas in the United States found that the greater the difference in income, the more the death rate rose for all income levels, not just for the poor.(2)

Researchers calculated that reducing income inequality to the lowest level found in those areas would save as many lives as would be saved by eradicating heart disease or by preventing all deaths from lung cancer, diabetes, motor vehicle crashes, HIV infection, suicide and homicide combined.

Why would inequality, in and of itself, have such a profound impact? The answer lies in our mammalian biology. As the most social animals on the planet, we are hard-wired to function best in an embracing community.

More than 95 percent of human existence has been spent in egalitarian societies. Because the survival of the group depends on collaboration, all primitive societies developed rules and customs to prevent anyone from rising too high or sinking too low.

However, for the past 10,000 years, most people have lived in class-divided, hierarchical societies. We have adapted to social inequality, but we pay a terrible price.

Consider this statement, "Most people can be trusted." Would you agree or disagree?

The probability that you would disagree is directly related to the level of income inequality in your society. Wilkinson and Pickett show that people in the most equal nations, Scandinavia and the Netherlands, are six times more likely to trust each other than those in the most unequal nations - Portugal, Singapore and the United States. In short, inequality makes people distrustful.

When society does not take care of us, when we are abandoned to struggle individually, then we distrust others and fear for our safety. As a result, more unequal societies are characterized by more inter-personal competition, more emphasis on individual status and success, less social security, more envy of those above and more disdain for those below.

Fearful distrust compelled George Zimmerman to kill Trayvon Martin. Fearful distrust prompts us to warn our children about strangers, suspect those who are different, install security systems, view the poor and unemployed as `cheaters,' applaud more spending on police and prisons, and support harsher penalties.

Fearful distrust provides a mass audience for TV shows and movies about traitors, torturers, rapists, sadists, and serial killers. When I asked one person why she followed a particularly gruesome TV serial about psychopathic murderers, she replied, "I want to know what's out there." Fearful distrust keeps us isolated and unable to recognize our common interests.

The Spirit Level is rich in information about the benefits of greater equality - enough to convince anyone who cares about human welfare. For that reason, I recommend it most highly. (The book's facts, charts, and more resources can be found at The Equality Trust:[...]

Unfortunately, the book falls short when it comes to solutions.

The authors believe that inequality can be legislated away. According to Robert Reich's Foreword,

"By and large, `the market' is generating these outlandish results. But the market is a creation of public policies. And public policies, as the authors make clear, can reorganize the market to reverse these trends." (p.xii)

In reality, capitalism is based on a fundamental inequality: the capitalist class owns the means of production and all that is produced, so it has the power to shape society. The rest of us, who do the actual work of producing, get virtually no say in how society is run. This two-class system cannot be legislated away, any more than the systems of slavery or feudalism could be legislated away.

Most important, the capitalist system is based on the accumulation of capital which, by its very nature, increases inequality.

Every capitalist is committed to raising productivity - increasing the amount of capital that can be squeezed from each worker and confiscated by the employer. As more wealth is extracted from the working class and concentrated in the hands of the one percent, society becomes increasingly unequal. Counter-measures can slow the twin process of capital accumulation and growing inequality, but it can be stopped only by eliminating capitalism.

Could we all live in Sweden? As Wilkinson and Pickett explain, there are two ways that countries offset rising inequality: by capping higher incomes; and by imposing higher taxes on the rich to pay for social programs. In other words, by holding the very rich down and by elevating everyone else. So it might seem that the solution to inequality could lie in redistributive public policies. However, wanting and needing such policies has never been enough - it's always required a fight. As the authors point out,

"Sweden's greater equality originated in the Social Democratic Party's electoral victory in 1932 which had been preceded by violent labor disputes in which troops had opened fire on sawmill workers." (p.242)

The book offers more examples of governments that implemented social programs for fear of revolution if they didn't: the New Deal in the 1930s, the revolutionary wave that struck Europe in the 1840s, the post-war `social contract' in England, the radicalism of the 1960s, etc.

Wilkinson and Pickett recount how income inequality in the United States reached a peak before the Great Crash of 1929. Beginning in the later 1930s, income inequality decreased as workers organized and fought to divert more social wealth to the people who produced it.

Beginning in the 1970s, income inequality began to rise again. This change was marked by an employers' offensive against unions. As the proportion of workers in unions fell, income inequality rose until it is now similar to the level of inequality that preceded the 1929 crash.

The authors explain that the American example is not unique,

"A study which analysed trends in inequality during the 1980s and 1990s in Australia, Canada, Germany, Japan, Sweden, the United Kingdom and the United States found that the most important single factor was trade union membership...[D]eclines in trade union membership were most closely associated with widening income differences." (p.244)

The lesson from these examples is clear: when the working class is ascendant, inequality decreases and society becomes more fair; when the capitalist class is ascendant, inequality increases and society becomes less fair.

Despite their own evidence, the authors do not call for a working-class uprising to reduce, if not eliminate, class inequality. Instead, they state that, "The transformation of our society is a project in which we all have a shared interest." (p.237)

This is a fundamental error, because we do not all have a shared interest. Greater equality would require the capitalist class to give up a substantial amount of its wealth and power. History shows that they never do this willingly.

Individual capitalists might see the value of a fairer society, but any who chose to slow the rate of capital accumulation would be replaced by others with no such concern. Moreover, those who accumulate the most capital can `buy' as many politicians as necessary to shape public policies.

Instead of challenging the two-class capitalist system, the authors want to make it more humane by building a network of worker-co-operatives.

"The key is to map out ways in which the new society can begin to grow within and alongside the institutions it may gradually marginalise and replace. That is what making change is really about...What we need is not one big revolution but a continuous stream of small changes in a consistent direction." (p.236)

Mondragon Corporation in Spain is offered as an example. Mondragon encompasses 120 employee-owned co-ops, 40,000 worker-owners and sales of $4.8 billion US dollars. However, despite being home to one of the world's largest co-op networks, Spain ranks midway between the most equal and the most unequal nations. And it has recently implemented severe austerity policies that dramatically increase inequality.

Despite their many benefits, worker-owned co-operatives cannot transform society. As Rosa Luxemburg pointed out more than 100 years ago,

"Producers' co-operatives are excluded from the most important branches of capital production -- the textile, mining, metallurgical and petroleum industries, machine construction, locomotive and shipbuilding. For this reason alone, co-operatives in the field of production cannot be seriously considered as the instrument of a general social transformation...Within the framework of present society, producers' co-operatives are limited to the role of simple annexes to consumers' co-operatives." (3)

And one cannot imagine the global military-industrial complex becoming a worker-owned co-op.

To their credit, the authors acknowledge,

"The truth is that modern inequality exists because democracy is excluded from the economic sphere. It needs therefore to be dealt with by an extension of democracy into the workplace." (p.264)

Realistically, there's only one way to achieve workplace democracy across the whole of society - a global working-class revolution that takes collective control of production and eliminates the two-class system of capitalism. Then we could build a truly cooperative society in which everyone is equally worthy to share life's work and life's rewards.

References

1. Wolff, E.N., "The asset price meltdown and the wealth of the middle class" National Bureau of Economic Research Working Paper 18559 (2012)

2. Lynch, J.W. et. al. (1998). Income inequality and mortality in metropolitan areas of the United States. Am J Public Health. Vol. 88, pp.1074-1080.

3. Luxemburg, R. (1900/1908). Reform or revolution. London: Bookmarks, p.66
SICK and SICKER: Essays on Class, Health and Health Care
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Expect a change in how you view much of the world, July 8 2013
By 
KyJess (Thunder Bay, ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
I read this book after seeing a TED talk on the subject. This was very eye-opening for me in terms of how I view social ills and what causes them. After reading books like Freakonomics, the presentation in this book registered well with me. Wilkinson and Pickette present a researched-backed view of social inequality and the issues it causes. They repeatedly defend this conclusion from many angles, so that it's hard not to understand.

Societies like that in Denmark, Norway, Japan, while different, are in such a contrast to those of the US and UK that I have a hard time not moving to Copenhagen immediately. The visual representation in rates of violence, mental illness, voter turnout, perception of fear, education results, childhood mortality, among countless other variables, are plotted against socially-equal vs. socially-unequal countries (and also the same spectrum of states in the US for a deeper dive). The results are consistent across the board, with social ills increasing as social inequality increases. Being from Canada, at least we're in the middle of the group.

So when I consider some policies in the US which ingrain poverty, and also the coddling of the wealthiest, I understand that the ills that come with that, and the societal danger are not mutually exclusive. I'd recommend the accompanying equalitytrust.org.uk website with the videos and research presented there as well. We can get to a better society worldwide, and understanding this material can surely help with that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, Oct. 30 2012
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Really enjoyed reading this novel, provided evidence to back up many things I had believed in quite some time. A good read for the science minded person who has interest in social issues, if you like diagrams and charts this book is for you. If you don't, not to worry it doesn't rely on them too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great research, adequate narrative, Aug. 10 2012
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
"The Spirit Level" assembles most, if not all, the most significant trends in social science over the past several decades. The fact that the authors are medical professionals seems to account for the strained, repetitious narrative. The graphs alone speak volumes. Wilkinson (an uncharismatic public speaker, to say the least) denies that inequality constitutes a "theory of everything," but this book suggests otherwise. The psychological and political implications of the content, in particular, deserve further study.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars While the insights are correct, the prognosis is a bit naive.., March 2 2011
By 
Ronald W. Maron "pilgrim" (Nova Scotia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Spirit Level, The (Paperback)
DIAGNOSIS.......I do have to applaud the authors, Wilkinson and Pickett, for their inclusive research into this topic. While the numerous charts, graphs and descriptions do become somewhat repetitive at times, the message, itself, is very clear; Only in equality based societies can we experience a political and economic standard that views all persons as being deserving. In societies that have vast differences in wealth between those in the upper 10% income brackets vs. those in the lower 10% (such as the U.S.) the social ills are many times greater than in the equality based societies (Scandinavia). Teenage pregnancies, life expectancies, general health care, incarceration rates, acts of violence, prejudices and racism, etc... are all glaring examples of excess in the unequally based social structures.

PROGNOSIS......I do have to fully disagree with the author's and their solutions on how to reverse this decadent trend. They speak of the overall history of mankind as having evolved from cave-man status, past slavery and into greater and more equal civil rights and, by doing so, imply that we shall evolve past our unequal status into one that is more congenial for all involved. Unfortunately what the authors fail to take into account is that not all societies evolve. Some simply decay and die. If upward social evolution were always the case we would all be still under the control of the Roman Empire! No, there are numerous cultures and societies that have reached an apex and then failed from their internal workings. They no longer considered what was best for society as a whole but, rather, what was best for the controlling elite and what steps they needed to take to increase both their monies and overall power and social control. Such, to my chagrin, appears to be the prognosis for countries such as the U.S. and England. Corporate interests, on the heels of 'free trade' agreements, have gained nearly complete control over the democratic process and have unlimited monies in which to invest in their future and right-slanted political campaigns. While I agree that the human spirit is strong and that co-op economic relationships can ease the slide into complete destruction, I feel that inevitably the handwriting was put on the wall in the mid '70s and is not about to be erased by progressives like myself and the authors. What this book strongly suggests is a movement toward a more socialistic form of government of which I would be all in favour of. But, alas, the American public is presently so uninformed about the simple meaning of the word 'socialism' that they automatically reject it prior to any level of understanding can occur. Affiliates like Fox News and right-wing radio flood the airways with propaganda that is directly against the contents of this text such that any rational concepts fall on completely deaf ears. Generally, citizens of affluent societies, over time, become 'fat and lazy' and no longer can recall the principles that led to their success let alone make the changes necessary to prevent their future downfall.

Alas, poor readers......Read this text for how society was and how it should be and not for how it is going to be. No, I do not suggest that any of us should quit our idealistic stances nor that authors such as these have their voices be quieted. None of us should..."..go quietly into that good night.". I am simply attempting to point out the elephant that been in our room for quite some time now.

P.S. No one should buy this book who merely thinks it is a manual on how to take care of goldfish. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not worth the paper, Feb. 23 2012
Ce commentaire est de: Spirit Level New Edition, The (Paperback)
I had to give a one star because i could not give nothing...! This book is not worth the paper it is written on: this is not the kind of wisdom, of sprit, we need in the world we live i: it position itself on the same level with that which it try to change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spirit Level New Edition, The
Spirit Level New Edition, The by Kate Pickett (Paperback - Dec 14 2010)
CDN$ 20.00 CDN$ 14.44
Usually ships in 1 to 2 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews