Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good reference
This book is extremely well written. It covers a lot of ground, and it covers it deeply. Because of that, it might be a little hard for beginners; You'll need to skip over sections if you don't want to break your brain in half.

It's an excellent reference book. Some people think that a reference book is useless now because you can search on the internet, but I...
Published on June 5 2010 by Subb

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars ... is a classic example of computer science cult much like K&R. It is not a beginner friendly
The book is a classic example of computer science cult much like K&R. It is not a beginner friendly textbook
Published 1 month ago by mr-fool


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good reference, June 5 2010
This review is from: Introduction to Algorithms (Hardcover)
This book is extremely well written. It covers a lot of ground, and it covers it deeply. Because of that, it might be a little hard for beginners; You'll need to skip over sections if you don't want to break your brain in half.

It's an excellent reference book. Some people think that a reference book is useless now because you can search on the internet, but I don't think you can find websites written as well as this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Continues strong, Nov. 16 2010
This review is from: Introduction to Algorithms (Hardcover)
Still contains all the material which has made this book great. Some nice new additions though the removal of binomial heaps saddens me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bible of Algorithms, Feb. 7 2013
By 
Roman Y. Blyshchyk "NOTHING IS IMPOSSIBLE" (Waterloo, ON , Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Introduction to Algorithms (Hardcover)
This book clearly describes all the concepts and theories with very informative examples and exercises. It takes you from very basics of the data structures and some simple algorithms into complex and fascinating problems.
If you are taking a course in Algorithms or just want to expand your knowledge, this book is for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Only for reference, June 14 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Introduction to Algorithms (Hardcover)
I bought this book to learn algorithms in a self taught manner but it turns out to be "just" a reference book.
The book is well written and it covers a lot of topics.
It is very rigorous indeed. It's actually empathizes rigor over accessibility.
For a beginner like me it feels like learning to speech by reading the dictionary.

I would advise you buy this book of you already know the topic a minimum but need a reference OR if you are using it as a textbook in class.

To give you an idea of the target audience, there I actually stumbled upon an instance where the book had something like this:
"By exercise XXX, some given property is true" where XXX is an exercise given at the end of a previous chapter.
Come on... Can you not, for the lone learner, explain why such property is true?
And the book also mentions that only a portion of the exercises have correction because they want the teachers to be able to give exercise and make sure the students cannot google the solution.
It does make sense. But it's another hint of the targeted audience.

I will still rate 4, because as a reference book it's good.
But beginners: you've been warned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I thought i was smart, March 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Introduction to Algorithms (Hardcover)
now i know i'm dumb. However the book is excellent at explaining complex concepts in as simple a way as possible, with a lot of helpful diagrams. It is an excellent book for a difficult subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, Feb. 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Introduction to Algorithms (Hardcover)
People have called this the best book for algorithms. If you want to learn about algorithms and have no prior knowledge, this is what you want to read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The bible of Algo, Nov. 8 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Introduction to Algorithms (Hardcover)
Nothing too much to talk about this book. It is so authoritative, rigorous and comprehensive. Every ITer needs this book at your desk for reference or studying, at anytime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a great book, Oct. 8 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
explicit teaching and nice exercises. well... needless to say, this book has already had its good reputation. I think everyone would enjoy this book and learn something very useful from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Complete Reference, June 3 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Introduction to Algorithms (Hardcover)
Similar to what other people have said about this book, it's a great reference which does an excellent job covering the subject of algorithms in computer science.

I have followed a course on discrete mathematics and it is in my opinion a must to have a chance at understanding this book without being overwhelmed. The reason I am not giving it 5 stars is because there is only a subset of solved exercises in the link provided within the book. Also, the book is not taking any shortcuts to teach you about algorithms so get ready to have pen and paper at hand and even a compiler to implement the pseudo-codes on your own to truly understand them.

I recommend a quick first-pass of the book and once you're ready take a good month to study in detail the chapters of interest to your field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars ... is a classic example of computer science cult much like K&R. It is not a beginner friendly, Sept. 3 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The book is a classic example of computer science cult much like K&R. It is not a beginner friendly textbook
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Introduction to Algorithms
Introduction to Algorithms by Clifford Stein (Hardcover - July 31 2009)
CDN$ 102.71 CDN$ 92.10
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews