Customer Reviews


925 Reviews
5 star:
 (722)
4 star:
 (129)
3 star:
 (33)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (25)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Book Review
Book Review of
The Hobbit written by J. R. R. Tolkien
By Scott Koors
The Hobbit is a very interesting and exciting book. The main character, Bilbo, is a little dwarf person that doesn't wear any shoes that they call a hobbit. Bilbo and a great wizard, Gandalf, set out on a great adventure together. The two of them overcome some unbelievable hardships...
Published on April 16 2004 by Scott Koors

versus
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 70th anniversary edition rather disappointing, go with ANNOTATED HOBBIT instead., October 24, 2007
[This is a review of the 70th Anniversary Edition, not so much of THE HOBBIT itself. I've reviewed the book proper elsewhere, and would rather focus on the actual edition itself.]

THE HOBBIT is one of those few books that I have felt justified to buy multiple copies over the years. It is a book I have read and cherished, and a book I dearly love. THE HOBBIT is...
Published on Sept. 1 2012 by Mike London


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 493 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars The Hobbit-A Great book for people of all ages!!!, April 1 2004
By 
J.R.R. Tolkien's great novel the Hobbit is a book for people 14+ years old. It keeps you interested throughout the whole story of Bilbo Baggins travels and problems. Tolkien is very descriptive in his story telling and when you are reading it almost feels like you are right there with Bilbo and his companions.
This is a great tale of how Bilbo Baggins is a little, fat hobbit from the little Shire village. Everything is green and bright in the Shire with houses carved into hills with round doors and gardens surrounding every house. Bilbo is minding his business when some unexpected people who are dwarves lead by a wizard named Gandalf.
The dwarves convinced Bilbo to come along with them on their great quest to kill Smog the might dragon that has been terrorizing their home for quite some time. Soon on their journey Bilbo has to face the dragon by himself to save the whole country that the dwarves live in.
In this tale of good and evil Bilbo comes into battle with many strange creatures from HUGE spiders, and angry demented wolves. If you are one for adventure and fighting, this book is cram packed with tales that will keep your nose in the book from the first page to the last adventure home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars My book review on The Hobbit, March 11 2004
By 
The Hobbit
By J.R.R. Tolkien
Reviewed by B. Khau
P. 5
This book takes place before the Fellowship of the ring which is part of the Lord of the Rings trilogy. The book is about Bilbo Baggins, who is a hobbit that lives his peaceful life at the Shire. Hobbits are little people that live in comfortable holes. One day, a powerful wizard named Gandalf visits Bilbo and invites him to go out on an adventure with some dwarves. Bilbo agrees and his adventure starts. Little does he know of what challenges with he run across...
One thing I like about this book is the way the author describes something."Hobbits are little people, smaller than dwarfs. They love peace and quiet and good tilled earth. They dislike machines, but they are handy with tools. They are nimble but don't like to hurry. They have sharp ears and eyes. They are inclined to be fat. They wear bright colors but seldom wear shoes. They like to laugh and eat(six meals a day)and drink. They like parties and they like to give and recieve presents. They inhabit a land they call The Shire, a place between the River Brandywine and the Far Downs."This is an excellent quote that is discriptive and simple at the same time. It caught my attention and provided me with lots of background information that I would stumble and be confused without.
One thing that I dislike about this book is the way it lengthens things that are boring or get boring. Most of these things are not important in the story and easily get forgotten.They can also confuse you."You are familiar with Thorin's style on important occasion, but Bilbo felt impatient. By now he was quite familiar with Thorin too, and he knew what he was driving at."This is an example of somethings I dislike. If you are not really concentrated, this could confuse you. I had to read over that paragraph a couple times before I acually understood much of it. Later on in the book this paragraph seems irrelevant. You should also only try to read this book if you have a lot of time to spare. It is pretty long and there are lots of parts in the book that will take some time to understand.
My favortie part of the book is the beginning. It caught my attention with good descriptions. They were not too long and acually told you how something looked or felt. There was no junk about descriptions that you can't even visualize and remember enough to care. The beginning was solid and it didn't leave you confused and wondering what the author meant. My least favorite part was Chapter 18. It didn't lead to an ending well. There were a couple boring parts that I wish were taken out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Expect from the unexpected..., Feb. 16 2004
By 
Alex Cho (Taipei, Taiwan) - See all my reviews
Step back from the age of Aragorn, and indulge yourself in the prelude to the exciting Lord of the Rings trilogy. The Hobbit, another beautifully crafted work by J.R.R. Tolkien, is not only breathtaking but also full of surprises. Small and puny in size, the shy Mr. Bilbo Baggins follows a journey to help recover the long lost treasure of the grim dwarves that he eventually becomes comfortable with. From a mountain full of vicious goblins to killing eight-legged creatures to the cunning and ferocious dragon, Smaug the Magnificent, Mr. Bilbo trips upon adventure after adventure as he builds his respect and confidence as a tiny being in the vast world of Middle Earth.
In this conglomeration of exhilarating events, I could not decide where it was most exciting for me. Yet what stood out the most was the hobbit¡s witty ways in challenging the large colony of spiders in the shadowy forest of Mirkwood, where a significant amount of the plot is set. The amusing part of this event was how the hobbit deviously distracts the spiders by throwing showers of pebbles and stones in his invisible self (he had already obtained the ring of lord Sauron at this stage), in order to save his fellow dwarves from captivity. In addition, his ¡§battle¡ against these spiders also demonstrates courageous themes that had a touching effect amid the excitement: do not belittle little people, and expect from the unexpected. Indeed, this was so for hobbits were described as little Halflings that preferred comfortable settings, had no taste in bold and audacious adventures, and were nothing of worries. Yet Mr. Bilbo Baggins, with a taste of adventure in his ancestral blood, defied that by defeating a few of these spiders in the process of saving his warrior companions, which emotionally tied me in with these brave themes (mentioned above). It is no wonder this novel was so thrilling.
I would highly recommend The Hobbit, not only to those fantasy-lovers out there, but to any other general reader. The Hobbit is well-fashioned to a degree where it is not too supernatural nor too dull and dry, since Tolkien¡s style is a tad dry. Nevertheless, The Hobbit is a novel worth reading and enjoying, for I assure you that it will definitely seize in the fantastic world of Mr. Bilbo Baggins and his companions through a journey into the perils of Middle Earth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The unoverlookable prequel to The Lord of the Rings., Feb. 2 2004
By 
This review is from: The Hobbit (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the story of Bilbo Baggins, a well-off, quiet little halfling (a Hobbit) who'd never wanted any adventures in his life, and of how he became the reluctant participant in a perilous treasure hunt.
It all began one afternoon, when Gandalf the wizard came knocking at the round door of his cosy Hobbit Hole. The next morning, thirteen dwarves were crowding his living-room and enrolling him to steal the gold guarded under the lonely Mountain by Smaug, the last of the great dragons.
So off he went, through forests old and mountains cold, deceiving trolls, solving riddles in the dark, escaping from goblins and elves, and most of the time rescuing the dwarves from the many perils he himself inadvertenly put them in, thanks to a magical ring he found in Gollum's cave, a ring that has to power to render him invisible.
This was the second time I read The Hobbit, and looking at it now with the critical eye of the (amateur) reviewer, I'm afraid to admit I was somewhat annoyed at the beginning by Tolkien's paternalistic tone, by how he sometimes addresses the reader and makes references to the real world, or hints at what's coming up later in the story. This makes the book seem clearly targeted to a young audience, and indeed, The Hobbit would be perfect for reading aloud to a child. However, this tone changes in the course of the story, and especially during the final Battle of the Five Armies, where it reaches a more epic scope, more suitable for young adults. Mark you, I'm not saying I didn't like it, but was just slightliy disappointed not to enjoy it as much as I thought I would. Oh, the heresy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST READ FOR ALL LORD OF THE RINGS AFICIANADOS, Dec 9 2003
By A Customer
First let me say that I have read "The Hobbit" six times, the first time being thirty six years ago when I was twenty-one. Each time I have read it I haven't tired of Tolkein's marvelous storytelling abilities and the depth and staying power that this tale has.
Called "The Enchanting Prelude to the Lord of the Rings," one might come away with the erroneous perception that "The Hobbit" is a preface of sorts that can be easily skipped. Frankly I don't know how anyone who has not read this book could fully appreciate any part of "The Lord of the Rings" either in print or on the big screen.
"The Hobbit" is the story of THE Hobbit, Bilbo Baggins. Yes, Frodo's adventures are literarily noteworthy but do not exceed in any sense the heroic adventures of Bilbo. The book also introduces readers to the dwarves who are the precursors of Gimli. In fact the tomb discovered by the Fellowship in Moria is that of Balin, one of the dwarves introduced in "The Hobbit" and one of Bilbo's favorites.
This book also gives us our introduction to Gandalf, the wandering wizard, and to Gollum, the hapless possessor and slave of the great Ring of Power, along with a wonderful cadre of other enchanting characters.
If you haven't read "The Hobbit" but have enjoyed "The Fellowship of the Ring", "The Two Towers" and/or "The Return of the King" either in print or on film it's not too late. "The Hobbit" will fill in many of the blanks that inevitably arise when starting with Tolkein's trilogy.
Once you've read it please join with the rest of us Hobbitophiles in screaming bloody murder until Peter Jackson consents to bring this one to film.
Douglas McAllister
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GANGSTA REVIEW, Dec 2 2003
On of the greatest books I have ever read was The Hobbit by J.R.R. Talkie. It takes you on an amazing journey through a fantasy world of mythical creatures and such. It is the prequel to the more famous Lord of the Rings trilogy. It has been around for more than 30 years and is still considered a work of greatness.
In this book you go on an adventure with the main character Bilbo Baggins. He is a hobbit who lives in a hole by himself. He goes on a journey with a wizard named Gandalf and thirteen dwarves. He travels many miles to find gold to steal from a dragon named Smaug. Along his way he finds a ring with magical powers that is very powerful. This ring chances his life for ever and helps him steal the gold from the dragon. The Dwarves want to get there home land back from the dragon. He later returns to his hobbit hole very wealthy and a different person from when he left. The Ring in which he holds is very important for the survival of the hobbits. I felt that this book really held your interest with the amazing things it had. The most amazing thing is that Bilbo Baggins is only a hobbit who is able to steal the gold from the Dragon. This book sets up the entire Lord of the Rings Trilogy which is very important. It is a book in which anyone from any age group can enjoy.
Basically this book is suitable for anybody who enjoys fantasy and also enjoyed Lord of the Rings. If you were confused reading Lord of the Rings, you should try reading The Hobbit which explains the main story of what happened before. Many professional book reviews except this piece of literature as one of the greatest fantasy stories of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Slow but Moving, May 29 2002
By 
rareoopdvds (San Diego, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Hobbit (Mass Market Paperback)
Tolkein's now classic fairy tale of the land of Middle Earth and its inhabitants, the Hobbits, is an enchanting and mythical story of the underdog hero Bilbo. The so-called prequel to the Lord of the Rings trilogy is actually a splice or intersection of the Ring in which Bilbo discovers the ring in Golem's cave. The story of Bilbo and his adventures is classic lore of slaying the dragon to win the pot of gold. With his band of misfits and hungry tweedle-dee and tweedle-dum gnomes, there is a comic ambiance to the story that helps the reader through some of the slow scenes. While this is not a must read to understand the Ring Trilogy, it certainly is a worth while read unto itself without the burden of two more books to complete the journey. Tolkein's writing is fun and witty while asking the reader to understand a few new words in his created language. There are times as well that the story slows down either for narrative purposes where the writing speaks to you, the reader, or for the group to sing a song to celebrate their happiness in the style of medieval celtic literature. While the book is reccomended and in some cases manditory, it's an overall enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Before Frodo, there was Bilbo..., May 29 2002
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: The Hobbit (Mass Market Paperback)
The face of literature changed forever with the publication of "The Hobbit," the prequel novel to the epic fantasy "Lord of the Rings." With the release of three blockbuster films based on that trilogy, new attention is also being paid to "The Hobbit." While not the deepest or most epic of Tolkien's creations, this tale is enchantingly and expertly written, with a thoroughly sympathetic cast of characters and a delightful plot that intertwines deeply with "Lord of the Rings."
Bilbo Baggins is a hobbit, a member of a race of small, large-eating, peaceful creatures, very much like humans, with hairy feet and a distrust of adventures. But Bilbo's life is unexpectedly turned upside-down by the arrival of the wizard Gandalf, with thirteen dwarves in tow. They eat Bilbo's food, take over his cozy hobbit-hole (a subterranean dwelling -- "Not a nasty, dirty, wet hole, filled with the ends of worms and an oozy smell, nor yet a dry, bare, sandy hole with nothing in it to sit down on or to eat: it was a hobbit-hole, and that means comfort"), and generally make life difficult for him.
But Bilbo soon finds out why: these dwarves are on a mission to reclaim the Lonely Mountain from the dragon Smaug, who slaughtered its inhabitants and stole their treasure. Now, led by Thorin Oakenshield, the dwarves intend to take back what is theirs -- and Gandalf wants Bilbo to come along. Bilbo doesn't particularly want to go, but the adventure appeals to a quirky, adventurous side of him. Before he knows what has happened, he is on a rollicking adventure filled with malevolent goblins, a degenerated creature with a magical Ring, Elves both friendly and unfriendly, enormous eagles, savage wolves (also called wargs), and giant carnivorous spiders. But even if Bilbo can get past these dangers, he must still deal with the malevolent Smaug in his mountain fortress.
Many people have fond memories of reading "The Hobbit" as children (including part of the LOTR movie cast). This is definitely a children's book in some ways, but most children can't pick up on the subtle character developments and the nuanced foreshadowing. "The Hobbit" is not merely an entertaining story or a delightful prequel, but also a masterful piece of fiction.
If nephew Frodo Baggins is the ultimate "little guy" hero, then Bilbo is the ultimate reluctant hero. Bilbo is almost perfectly happy in his respectably dull life, but his very small yearning for adventure is evident from the very beginning. Though he is not the sort of person that you would classify as being a hero, Bilbo grows gradually and subtlely in courage and ingenuity. Only on the very last pages does the reader realize just how much Bilbo has changed.
Gandalf is a more nebulous figure in this book than he is in LOTR, and displays much of the "crotchety gray wizard" archetype that he formed in fantasy literature. Thorin Oakenshield displays the endearing and annoying traits of dwarves, dating back to the Prose Edda: He's proud and sometimes a little obnoxious, but also fiercely loyal, honorable and extremely brave. The other dwarves are not featured as much individually (after all, there are twelve) but retain individual characteristics that never become jumbled or confused.
Tolkien's writing style is somewhat in keeping with a bedtime story (which this once was) and a children's story. He had apparently mastered a very rare gift, that of being able to address the reader without sounding cutesy or smug. The descriptions are very evocative, especially when he describes action scenes. The dialogue is enchantingly written, managing to be fairly realistic while never being boringly so.
Like "Lord of the Rings," "The Hobbit" is influenced by mythology and a previous work of fiction. The goblins (later orcs) are somewhat reminicent of George MacDonald's goblins; as Tolkien read and enjoyed some of MacDonald's works, this is unsurprising. Additionally, the names of Gandalf and almost all the dwarves can be found in Norse legends. The impact is subtler than that in LOTR, presumably since Tolkien's children were too young to appreciate any influences.
"The Hobbit" remains a classic that can be read and enjoyed by children and adults alike, possibly even more enjoyable now than when it was first written. Before you read "Lord of the Rings," be sure to check out its enchanting prequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The New World, May 28 2002
In J.R.R Tolkien's The Hobbit, Tolkien does a magnificent job creating a world of characters in using indirect characterization. Tolkien also uses vivid imagery to give us an idea of what this world is like. Also, Tolkien use of foil through Thorin and Bilbo helps readers further understand characters. The Hobbit is strengthened through the use of the indirect characterization, the vivid imagery, and the use of foil. The best example of the characterization is when we first meet Bilbo, and when Bilbo is described to us in the end of the book. In the beginning Bilbo is described as quiet and reticent. But by the end of the book, we see through Bilbo's actions what he is really like, which is courageous, brave, and does what always is right. Tolkien also helps readers further understand the characters by using foil through Bilbo and Thorin. The characteristics of the two are completely opposite, Thorin being brave, doing what he likes, and confrontational, while Bilbo is timid, reticent, and taciturn. Tolkien helps readers imagine what the world is like by telling us what each land is like when the dwarfs and Bilbo crossed the mountains. Tolkien basically paints out the entire scene for the readers making them feel like they were just a few feet away from the other characters. All three of this literary devices together help strengthen the story. So that the reader doesn't feel like they are just reading, but that they are there in the book and know exactly what the characters are like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Hobbit, May 15 2002
The Hobbit is a very exciting book. It has wierd and interesting creatures that were unique and not your average fairytale copy cats. It makes the reader feel as if he/she is traveling and starving and tired and scared along with the rest of the characters. I also like how the author describes the scenery so vividly. He paints a picure in your mind that of all the places bilbo and his company of dwarves visit.
Gandalf the wizard is my favorite character. He always seems to know what's going on, even when he isn't around. He is smart and uses his cleveness and magic to help the group out of tough situations. Sometimes he tricks people in a harmless and friendly way. He makes friends with the alot of people through out the novel. He has human , dwarf, hobbit, elf and magical friends that can transform into animals.
I liked the plot in this book alot. It kept my attention and made me want to keep reading until I found out what would happen next. The best part was when bilbo tricked Gollum in the Goblin caves. Even though the plot was complex it was not too hard to understand and was very interesting.
This is an interseting book that will keep your attention until the end. It is fun and exciting and describes everything in great detail. It is so good that I can't wait to begin Tolkien's other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 493 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hobbit Illustrated Edition
Hobbit Illustrated Edition by J.R.R. Tolkien (Hardcover - Oct. 23 1997)
CDN$ 55.99 CDN$ 35.10
Usually ships in 2 to 4 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews