Customer Reviews


914 Reviews
5 star:
 (712)
4 star:
 (129)
3 star:
 (33)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (25)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Book Review
Book Review of
The Hobbit written by J. R. R. Tolkien
By Scott Koors
The Hobbit is a very interesting and exciting book. The main character, Bilbo, is a little dwarf person that doesn't wear any shoes that they call a hobbit. Bilbo and a great wizard, Gandalf, set out on a great adventure together. The two of them overcome some unbelievable hardships...
Published on April 16 2004 by Scott Koors

versus
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 70th anniversary edition rather disappointing, go with ANNOTATED HOBBIT instead., October 24, 2007
[This is a review of the 70th Anniversary Edition, not so much of THE HOBBIT itself. I've reviewed the book proper elsewhere, and would rather focus on the actual edition itself.]

THE HOBBIT is one of those few books that I have felt justified to buy multiple copies over the years. It is a book I have read and cherished, and a book I dearly love. THE HOBBIT is...
Published 23 months ago by Mike London


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 492 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST READ FOR ALL LORD OF THE RINGS AFICIANADOS, Dec 9 2003
By A Customer
First let me say that I have read "The Hobbit" six times, the first time being thirty six years ago when I was twenty-one. Each time I have read it I haven't tired of Tolkein's marvelous storytelling abilities and the depth and staying power that this tale has.
Called "The Enchanting Prelude to the Lord of the Rings," one might come away with the erroneous perception that "The Hobbit" is a preface of sorts that can be easily skipped. Frankly I don't know how anyone who has not read this book could fully appreciate any part of "The Lord of the Rings" either in print or on the big screen.
"The Hobbit" is the story of THE Hobbit, Bilbo Baggins. Yes, Frodo's adventures are literarily noteworthy but do not exceed in any sense the heroic adventures of Bilbo. The book also introduces readers to the dwarves who are the precursors of Gimli. In fact the tomb discovered by the Fellowship in Moria is that of Balin, one of the dwarves introduced in "The Hobbit" and one of Bilbo's favorites.
This book also gives us our introduction to Gandalf, the wandering wizard, and to Gollum, the hapless possessor and slave of the great Ring of Power, along with a wonderful cadre of other enchanting characters.
If you haven't read "The Hobbit" but have enjoyed "The Fellowship of the Ring", "The Two Towers" and/or "The Return of the King" either in print or on film it's not too late. "The Hobbit" will fill in many of the blanks that inevitably arise when starting with Tolkein's trilogy.
Once you've read it please join with the rest of us Hobbitophiles in screaming bloody murder until Peter Jackson consents to bring this one to film.
Douglas McAllister
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GANGSTA REVIEW, Dec 2 2003
On of the greatest books I have ever read was The Hobbit by J.R.R. Talkie. It takes you on an amazing journey through a fantasy world of mythical creatures and such. It is the prequel to the more famous Lord of the Rings trilogy. It has been around for more than 30 years and is still considered a work of greatness.
In this book you go on an adventure with the main character Bilbo Baggins. He is a hobbit who lives in a hole by himself. He goes on a journey with a wizard named Gandalf and thirteen dwarves. He travels many miles to find gold to steal from a dragon named Smaug. Along his way he finds a ring with magical powers that is very powerful. This ring chances his life for ever and helps him steal the gold from the dragon. The Dwarves want to get there home land back from the dragon. He later returns to his hobbit hole very wealthy and a different person from when he left. The Ring in which he holds is very important for the survival of the hobbits. I felt that this book really held your interest with the amazing things it had. The most amazing thing is that Bilbo Baggins is only a hobbit who is able to steal the gold from the Dragon. This book sets up the entire Lord of the Rings Trilogy which is very important. It is a book in which anyone from any age group can enjoy.
Basically this book is suitable for anybody who enjoys fantasy and also enjoyed Lord of the Rings. If you were confused reading Lord of the Rings, you should try reading The Hobbit which explains the main story of what happened before. Many professional book reviews except this piece of literature as one of the greatest fantasy stories of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Slow but Moving, May 29 2002
By 
rareoopdvds (San Diego, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Hobbit (Mass Market Paperback)
Tolkein's now classic fairy tale of the land of Middle Earth and its inhabitants, the Hobbits, is an enchanting and mythical story of the underdog hero Bilbo. The so-called prequel to the Lord of the Rings trilogy is actually a splice or intersection of the Ring in which Bilbo discovers the ring in Golem's cave. The story of Bilbo and his adventures is classic lore of slaying the dragon to win the pot of gold. With his band of misfits and hungry tweedle-dee and tweedle-dum gnomes, there is a comic ambiance to the story that helps the reader through some of the slow scenes. While this is not a must read to understand the Ring Trilogy, it certainly is a worth while read unto itself without the burden of two more books to complete the journey. Tolkein's writing is fun and witty while asking the reader to understand a few new words in his created language. There are times as well that the story slows down either for narrative purposes where the writing speaks to you, the reader, or for the group to sing a song to celebrate their happiness in the style of medieval celtic literature. While the book is reccomended and in some cases manditory, it's an overall enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Before Frodo, there was Bilbo..., May 29 2002
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: The Hobbit (Mass Market Paperback)
The face of literature changed forever with the publication of "The Hobbit," the prequel novel to the epic fantasy "Lord of the Rings." With the release of three blockbuster films based on that trilogy, new attention is also being paid to "The Hobbit." While not the deepest or most epic of Tolkien's creations, this tale is enchantingly and expertly written, with a thoroughly sympathetic cast of characters and a delightful plot that intertwines deeply with "Lord of the Rings."
Bilbo Baggins is a hobbit, a member of a race of small, large-eating, peaceful creatures, very much like humans, with hairy feet and a distrust of adventures. But Bilbo's life is unexpectedly turned upside-down by the arrival of the wizard Gandalf, with thirteen dwarves in tow. They eat Bilbo's food, take over his cozy hobbit-hole (a subterranean dwelling -- "Not a nasty, dirty, wet hole, filled with the ends of worms and an oozy smell, nor yet a dry, bare, sandy hole with nothing in it to sit down on or to eat: it was a hobbit-hole, and that means comfort"), and generally make life difficult for him.
But Bilbo soon finds out why: these dwarves are on a mission to reclaim the Lonely Mountain from the dragon Smaug, who slaughtered its inhabitants and stole their treasure. Now, led by Thorin Oakenshield, the dwarves intend to take back what is theirs -- and Gandalf wants Bilbo to come along. Bilbo doesn't particularly want to go, but the adventure appeals to a quirky, adventurous side of him. Before he knows what has happened, he is on a rollicking adventure filled with malevolent goblins, a degenerated creature with a magical Ring, Elves both friendly and unfriendly, enormous eagles, savage wolves (also called wargs), and giant carnivorous spiders. But even if Bilbo can get past these dangers, he must still deal with the malevolent Smaug in his mountain fortress.
Many people have fond memories of reading "The Hobbit" as children (including part of the LOTR movie cast). This is definitely a children's book in some ways, but most children can't pick up on the subtle character developments and the nuanced foreshadowing. "The Hobbit" is not merely an entertaining story or a delightful prequel, but also a masterful piece of fiction.
If nephew Frodo Baggins is the ultimate "little guy" hero, then Bilbo is the ultimate reluctant hero. Bilbo is almost perfectly happy in his respectably dull life, but his very small yearning for adventure is evident from the very beginning. Though he is not the sort of person that you would classify as being a hero, Bilbo grows gradually and subtlely in courage and ingenuity. Only on the very last pages does the reader realize just how much Bilbo has changed.
Gandalf is a more nebulous figure in this book than he is in LOTR, and displays much of the "crotchety gray wizard" archetype that he formed in fantasy literature. Thorin Oakenshield displays the endearing and annoying traits of dwarves, dating back to the Prose Edda: He's proud and sometimes a little obnoxious, but also fiercely loyal, honorable and extremely brave. The other dwarves are not featured as much individually (after all, there are twelve) but retain individual characteristics that never become jumbled or confused.
Tolkien's writing style is somewhat in keeping with a bedtime story (which this once was) and a children's story. He had apparently mastered a very rare gift, that of being able to address the reader without sounding cutesy or smug. The descriptions are very evocative, especially when he describes action scenes. The dialogue is enchantingly written, managing to be fairly realistic while never being boringly so.
Like "Lord of the Rings," "The Hobbit" is influenced by mythology and a previous work of fiction. The goblins (later orcs) are somewhat reminicent of George MacDonald's goblins; as Tolkien read and enjoyed some of MacDonald's works, this is unsurprising. Additionally, the names of Gandalf and almost all the dwarves can be found in Norse legends. The impact is subtler than that in LOTR, presumably since Tolkien's children were too young to appreciate any influences.
"The Hobbit" remains a classic that can be read and enjoyed by children and adults alike, possibly even more enjoyable now than when it was first written. Before you read "Lord of the Rings," be sure to check out its enchanting prequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The New World, May 28 2002
In J.R.R Tolkien's The Hobbit, Tolkien does a magnificent job creating a world of characters in using indirect characterization. Tolkien also uses vivid imagery to give us an idea of what this world is like. Also, Tolkien use of foil through Thorin and Bilbo helps readers further understand characters. The Hobbit is strengthened through the use of the indirect characterization, the vivid imagery, and the use of foil. The best example of the characterization is when we first meet Bilbo, and when Bilbo is described to us in the end of the book. In the beginning Bilbo is described as quiet and reticent. But by the end of the book, we see through Bilbo's actions what he is really like, which is courageous, brave, and does what always is right. Tolkien also helps readers further understand the characters by using foil through Bilbo and Thorin. The characteristics of the two are completely opposite, Thorin being brave, doing what he likes, and confrontational, while Bilbo is timid, reticent, and taciturn. Tolkien helps readers imagine what the world is like by telling us what each land is like when the dwarfs and Bilbo crossed the mountains. Tolkien basically paints out the entire scene for the readers making them feel like they were just a few feet away from the other characters. All three of this literary devices together help strengthen the story. So that the reader doesn't feel like they are just reading, but that they are there in the book and know exactly what the characters are like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Hobbit, May 15 2002
The Hobbit is a very exciting book. It has wierd and interesting creatures that were unique and not your average fairytale copy cats. It makes the reader feel as if he/she is traveling and starving and tired and scared along with the rest of the characters. I also like how the author describes the scenery so vividly. He paints a picure in your mind that of all the places bilbo and his company of dwarves visit.
Gandalf the wizard is my favorite character. He always seems to know what's going on, even when he isn't around. He is smart and uses his cleveness and magic to help the group out of tough situations. Sometimes he tricks people in a harmless and friendly way. He makes friends with the alot of people through out the novel. He has human , dwarf, hobbit, elf and magical friends that can transform into animals.
I liked the plot in this book alot. It kept my attention and made me want to keep reading until I found out what would happen next. The best part was when bilbo tricked Gollum in the Goblin caves. Even though the plot was complex it was not too hard to understand and was very interesting.
This is an interseting book that will keep your attention until the end. It is fun and exciting and describes everything in great detail. It is so good that I can't wait to begin Tolkien's other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hobbit Review, May 13 2002
The Hobbit was a very exciting book. It had wierd and interesting creatures that were unique and not your average fairytale copycats. The story brings the characters to life with very descriptive words. It makes the reader feel as if he/she is traveling and starving and tired and scared along with the rest of the characters.
Gandalf, the wizard, is my favorite character. He always seems to know what's going on, even when he isn't around. He is smart and clever and can solve just about any problem with his magic or his wits. Sometimes he tricks people in a harmless and friendly way. He makes friends with a lot of the different characters you meet throughout the novel. He has many friends of all races (which is unusal for the story) such as dwarves, hobbits, elves and even special magic friends that can be more than one species of animals
This is very interesting book. It is fun and exciting and paints wonderful adventures in my head. It is so good that I can't wait to begin Tolkien's other books. If J.R.R Tolkien's other books are as exciting and interesting as this one I think he should be considered one of the best authors of our time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reading The Hobbit can become a habbit, May 7 2002
By 
John B. Maggiore (Buffalo, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I recently re-read THE HOBBIT for the first time in many, many years. I liked it much more as an adult, and especially after reading THE LORD OF THE RINGS. THE LORD OF THE RINGS is a saga, while THE HOBBIT is a fairy tale. As such, it is lighter, funnier, and faster-paced than the trilogy. These qualities make it more entertaining and enjoyable.
Unlike THE LORD OF THE RINGS, which plods along and contains many chapters where essentially nothing happens, THE HOBBIT contains action in every chapter. A new monster is introduced in each chapter, and something is always happening. The book holds together remarkably well, and contains an arc that ties everything together.
The only drawback with THE HOBBIT is shared with all Tolkien that I've read. I think of it as the "Eagles Fly Out of the Sky" problem. Whenever Tolkien gets his heroes in a particularly tough fix, rather than having them use their wits to escape, he has eagles fly out of the sky and save them, or some other happenstance that is beyond the protagonists' control. The eagles swoop to the rescue twice. This is more than compensated by Bilbo's encounter with Gollum, but even that encounter ends by Bilbo inadvertently asking an unanswerable riddle. While I enjoyed THE HOBBIT enough to think that someday I'll read it a third time, I struggle with the message here and with the rest of the Middle Earth saga - do wits matter? Do things just happen? Should wen go with the flow? Or should wen just marvel at the fantasy?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I felt I was walking through the book along side Bilbo., April 16 2002
I was a little confused at first with all the names in the book, but after the second chapter I had everything undercontrol. I loved the great detail Tolkien put into his writing, it literally made me feel like I was walking along side Bilbo throughout his troubles. Whenever he ran into tough situation, I would stop and think of what I would have done in his place. Tolkien does a very good job of setting the right atmosphere for each scene to make the story even more intense. I was really impressed with how well each new character was described, it really helped me picture what they looked like and how they expressed themselves, no matter how unhuman they were. This is the best book I have read in several years, but from what I've heard best books are just ahead. I am hoping to jump right into the Lord of the Rings trilogy, hopefully they are just as good. I would definatelly recommement this book to anyone interested in going on a good adventure through caves, woods, mountains and giant spiders nests.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Hobbit is Written Beautifully!, April 14 2002
By 
The hobbit is such a great book and is well liked because of its story, but I liked it mainly because of how well it is written. There were parts toward the end of the book that seemed to drag a little, but for the most part it was put together rather nice. I loved the fact that it was written as if from another culture and it spoke to the reader as if it was from a familiar culture or one right close to it. It talked to you as if you already knew certain things about something that you might never have heard of, and soon after it explains exactly what it was or hinted in such great detail that no two people could be far apart from what has been drawn in their heads. The Hobbit does such a great job in having the reader come up with his own conclusions of how something will turn out and the book will take some strange twist that proves you right and wrong at the same time. Such as, you know they will escape from something and so you play it out in your mind. When it happens, you had the right idea, but the way it was done wasn't even close to how you saw it happening. This book was written with extreme greatness and is built to always keep you on your toes and to keep you looking forward for what is coming next. This book makes my list of books to recommend, mainly because it was so beautifully written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 492 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hobbit Illustrated Edition
Hobbit Illustrated Edition by J.R.R. Tolkien (Hardcover - Oct. 23 1997)
CDN$ 55.99 CDN$ 35.10
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews