Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for any novice on financial modeling
I have used this book and recommended to others. It is certainly one of the best books on financial modelling, especially if you are a novice in modeling. It gives step by step clear techniques for various problems. It is very easy to read, with excellent examples. Hope you can enjoy this book as much as I have.
Published on Jan. 17 2004 by Manoj Bhaskar

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Perspective from Student in Finance
I'm finishing up my Bachelor's degree this May and find Benninga's book O.K. It's great if you're using it to learn Visual Basic at the same time, or to get a taste of basic financial modeling. However, from the Finance perspective, the author often states information without necessarily explaining where it came from, which is bad if you're just as interested in the...
Published on March 28 2007 by Christopher Gillam


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Perspective from Student in Finance, March 28 2007
By 
Christopher Gillam "CFA Candidate" (Montreal, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Financial Modeling, 2nd Edition (Hardcover)
I'm finishing up my Bachelor's degree this May and find Benninga's book O.K. It's great if you're using it to learn Visual Basic at the same time, or to get a taste of basic financial modeling. However, from the Finance perspective, the author often states information without necessarily explaining where it came from, which is bad if you're just as interested in the CONCEPTS than the actual programming into VB. In any case, my professors who also teach financial engineering use more robust programming software (C++, MathLab, etc.)...

Good if you're interested in the modeling, not so hot if you're interested in the concepts that go with it. A good introductory book, but nothing more. Definitely not reference material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for any novice on financial modeling, Jan. 17 2004
By 
Manoj Bhaskar (Toronto, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Financial Modeling, 2nd Edition (Hardcover)
I have used this book and recommended to others. It is certainly one of the best books on financial modelling, especially if you are a novice in modeling. It gives step by step clear techniques for various problems. It is very easy to read, with excellent examples. Hope you can enjoy this book as much as I have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Financial Modeling - 2nd Edition, Oct. 18 2003
This review is from: Financial Modeling, 2nd Edition (Hardcover)
Great intro to financial modeling, excellent text for undergrad finance and MBA students. Learn core financial topics and Excel simultaneously. Takes financial theory and applies it in excel with real "nuts and bolts" applications. Includes a CD with all the speadheets on it which is alone worth the price. No advanced math or statistics needed, although it would help the reader. Perhaps too basic for a student/graduate Ph.D. in Economics/Finance or M.S. in Financial Engineering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chicken Soup for the Financial Analyst's Soul, July 20 2003
This review is from: Financial Modeling, 2nd Edition (Hardcover)
If you need to build a working valuation model, calculate the risk of a portfolio with 100+ securities, or figure out what return you might expect to get from a portfolio of high-yield bonds, then you'll find Simon Beninga's "Financial Modeling" merits far more than five stars: this is one book that is indispensable.
One of the biggest problems I ran into during my MBA program was the way my professors taught Corporate Finance. I had great profs, true, but they were teaching theoretical concepts from theoretical textbooks. Sure, you learned the basics: CAPM, net present value, basic options and futures, Arbitrage Pricing Theory, VAR and TEV, but I have always maintained that the best way of learning a subject---particularly corporate finance---is by getting your hands dirty and digging into the guts of the material.
Since Corporate Finance, off-balance sheet instruments aside, isn't very dirty, the best way to get a hands-on practical approach in terms of Capital Structure, the appropriate discount rate to use in pricing an asset, risk, and optimal debt and dividends is to program in Excel and Visual Basic. The problem is that many top finance texts don't offer supplemental material to translate the theoretical concepts into actual valuation and spreadsheet models, which any financial analyst will contend is the life-blood of the industry.
With that in mind, Simon Beninga's "Financial Modelling" is a kind of "Joy of Cooking" for initiate investment bankers, corporate financiers, controllers, analysts, and anyone who wants to use core Corporate Finance concepts in the real world. Beninga goes through the standard laundry list of Corporate Finance text topics---from the optimal risky portfolio to the term structure of interest rates---and shows you how to translate these concepts into workable spreadsheet models that can illustrate, illuminate, and get to the heart of a problem.
If you're a new MBA or financial analyst, you'll find much to love in Beninga's approach, and by pairing the newly expanded 2nd edition up with a top theoretical finance textbook (Ross, Westerfield et al.'s "Corporate Finance" is a fine example) you'll get the most out of your MBA program and have a solid foundation for building Excel and Visual Basic financial models that work.
I liken "Financial Modeling" to a cookbook, in that Beninga provides all the ingredients necessary to the model at hand: he begins with a sprinkling of theory, whether it's modeling a bond portfolio's immunization, calculating the cost of capital, estimating a portfolio's Beta with no short-selling, or pricing put and call options using both the binomial theorem and Black-Scholes. His writing is spare, terse, and to the point, but I have learned more about advanced corporate finance theory through Beninga's marvellously pithy writing and copious Excel examples than I have in reading ten 'top of the list' finance books.
In addition to nicely expanded sections on options (including portfolio insurance) and leasing (including the technically sophisticated subject of leveraged leasing, which requires Excel to comprehend), Beninga concludes his sprightly little tome with a section on getting the most out of Excel (useful little shortcuts that a financial analyst will need but may not have heard of) and a nice little introductory primer on programming in Visual Basic.
"Financial Modeling" is an absolute essential if you're going to make Corporate Finance your profession. For an equally elegant and practical treatment of building discounted cash flow models for businesses, the reader would be advised to pick up Beninga's "Corporate Finance", which, while not equally oriented in spreadsheet modeling, is one of the most terse, accessible, and reasonably technically sophisticated Corp-Fin books on the market today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Practical Excel Models, Feb. 14 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Financial Modeling, 2nd Edition (Hardcover)
The simplicity and transparency of many of these models inspires me to give this book five stars. I am an expert modeller and find it useful to have an excel version of many of the more complex models as a cross-check and as a quick desk-top reference. People are often amazed at how quickly I can produce a ball park indication in which the handle is always correct. This book is a must for advanced model builders. If one can't produce a close answer in Excel, one may have to review the fundamentals before embarking on an advanced - and time consuming - model project.
The only shortcoming is in the fastest growing new products in the credit derivatives world, but the methods in this book can be adapted. Tavakoli provides product descriptions in another excellent resource "Credit Derivatives".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Too many errors and inadequacies, Jan. 13 2003
This review is from: Financial Modeling, 2nd Edition (Hardcover)
As a practioner of financial modeling, I was used to building financial models with SAS, Stata and Matlab, so when I was first asked by my new boss to start using Excel, I checked out this book. Unfortunately, it's grossly inadequate. The worst part is there are full of errors, encompassing typos in the Excel spreadsheets and technical inaccuracies. The coverage of a lot of topics is also quite superficial, for example, the chapters on calculating the efficient frontier ignore the important question of utility. (That is, the author maximizes wealth instead of utility.) In trying to cover a lot of ground in finance, from leasing to VaR to options, the book ends up doing nothing well, and the effort in presenting some theory before showing how it's implemented in Excel is laudable but ultimately laughable because much of the theory is presented quite poorly. In the end, you may find some value in understanding at a general level how to translate theory into Excel, esp. if you are new to the application.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Is this a joke?, Jan. 10 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Financial Modeling, 2nd Edition (Hardcover)
"Cost of capitol"? The U.S. Capitol or the Rhode Island state capitol? Geez, I didn't know you'd need advanced finance models to do that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Post MBA Book, Dec 27 2002
By 
"enigma888" (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Financial Modeling, 2nd Edition (Hardcover)
Benninga successfully bridges academic formulas and real-life scenarios in this admittedly fairly expensive book. However, given the wealth of information and immediate applicability I definitely think it's worth the money. Most importantly, by compiling all the major (and some lesser known) formulas as well as their associated VBA code into one book, this is certainly going to be part of my office library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great finance with excel integration, Sept. 1 2002
By 
Mike Scurto "finance guru" (houston tx) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Financial Modeling, 2nd Edition (Hardcover)
This book is very practical in terms of its success with integrating excel skills that are used every day by finance professionals.
I was very impressed with the layout of the book, which makes it an easy read--at least until you get to more advanced topics that come later in the book.
I would have given a perfect rating of 5 stars if all the end of chapter answers to the questions at the end of each chapter were included with the CDROM. Instead you only get a few answers to selected end of chapter questions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars simple and great, Aug. 2 2002
By 
This review is from: Financial Modeling, 2nd Edition (Hardcover)
I've allways looked for a really applied book about modeling (in finance and economics). this book answers to all my questions. It shows simply how to program all that complex formulas you had in your university books that you have never could use in professional life.
I think this book is, at present the best of its type.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Financial Modeling, 2nd Edition
Financial Modeling, 2nd Edition by Simon Benninga (Hardcover - Sept. 18 2000)
Used & New from: CDN$ 8.67
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews