march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage snsflyout Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store sports Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars1,871
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$50.38+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 177 reviews(4 star). Show all reviews
on July 11, 2015
Inglis has a marvelous narration voice and style. While Tolkien's poetry and songs have an integral part in the story, I kind of wish Inglis didn't try to sing the songs as he does. I would have preferred a spoken version of the songs or, perhaps, a professional singer. However, this is a small portion of the story and Ingls' unabridged reading is wonderful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2015
Great book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2014
Good book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 23, 2014
Good product but the plastic wrap came damaged and it looked old
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 15, 2014
Book corners were a bit banged up, I think from shipping.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2014
My girls love these books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2014
Good value for a great trilogy . Print and books were a bit smaller then I expected. Overall happy with purchase. Delivered very quick
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2014
This edition is a hardcover more vintage looking version of the classic. Amazing feeling of quality right down to the printing paper used. The friend whom I got it as a gift was very pleased. Will last decades in his family library. Just like anything tolkien wrote should
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2013
These books are nice and easy to understand. In future I will get more in order to increase my knowledge
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon April 19, 2013
There is really little original or interesting I can say about such a well-known and popular book as this, except to add that in my opinion, its fame and reputation are justified. In some ways a linear, simple adventure story, more observant readings reveal the depths and the darkness beneath. Of course, the reader's consciousness of the future darkness of the Lord of the Rings story will affect how one reads this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse